This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba

Reviews of Islands of Siankaba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Islands of Siankaba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Islands of Siankaba.
Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs B
Oxon

"Island Life on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2013
"After the intimacy of the bush camps, a bit more touristy with other guests clearly doing Africa and stopping over primarily for the Falls. Rooms starting to look a bit weary, but staff very friendly and helpful, and our guide was superb.

The walk around the village was enlightening and uplifting in spite of the obvious difficulties facing the villagers in their daily lives." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H
Andover

"Islands of Siankaba review"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2013
"Lovely stay, we stayed early in the season and the Zambezi was huge. We were a party of 4 people and the evening
Sundowner boat trip was fantastic, we went out on both evenings. Very comfortable rooms with stunning views. All staff very

Attentive though we were the only guests staying." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Sydney

"A lovely quiet place to recover from jet-lag!"

3 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2012
"We thought the Sundowner cruises were a very enjoyable and relaxing way to see lots of hippos.

We also really enjoyed the visit to the local village and school, where we were most impressed by Malindi the head master, who joined us for dinner one night at the lodge.

Islands of Siankaba is a great place to recover from jet-lag as the sound of the Zambezi river rushing past is extremely soporific. It's also a great place from which to visit Victoria Falls.

Note that there is no air conditioning or wi-fi in the rooms, but this didn't bother us.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 5n in Rwanda; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
W Sussex

"Siankaba is a great way too end your holiday."

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"We wanted a relaxing few days to end our holiday and the Islands of Siankaba was a brilliant choice.

Run by Bret and Clare with Mellindi, who runs the local pre-school supported by the lodge, in close support. The staff were excellent and looked after us well in a friendly atmosphere and this visit was all we hoped it would be.

Highlight was the visit to the pre-school and as it was my birthday having 'Happy Birthday' sung to me by forty small children.

Being out on the river for sunset and fishing was highly enjoyable if not very successful.

We visited the Victoria falls (45 minute drive) and having seem the falls from the Zimbabwe side some years ago at the same time of the year the view from the Zambian side was disappointing as the eastern cataract is dry in September. It may take more time but going to the Zimbabwe side might be preferable." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
W Sussex

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Siankaba offers great luxury after the ardors of safari life. A splendid way to end the trip.

Victoria Falls were worth the visit though we went at the lowest point of the year fro flow. It might be worth crossing to view from Zambia at this time of year.

Highlight was the village walk and especially the time with Malindi (who was also with us for dinner one night) at the voluntary funded pre-school was inspirational. There was an unfortunate but important contrast when we visited the underfunded state primary school which lacked the same energetic leadership." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Aldershot

"Island of Siankaba"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2012
"Our arrival on the island was very impressive very clean very welcoming and our room was wonderful, we were given the honeymoon suite as we were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary . Our first meal, there was a table of 14, the food was served on cold plates therefore the food was cold and not appetizing and one of the guest did not receive a dinner at all which some of the kitchen staff found amusing , it appeared that there was not sufficient food so he had to have a pizza, The next day we were due to visit the Falls so we had a PICNIC, one cold chicken breast one muffin, not good. We did complain and the food did improve slightly but the damage was done we will not go back . Island of Siankaba is not cheap and you do expect first class food, the lack of management on the ground may be the reason" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Washington

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2012
"A fantastic place on 2 tiny islands in the Zambezi river, the seven double-occupancy chalets are extremely well appointed and spaced out, each has its own private deck, where you can relax and watch the waters of the Zambezi floating by, providing a great feel of nature with a good but not pretentious touch of luxury.

Management and staff were very attentive and kind, the food, including complimentary drinks, was excellent and inventive. We particularly enjoyed the smoked warthog with balsamic dressing and thin slivers of a hard cheese. A nice extra touch was the hosting of the communal suppers by different members of management (including the school teacher Malindi) - bringing local flair and knowledge to the table.

The evening sun-downer cruise on the Zambezi with sightings of hippos and birds and a stop for hors d'oeuvres and drinks in a sheltered cove was a nice experience, as was the visit to the falls on the Zambian side, enveloped at points by the spray from the falls hitting you from the top, bottom and sides - a glory to behold! The Siankaba village morning walk with Joseph, where we visited the school built by the lodge, met some of Joseph's relatives and plenty of other people was lovely. An afternoon nature walk on the island with sightings of monkeys, a giant king fisher, monitor lizards and tracks of more animals brought us even closer to nature.

Overall a great and relaxing experience, which we highly recommend." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Wiltshire

"Islands of Siankaba review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2012
"Siankaba deserves a mention as they went out of their way to make us happy..and when I return with my partner will end the trip there..the sunset cruise and the staff were spot on. Exeptionally helpful and friendly..nothing was too much trouble.

We hope that next year to be able to repeat and possibly expand..
agreat place to visit the Falls from , eveing cruise very good , massage exeptional got rid of my fibrocitis !.. good peaceful place .Staff were all pleasant.. we didnt have time to visit the village. Brett and Graeme were extra helpful regards my son Guy...Thanks to them his bike got him to Lumwana.. 2500 across Africa in two weeks !
Plan to take my partner there sometime in the future.." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"Wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2011
"Lovely accommodation in a beautiful location.

Outstanding food and service. Staff couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful.

Really enjoyed the sundowner boat trips and being able to sit on our deck and look out over the river. We were able to watch the most beautiful sunrise without leaviing our bed!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hampshire

"Islands of Siankaba is a real treat"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"We stayed at Islands of Siankaba on our way home, having spent 2 weeks in the bush in Botswana. It was a wonderful return to civilisation, but still with an african feel.

The location and facilites are unbelievable and should not be missed if you're going to Victoria Falls. Nothing could ba faulted about our time there, and we highly recommend it. They went out of their way to facilitate our getting a helicopter ride over the Falls, another unmissable experience. The sunset cruise on the Zambesi was magical." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 54
96%
54 reviews of Islands of Siankaba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
9
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (221 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (61 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (42 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (3 reviews)
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa