This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs J from Effingham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Our May 2012 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 25 May 2012 and 10 Jun 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Oh dear - I've written all this once. Just went back on feedback to form to untick the 'happy to share with other travellers' and have lost what I originally wrote! Here goes again..

This was an amazing experience for both of us. We were particularly pleased with the small number of people at each camp which gave a feeling of private game viewing and we particularly enjoyed the walking safaris at Linyanti. I was concerned that 2 weeks might be too long but, with the variety of camps chosen (with Megan's help and the Bradt Guide) we never tired.

We think that 3 nights in one place is beter than 2 nights. Without exception all camps were excellent. Staff attentive, food plentiful (too plentiful!); guides good. Comfortable beds and linen - with award for best hot water bottle going to Camp Kalahari. Food was very western (delicious soups) and some people commented that they would like to try local cuisine - that said, we understand the reason why camps stick to western food.

We would suggest that clear guidelines be given on tipping. The Bradt Guide seems a little out of date with what others were paying. Not knowing what staff and guides earn as basic wage, it's difficult, but can't help thinking that $20 pp/per day for guide and same amount for staff is a lot when you consider how many guests pass through a camp in a week. Some nationalities are more accustomed to tipping than others so clear (lower) guidelines would be good so that we know in advance how much to take and there is no awkwardness. Baines was the only camp to provide guidance on tipping in their in-room brochure but even that wasn't clear as to if it was pp or per member of staff.

We mistakenly left our Bradt Guide at Little Kwara. If you could send another, that would be very much appreciated Megan.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and were pleased to meet other Expert Africa travellers on the same trip - both of who had booked through NZ I believe due to time difference. Have already passed on your details to others so that's the best compliment. Thank you Megan. I know Nick (husband) enjoyed poring over the Bradt Guide and discussing various options with you. Can't think of any other suggestions but will let you know if we do!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari - KB and Tops were Tops!"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2012
"Our first camp. Amazing experience with lots of 'surprises'. Great hosts. KB - manager. Tops - guide. Meerkats fantastic and great attention to detail shown by host and staff. The best hot water bottles of our trip. Stayed hot all night! Would love to know what make they are..

We loved the quadbike/saltpan day/night 'experience!!' too and have spoken about that more than anything else. Of all the camps, this is the one we would come back to - even though it was the least luxy. Thanks KB.

Re location - would also like to try Jacks or San as there was a bit more driving involved being based at CK."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2012
"Arrived by water as airstrip being renovated. Very good introduction. Elephant experience worth doing. Wifi at this camp. Very comfortable rooms - slept outside on balcony one night. Good food and great guides. Saw leopard with kill up a tree 10 minutes after arrival.

Slight hiccough on departure as airline hadn't informed camp that our departure time had been delayed so we waited 1.5 hours on airstrip with no information (being about an hour from Baines due to other airstrip being repaired, we had no chance to go back). This was remedied next time we flew with a little gift from airline by way of apology.

Baines was the only camp which gave advice about tipping in their in-room brochure but even this wasn't clear as to whether this was per person or in total."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Activity

Elephant Activity

"Elephant Experience"

30 May 2012 • Morning excursion

We were able to get so close to the three elephants and learned about them, their physiology and their different natures. Not to be confused with wild elephants who we encountered later - they're not quite so approachable!
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Great guiding at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2012
"This is where we saw the most game.

Little Kwara (Kwando) has a policy of providing a tracker (who sits on the front of vehicle)and a guide and all the guides work together if they spot something. Our guide (Duke) was very knowledgeable though driving was a bit bumpy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"In touch with nature at Linyanti Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2012
"This was our fourth camp, so, by now we were needing a bit of exercise - rather than sitting in vehicles all day. The Guides arranged two walks for us (with armed guard) and this was a great experience. We saw elephant up close and were able to distinguish different animals by their droppings.

The Linyanti river has now provided a lush riverside with loads of hippo and elephant strolling around at night. Our guide (Esse) was the most knowledgeable we learned a lot from him."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

"Returning to civilisation at Toka Leya"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2012
"At our final camp, we felt this had more of a 'hotel' feel. After 10 days without WiFi, telecoms, shops it was nice to arrive back into civilisation and get ready for the return home. Toka Leya had slick organisation of their activities and we added on a Bridge Tour to the Victoria Falls trip - which was well worth the extra so would recommend that.,

The dining room was very cold at night when we were there. The shop missed a trick by not stocking the butter dishes and salt and pepper bowls which were on the restaurant tables. Everyone admired them but the shop didn't sell them. They could do a roaring trade if they did as the items in the shop weren't really things we wanted to buy.

Spa was nice and we had a hippo outside our balcony for quite a while - great photo opportunity.

I took a slice of lemon and ginger from restaurant tea service area to my room one evening and was very pleasantly surprised the next day to see that the room boy had noticed my preference and replaced this with a whole lemon and piece of ginger for me. Nice touch - also presents on bed each evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team