This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi

Reviews of Tongabezi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tongabezi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tongabezi.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

50% success

Buffalo

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Peter
Oxfordshire

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"Well -after the safari this was pure luxury! So relaxing! We wished we could have stayed for a week.

All the staff we so helpful. The evening boat trip and the surprise visit to the Sandbar was very special." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs
Carshalton

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"The hotel was in an amazing setting. The staff couldn't do any more for us. Entertainment each night and dinner was served in a new location on campus. Food excellent." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Mrs Bears
UK

"beautiful camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"a great camp to end our trip at.

the only negative comment would be that as soon as we arrived we were subjected to a hard sell
regarding activities, both ones included in the camp price and others which would have been at extra cost." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Mrs B
Oxfordhire

"An extremely comfortable few days"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"After Old Mondoro this was the other side of the African experience.
We enjoyed it enormously, particularly having a bath and not
getting up at 5.30 am to go for a game drive, but felt that two days
was long enough and we were ready to return to the Bush." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Los Altos Hills

"Tongabezi on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2017
"We enjoyed a very good stay over Christmas. The staff were great, the excursions were excellent (especially Victoria Falls) and the pace was ideal." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs Muriel B
USA

"ROMANTIC!"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We wondered where, exactly, we were going because the surrounding area seemed very ordinary. Even pulling into the parking lot, the wow factor was missing-- but, enter the camp and prepare to be dazzled. Set along the Zambezi river, every detail here has a touch of romance in mind. The views are spectacular. The staff is so professional and accommodating. And the activities are many and interesting to choose from!

We were blessed to be staying in the villa, which we had no idea about prior-- (thank you Justin!) and had our own private pool. There are lots of hippos in the area, which adds another element of excitement.

The dining tables are scattered far enough away from each other to allow plenty of privacy, imagine candlelit dinners, being serenaded by fabulous local acapella talent, listening to hippos grunting nearby. Just dreamy...

I had one of the best massages of my life here!

Even if you and your significant other aren't madly in love, you will leave here feeling more tender toward each other at the very least." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
GC
Loule

"Tongabezi - outdated and tired"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"Tongabezi is beautifully positioned and our accommodation (Bird House) had first class views of the Zambezi, as it appeared did all other rooms. The food was very good, a credit to the chef who was incredibly enthusiastic about his food made essentially from local, in season products.

The room was very well sized and the original concept was great, as was the concept for the hotel in general, however the hotel appears to have been in some sort of decline and is now a poorly maintained and outdated facility. The room rates are world class but the hotel standards, facilities and service are significantly below world class. Major maintenance is needed to the deck (and it is due to be rebuilt but it should have been rebuilt years ago), pathway lighting does not work in places, doors don't close, sofa coverings in the bar area haven't been cleaned in years and neither has the dust cover on the coffee and tea facilities in the room or the outdoor furniture coverings. Nobody in management would appear to have paid any attention to points of detail for some time.

The staff are kind and pleasant but would appear to have had virtually no training, it didn't help that the hotel wasn't full and consequently staff weren't fully occupied and they tended to hang around in groups chatting amongst themselves.

At one fifth of the price Tongabezi may have been acceptable but it certainly does not merit its price tag." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Our final 2 nights we at Tongabezi.

The highly here is the rooms which were really lovely (including air conditioning), plus the setting, overlooking the Zambezi with the most absolutely wonderful sunsets in the evening.

The pool, restaurant and other facilities were also of a high standard.

As with Sindabezi, there are lots of inclusive activities here, but we really enjoyed just lazing about enjoying the view.

Just one slight negative, in all of the other camps, there was a great communal atmosphere, with all the guests getting together for breakfast, lunch and dinner and really enjoying sharing their experiences.

Although this was said to be possible at Tongabezi, it didn't really happen, so you didn't get the chance to interact with the other guests. Tongabezi felt more like a exclusive boutique hotel, which itself is not a bad thing, but it did slightly lack the social aspect that often makes the Safari Camps really quite memorable." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
London

"Heaven on earth!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Well what a way to end our month! You really don't get it much better than this. We thought we had died and gone to heaven!

The room was superb, without doubt the best throughout our visit. The river frontage was stunning and to have a private deck of such size and comfort was wonderful. We were very well-looked after with a valet to ourselves.

We visited the school (as we had a professional connection with it) and this was very meaningful too.

The sundowner cruise on our first night when we were the only ones on it was very special indeed and yet again our wedding anniversary merited special treatment with another bottle of bubbly! The sundowner cruise on the second night, on which there were three different boats and a considerably larger number of people was also great, though we were somewhat concerned by the way in which our guide disturbed the herd of elephants drinking at the water's edge by sailing far too close to them.

The food was wonderful and the setting of the dining area magical, especially in the evening but at any time of day, eating beside the Zambezi was unforgettable.

We went to Victoria Falls on a trip run by the lodge which made it all very easy and the helicopter flight over the Falls was undoubtedly a real highlight.

The transfer to the airport for our flights home was slick and efficient.

We wished we had had time for another night at Tongabezi- there was plenty to do locally which we did not have time for and spending time at the lodge itself was a treat in itself. We were very sorry to leave." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Weybridge

"Wonderful start to our 2 week trip."

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"Beautiful, peaceful room - Honeymoon - with amazing views over the Zambezi River. Open air bathroom an adventure on its own! Happily no bugs in sight just the sound of hippos snoring. Wonderful lunch on Livingstone Island overlooking the Falls.

We were both entertained and cared for in a relaxed, attentive way and highly commend the warm, friendly, professional staff team. Rudy, the Manager, made us feel very much at home in Paradise. Wish we had stayed 3 nights and not just 2. Next time..........

Only niggle was the plunge pool on our terrace was murky. Plenty of apologies given and we were unlikely to have used it in July :)" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 61
93%
61 reviews of Tongabezi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (222 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa