This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs O from Atlanta

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our African adventure

Botswana and 1 other country between 31 Aug 2013 and 15 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Every expectation I had about our trip to Africa was fulfilled, it was a truly magical experience that I will never forget.

I cannot thank Maruska enough for the itinerary she arranged for us. I loved the different terrain we experienced in the different camps and the camps themselves."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Tongabezi Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"We loved our stay at Tongabezi. The facility is breathtaking and our valet Japhet took very good care of us.

The service was friendly and efficient and our every need or desire was taken care of. It was so good that we were afraid the rest of our visit wouldn't be able to measure up but that turned out not to be a problem. I would recommend Tongbezi to anyone without reservation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Kwando Lagoon Camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"This is a beautiful camp and very well run. The facilities are excellent and the food was plentiful and well prepared.

The game viewing was outstanding. We followed a leopard on our first game drive and saw a cheetah kill on our second. Our tracker AT and our guide Spencer were very skilled and knowledgeable about the local wildlife. We learned quite a lot from them. I can still hear Spencer's voice calling out the name of the animals that were near, usually long before we even saw them."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"Linyanti Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Ollie and Kirsten (or was it Kristen? Never was quite sure of her name) had only been here for a few months and lacked the ease we experienced at the other camps although they were quite welcoming. I'm sure that will come with time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and our guide Esse did a great job finding the animals we were most interested in and told us a lot about their habits and behavior.

One thing I'd like to note, the use of electric lights in the main area attracted quite a few bugs during our first dinner. A generator problem caused our second dinner to be by lantern and candle light and that was much less buggy and more enjoyable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"Khwai Tented Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"The tents, while small, were quite comfortable and contained all the necessary facilities. The bucket shower was a novelty and okay for a short stay.

The food was good and the staff was very friendly. Canaan and Abali (sorry if I misspelled that) helped my husband with his quest to learn some phrases in Setswana which he very much enjoyed.

The game viewing was good but our guide seemed to feel that he needed to get us to where the game was as quickly as possible and drove very fast over some bumpy tracks. I don't think the pressure came from us, we were quite happy to see any and all animals. A slower pace would have suited us just fine."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

"Xakanaxa Camp"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"We loved Xakanaxa although we could never properly pronounce it. The location is beautiful and the facilities are amazing. Lettie manages it all with a natural grace and style that made us feel right at home.

We loved the addition of water activities on top of the game drives, and particularly found the visit to the roosting spot of the herons and cormorants to be fascinating. Only the marabou storks were nesting since it was early in the year but it was still great to see all the birds flying in for the night.

Our guide Water was amazing. We came upon a group of trucks that had seen two lions go into the tall grass but hadn't seen them come out. While the other trucks were driving around to the other side of the grassy area Water turned off our truck and just listened. He heard the lions in the grass and backed up the truck and...there they were!! I never heard a thing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"Kwara is the oldest camp we visited and it shows it's age in places but we still enjoyed it very much. Which may explain why it was also the busiest camp we visited being fully occupied while we were there.

Our tracker KP and our guide TJ did a great job finding the animals we most wanted to see, big cats and wild dogs. The highlight was the wild dog hunt which was excellent! We missed the moment of the kill but it was still exciting and amazing. The mokoro ride and nature walk were also very interesting with TJ teaching us about the termites and also the animals in the area.

Our favorite spot in camp was the sofa overlooking the lagoon where we sat and watched the birds and animals that passed by. It was a perfect place to complete our African adventure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team