This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi

Reviews of Tongabezi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tongabezi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tongabezi.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

50% success

Buffalo

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
A&M
London

"Relaxing stay"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2016
"We spent three nights at the end of our trip. All the members of the staff were very efficient, friendly and nice and they all try hard to please any wish you may have. We stayed in a cottage and it was very good - although some details look good but are not that functional. Food was generally good.

We went to the falls, had a sunset boat trip (and thanks to Lawrence we spent a long time watching a large elephant herd drinking from the river form the Zim side- it was magic) and went canoeing down the river - which was a lot of fun. We also asked to go for a walk in the park and the staff organized it for us. We wanted to see the vegetable local market and were promptly accommodated.

Everything was good and organized..perhaps a little too much for us as we are more used to "more flexible-bush style" places and the fact that all activities have specific times detracted a little for us.

To be honest this was an add-on to our volunteering trip so we could not be flexible with dates and this was the best option at the time of our booking." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms S
Lusaka

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"After the grueling schedule we kept at Kaingo and Mwamba, Tongabezi was a welcomed, restful retreat. Absolutely beautiful rooms - Dog House is beyond description it is so luxurious.

We loved the excursion to Devil's pool (although it was very expensive). We also added on a bush walk to see the Rhinos which we all loved (but again, expensive considering the cost of the trip overall).

We really enjoyed our stay at Tongabezi and hope to return someday for a relaxing vacation." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs FP
London

"Tongabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2015
"What a great place!! We had the Nut House which was sublime.

That said, it is the furtherest from the lodge including a good number of slightly unstable stairs (not illuminated during the power outages) so wouldn't suit everyone. We looked at all the Houses - and without exception they were out of this world. The food was tasty and sometimes innovative.

One of their new managers is Marc Harris who was at Ras Kutani when we were there a few years ago. He is excellent and will be an asset to Tongabezi. The staff is willing and in most instances very good - but there were hit and miss moments.. but then the location of the kitchen hinders speedy service..

We thought their Livingstone High Tea was exhorbitant for what it was.. Three nights is probably enough here.." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms K & Mr W
London

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2015
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington DC

"Great location, attentive staff"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2014
"Beautiful location on the Zambezi River, and the villas really made the environment special.

The food was excellent -- among the best on our trip-- and the staff was especially helpful and accommodating." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Notts

"Idyllic"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"The Tree House where we stayed was fantastic. Facilities were excellent and so cleverly designed to provide amazing views - even from the loo!

This room comes with a personal valet which is not something we would usually choose to have (seems far too decadent!) but was wonderful. Nyambe made sure our stay there was a delight and one we will not forget. He helped arrange visits for us, brought drinks to our room, dealt with our laundry and each evening served us dinner on our own private deck overlooking the Zambezi. Who would want to eat anywhere else?!

The activity managers were excellent at arranging the things we wanted to do - from swimming in Devil's Pool to helping us cross into Zimbabwe to see the falls from there. (Don't expect to have good views of the Falls in October from the Zambian side). It was an excellent place to stay at the end of a busy holiday - active but more relaxing and not as frantic as being on safari. It would also be an excellent place to begin a trip to Zambia and would be perfect for honeymooners." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J&K
Buckinghamshire

"A Luxury Lodge, Perfect For Chilling Out"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Tongabezi was the perfect place to meet our two objectives:-
a) a base for visiting Victoria Falls
b) a place to chill out after 8 days of being bounced around in a land cruiser on safari

The transfer from Kasane airport to Tongabezi was in itself an interesting adventure, and we were very pleased to be well looked after at each of the several stages. We received a very warm welcome when we arrived at Tongabezi, and our valet, Dadu, ensured that warmth remained for the duration of our stay.

Our cottage was comfortable and it's terrace provided a wonderful view across the Zambezi river, complete with a group of hippo most of the time that we were there.

Food at Tongabezi was excellent. We particularly enjoyed evening meals in the boathouse and on a sampan tethered to the jetty.

Our guided visit to the Victoria Falls was excellent, and we also enjoyed a sunset cruise. Tongabezi also offers a wide range of external activities that we did not take up as our objective was to relax." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Walking back through the reception to our room we both said why haven't we been back here before now, the changes made since our last visit six and half years ago enhance the facilities.

A relaxing end to our holiday, food was excellent, the staff very attentive." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr W
Dyfed

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"A wonderful way to end our trip. A most relaxing and comfortable environment.

The visit to Victoria Falls was memorable and the day spent on the Zambezi was wonderful" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B & Ms B
Horsham

"Tongabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"Lovely place on the banks of the Zambezi. The rooms are very luxurious and spacious and the staff went out of their way to look after us. Isaac, our personal valet was charming and helpful as was Thomas in the restaurant. Everyone is friendly and welcoming and the whole ethos is to make guests feel pampered. The guides were very good. There is a certain lack of organisation manifest when trying to check out. However, Juliet, the manager is delightful and welcoming and provided a fantastic day room as we were leaving in the afternoon and they needed us to check out of our room - a nice touch not seen in many places.

Health and safety is excessive and intrusive - life jackets on every boat trip and indemnities to be signed in advance. Given the cost of the accommodation, it is a shame that entrance into the falls, game park and any transfers to non-Tongabezi activities were charged extra. The cost of the trip to Livingstone island - which is managed by Tongabezi - was pretty steep. I felt that the management were trying to extract every last dollar from guests. The activities manager was selling activities rather than offering experiences.

The food was mixed -sometimes excellent, othertimes less so. Quantities were very (over) generous with both lunch and dinner being 3 courses. There was a choice of main course but all came with multiple vegetables - one couldn't choose either content or quantity. Unfortunately I also got food poisoning.........

There is no atmosphere and very limited contact with other guests. It is more like a luxurious spa than a safari camp and could disappoint anyone who is there to see animals - except for rhinos which are not found in South Luangwa. However, it is a lovely luxurious place to stay when visiting the falls and to chill out at the end of a safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 61
93%
61 reviews of Tongabezi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (223 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (86 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (43 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (4 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa