This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi

Reviews of Tongabezi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

64 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tongabezi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tongabezi.
Hippo

83% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

60% success

Zebra

40% success

Buffalo

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 64
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Oxford

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"Our final 2 nights we at Tongabezi.

The highly here is the rooms which were really lovely (including air conditioning), plus the setting, overlooking the Zambezi with the most absolutely wonderful sunsets in the evening.

The pool, restaurant and other facilities were also of a high standard.

As with Sindabezi, there are lots of inclusive activities here, but we really enjoyed just lazing about enjoying the view.

Just one slight negative, in all of the other camps, there was a great communal atmosphere, with all the guests getting together for breakfast, lunch and dinner and really enjoying sharing their experiences.

Although this was said to be possible at Tongabezi, it didn't really happen, so you didn't get the chance to interact with the other guests. Tongabezi felt more like a exclusive boutique hotel, which itself is not a bad thing, but it did slightly lack the social aspect that often makes the Safari Camps really quite memorable." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
London

"Heaven on earth!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2016
"Well what a way to end our month! You really don't get it much better than this. We thought we had died and gone to heaven!

The room was superb, without doubt the best throughout our visit. The river frontage was stunning and to have a private deck of such size and comfort was wonderful. We were very well-looked after with a valet to ourselves.

We visited the school (as we had a professional connection with it) and this was very meaningful too.

The sundowner cruise on our first night when we were the only ones on it was very special indeed and yet again our wedding anniversary merited special treatment with another bottle of bubbly! The sundowner cruise on the second night, on which there were three different boats and a considerably larger number of people was also great, though we were somewhat concerned by the way in which our guide disturbed the herd of elephants drinking at the water's edge by sailing far too close to them.

The food was wonderful and the setting of the dining area magical, especially in the evening but at any time of day, eating beside the Zambezi was unforgettable.

We went to Victoria Falls on a trip run by the lodge which made it all very easy and the helicopter flight over the Falls was undoubtedly a real highlight.

The transfer to the airport for our flights home was slick and efficient.

We wished we had had time for another night at Tongabezi- there was plenty to do locally which we did not have time for and spending time at the lodge itself was a treat in itself. We were very sorry to leave." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
Weybridge

"Wonderful start to our 2 week trip."

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"Beautiful, peaceful room - Honeymoon - with amazing views over the Zambezi River. Open air bathroom an adventure on its own! Happily no bugs in sight just the sound of hippos snoring. Wonderful lunch on Livingstone Island overlooking the Falls.

We were both entertained and cared for in a relaxed, attentive way and highly commend the warm, friendly, professional staff team. Rudy, the Manager, made us feel very much at home in Paradise. Wish we had stayed 3 nights and not just 2. Next time..........

Only niggle was the plunge pool on our terrace was murky. Plenty of apologies given and we were unlikely to have used it in July :)" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
A&M
London

"Relaxing stay"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2016
"We spent three nights at the end of our trip. All the members of the staff were very efficient, friendly and nice and they all try hard to please any wish you may have. We stayed in a cottage and it was very good - although some details look good but are not that functional. Food was generally good.

We went to the falls, had a sunset boat trip (and thanks to Lawrence we spent a long time watching a large elephant herd drinking from the river form the Zim side- it was magic) and went canoeing down the river - which was a lot of fun. We also asked to go for a walk in the park and the staff organized it for us. We wanted to see the vegetable local market and were promptly accommodated.

Everything was good and organized..perhaps a little too much for us as we are more used to "more flexible-bush style" places and the fact that all activities have specific times detracted a little for us.

To be honest this was an add-on to our volunteering trip so we could not be flexible with dates and this was the best option at the time of our booking." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S
Lusaka

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"After the grueling schedule we kept at Kaingo and Mwamba, Tongabezi was a welcomed, restful retreat. Absolutely beautiful rooms - Dog House is beyond description it is so luxurious.

We loved the excursion to Devil's pool (although it was very expensive). We also added on a bush walk to see the Rhinos which we all loved (but again, expensive considering the cost of the trip overall).

We really enjoyed our stay at Tongabezi and hope to return someday for a relaxing vacation." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs FP
London

"Tongabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"What a great place!! We had the Nut House which was sublime.

That said, it is the furtherest from the lodge including a good number of slightly unstable stairs (not illuminated during the power outages) so wouldn't suit everyone. We looked at all the Houses - and without exception they were out of this world. The food was tasty and sometimes innovative.

One of their new managers is Marc Harris who was at Ras Kutani when we were there a few years ago. He is excellent and will be an asset to Tongabezi. The staff is willing and in most instances very good - but there were hit and miss moments.. but then the location of the kitchen hinders speedy service..

We thought their Livingstone High Tea was exhorbitant for what it was.. Three nights is probably enough here.." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms K & Mr W
London

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington DC

"Great location, attentive staff"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2014
"Beautiful location on the Zambezi River, and the villas really made the environment special.

The food was excellent -- among the best on our trip-- and the staff was especially helpful and accommodating." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Notts

"Idyllic"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"The Tree House where we stayed was fantastic. Facilities were excellent and so cleverly designed to provide amazing views - even from the loo!

This room comes with a personal valet which is not something we would usually choose to have (seems far too decadent!) but was wonderful. Nyambe made sure our stay there was a delight and one we will not forget. He helped arrange visits for us, brought drinks to our room, dealt with our laundry and each evening served us dinner on our own private deck overlooking the Zambezi. Who would want to eat anywhere else?!

The activity managers were excellent at arranging the things we wanted to do - from swimming in Devil's Pool to helping us cross into Zimbabwe to see the falls from there. (Don't expect to have good views of the Falls in October from the Zambian side). It was an excellent place to stay at the end of a busy holiday - active but more relaxing and not as frantic as being on safari. It would also be an excellent place to begin a trip to Zambia and would be perfect for honeymooners." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&K
Buckinghamshire

"A Luxury Lodge, Perfect For Chilling Out"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Tongabezi was the perfect place to meet our two objectives:-
a) a base for visiting Victoria Falls
b) a place to chill out after 8 days of being bounced around in a land cruiser on safari

The transfer from Kasane airport to Tongabezi was in itself an interesting adventure, and we were very pleased to be well looked after at each of the several stages. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived at Tongabezi, and our valet, Dadu, ensured that warmth remained for the duration of our stay.

Our cottage was comfortable and it's terrace provided a wonderful view across the Zambezi river, complete with a group of hippo most of the time that we were there.

Food at Tongabezi was excellent. We particularly enjoyed evening meals in the boathouse and on a sampan tethered to the jetty.

Our guided visit to the Victoria Falls was excellent, and we also enjoyed a sunset cruise. Tongabezi also offers a wide range of external activities that we did not take up as our objective was to relax." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 64
93%
64 reviews of Tongabezi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes' walk from the Victoria Falls, with access for guests included, the Avani features good facilities in peaceful grounds at a modest price.


85% (230 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (86 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (56 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


89% (23 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (6 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa