This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba

Reviews of Islands of Siankaba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Islands of Siankaba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Islands of Siankaba.
Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
A & B
Larbert

"Good chill out at end of Safari"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"We choose the Islands specifically to relax at the end of our Safari and get to see the Falls and were not disappointed. The location is ideal, two private islands and treehouse style chalets overlooking the Zambezi and on site massage therapies. Staff were really friendly and attentive at all times. When we arrived we were given plenty advice of available activities and how best to plan them with the staff making all arrangements

Food was good and we particularly enjoyed the surprise lunch and a private island which we had not expected.

Our final sundowner cruise was particularly memorable, very good guide and very relaxing.

Although we were not really expecting game viewing we still managed a view sighting including White Rhino" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D
Witney

"Peaceful start at Islands of Siankaba"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"Our 3 day stay was cut short by the delayed departure from Heathrow and subsequently missed connection to Livingstone. However, when we did arrive, the staff couldn't have been nicer. We visited Victoria Falls en route to The Islands, thus saving part of a days travelling.

The next day we visited the local village with one of the guides, Sydney, who lived there. We really enjoyed talking to the local teachers in both schools and seeing just how poor the local people were. This morning was a real eye-opener in many ways - socially, culturally and traditionally - that informed us for the rest of the trip. In the afternoon we had a couples massage which was wonderfully relaxing after a very hot morning out walking. The day was rounded off with a delightful dinner in our own separate gazebo.

Our only regret is that we didn't know about the black rhino in the National Park near Livingstone; if we had known, we would definitely have wanted to visit that Park. Perhaps you should tell future guests about this opportunity that is now becoming rarer in Africa." See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
San Diego

"Islands of Siankaba review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2017
"The Islands of Siankaba was an excellent way to end our trip to Zambia. The lodge is in the middle of the Zambezi River so you hear the calming and relaxing rush of water everywhere you go. After seven days on safari, this was a perfect place to unwind.

The highlight of our stay at the Islands of Siankaba was, of course, the Victoria Falls. The lodge organized a magnificent trip to the falls and set up some additional activities for our group of four adults and four children. Hillary our guide made sure we saw the falls from every viewpoint, organized our lunch, and made sure we were on time for our microlight flight over the falls.

Back at the lodge, you can go for a river cruise or just relax on the patio. The meals at the Islands of Siankaba are excellent and Ryan the manager keeps everything rolling along smoothly. Ryan was instrumental in organizing our return to the microlights for one more flight before heading to the airport. The video for our son did not turn out so Ryan organized a morning flight for us and made sure we were out and down to the airfield on time." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Nick Foster
UK

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"This was an excellent lodge which unfortunately had few guests. The staff were extremely obliging and we had the excellent guiding services of Sydney.

Each day we made participated in the different activities offered by the lodge." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R&U
Northwood

"peaceful Islands of Siankaba"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2016
"This was a perfect place to unwind after the fantastic safari. The setting and staff were great. Only 6 lodges and we had 3 and there was a couple in another and it seemed like the whole island was to ourselves. Fantastic sunset trip on the zambezi on our 1st day.

Victoria Falls on our 2nd day was truly magnificent. Our kids did the microlight flight over the falls and said it was one of their best experiences ever - imagine looking at the falls fro 50 m above!!

Siankaba is a village next to the lodge which has very close links to the lodge. Staff are sponsored by the lodge who come from the village and it is a lovely relationship between the two.

The bridge taking us from the reception area to our lodges took a little bit of concentration for the dads/mums as it ran over the zambezi with crocs and hippos so it proved a nice chuckle for my kids as my wife and i negotiated the bridge. I would say that if you want to really unwind after or before a safari, then this is a nice place and my preference would be this or any other lodges on the upper zambezi and not the tourist filled hotels in livingstone." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Lovers of Africa
UK

"R&R at Islands of Siankaba"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2016
"We ended our trip at Islands of Siankaba in Zambia, from where we visited the Victoria Falls. This was the perfect place to relax and unwind after the excitement and regular game viewing of Botswana and we took full advantage of the facilities. We wondered where we were going as we drove down the seemingly endless dirt road from the turnoff, but from the moment that we arrived at the small reception area where we were greeted by Eunice, we were royally looked after. We were given the "honeymoon chalet", which faced east and thus enabled us to watch the dawn from the comfort of our bed, as well as offering a variety of sitting areas. The chalet was very well appointed, with lots of space and every conceivable amenity.

We both took advantage of the spa facilities, I enjoyed a couple of cooling dips in the pool, my husband visited the neighbouring village which supplies many of the staff, we were educated about the trees on the island, and we loved our sunset cruises on the (very full) Zambezi. There was plenty of opportunity to relax, read and enjoy the sunshine.

The food was excellent, in terms of quality, presentation and service, and we were touched to be given a private candlelit dinner for two on our last night - was this a spontaneous gesture by the management, or arranged by Expert Africa? Either way, it was a wonderful way to end our stay.

Eunice arranged our visit to the Victoria Falls and our requested helicopter ride, which were both memorable, especially since the river was so full.

All the staff were helpful, courteous and informed, but special thanks go to Richard, who was outstanding." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Harrogate

"Great start to our holiday - superb location"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2015
"the only slight concern we had was not being aware in advance that we needed to go into Zimbabwe to see Victoria Falls - as there is no water on the Zambian side. Ian had to pay for a second visa on top of his initial entry visa to Zambia - It would have been easier for us to sort that out at the airport on arrival and get one visa to cover both countries - instead of paying twice .

Overall the Islands of Siankaba was superb - the location is wonderful - staff excellent and we absolutely loved the whole place - would recommend it to anyone." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Two Travellers
UK

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"The Islands of Siankaba was a wonderful place to relax at the end of our holiday, and as Megan had suggested it really gave us the best of both worlds: the opportunity to visit and do some activities at the Falls combined with the chance to decompress in a beautiful setting right on the Zambezi.

The lodge is located at the end of quite a lengthy track which seemed to go on for miles on the day of our road transfer from Kasane, but which we felt ultimately enhanced the sense of seclusion and tranquility.

The staff were delightful, the food delicious, our room lovely -- and we particularly enjoyed being the only guests on the final day of our trip!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R
Rotherhithe

"Lovely setting on the Zambezi"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2015
"Islands of Siankaba was fantastic. A really great venture (apparently UK owned) that has really helped the local community by employing them as well as paying for some improvements in their infrastructure.

Had a great cycle ride around the nearby village which is were we saw the true Africa. The staff were extremely polite, the food was high quality and the rooms themselves (and we had the honeymoon suite) were lovely - views overlooking the Zambezi (and the sunrise) was something that we won't forget.

Mokoros, sunset cruises and a half day to Victoria Falls - all superb." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Wales

"Wow"

3 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"This really was something different. Lovely lodge over the river superb service and very friendly staff. The food and drinks were excellent and it was a fun place to be. Sundowners in the evenings upriver, Sunuppers with a glass of orange and a sore head. Woken up in the mornings by monkeys fighting on our verandah, Had 3 hours fishing upriver ( I can definitely state that there are no fish in the Zambezi!) Microlighted over the Vic Falls and viewed them on foot from both Zimbabwe and Zambian sides.

N.B.The UNIVISA works well but be patient (it's the same price as a single Zambian entry but we had to go into a different queue at the immigration desk.

N.B. The requirement for a yellow fever certificate has apparently been discontinued

The I.of S. claims to support the village but had a look around. No running water-no sanitation-no electricity, only a lift once a week for somebody to collect shopping. (Nigerians would have "tapped in" (!) to overhead wires and underground pipes) Is it a scam?" See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 54
96%
54 reviews of Islands of Siankaba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
9
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa