This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Sydney

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

An absolutely wonderful holiday.

Botswana and 2 other countries between 30 Dec 2012 and 23 Jan 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first trip to Africa and, thanks to Saskia Adye's excellent help and advice, it was a thoroughly memorable and enjoyable month-long holiday with fantastic game sightings as well as lots of cultural interactions.

We were extremely happy with all of our accommodation and transfers. The only disappointment was Rwandair Express which is the most unreliable airline that we've ever flown with, but Saskia did warn me of that in advance so I should have taken her advice to fly SAA instead!

Would highly recommend Expert Africa - and Saskia Adye in particular - to anyone planning a trip to this fascinating continent.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You thought of everything so .....no!"

Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"A lovely quiet place to recover from jet-lag!"

3 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2012
"We thought the Sundowner cruises were a very enjoyable and relaxing way to see lots of hippos.

We also really enjoyed the visit to the local village and school, where we were most impressed by Malindi the head master, who joined us for dinner one night at the lodge.

Islands of Siankaba is a great place to recover from jet-lag as the sound of the Zambezi river rushing past is extremely soporific. It's also a great place from which to visit Victoria Falls.

Note that there is no air conditioning or wi-fi in the rooms, but this didn't bother us.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"A fantastically relaxing way to see wildlife!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2013
"We would have stayed for an extra night or two, had we known how fantastic the houseboat experience was. As it was, we stayed for 2 nights and were sorry to leave.

We came down with shocking colds while staying here and were largely confined to quarters, however, this didn't matter as we saw masses of elephants, hippos, buffalos, impalas, crocodiles, Lady Lechwade deer and kudu without even getting out of bed due to having the (only) guest-room with its' own sliding picture windows to a deck.

An excellent alternative to spending weeks bouncing around in a safari vehicle! Would recommend everyone to include this experience in their safari itinerary."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Saw our only leopard here!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2013
"The game viewing tended to be restricted to the flood plain in Chobe National Park, so the game drives were a bit repetitive, although the opportunity to see game (including our only leopard) was good. Muchenje's game viewing experience suffered by comparison with Ichobezi Houseboat and Zuka Lodge at Phinda, so we wouldn't recommend a stay of more than 2-3 days here.

The lodge managers, Joy & Robert, are overly talkative and join guests for most meals, which for us was a bit overpowering."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements Cape Town

"The Cape Grace Hotel is excellent."

5 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2013
"We loved the Cape Grace Hotel in Cape Town. The room (with view of Table Mountain and the marina) was spacious and beautifully decorated. Service from all members of staff was outstanding. Excellent food in the restaurant.

We loved our day trip to the Cape of Good Hope, but were disappointed by our visit to the wineries around Stellenbosch other than Boschendal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Phinda Zuka Lodge

"Absolutely outstanding."

6 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2013
"Zuka Lodge was the most expensive place that we stayed, but also the best. We stayed for 6 nights and would have liked to stay for ever! It was like having our own fully staffed country house in Africa. Nothing was too much trouble for Ryan (the manager) and his team of 9 staff. Meals from Warren and Dudu were outstanding.

Game drives with Kyle (ranger) and Simmi (tracker) were a source of constant delight. On our first morning, we were privileged to share a close quarters 20 minute encounter with two incredibly rare wild dogs. One evening, we found our path back to the lodge blocked by a herd of elephants, so we simply turned off the engine and waited breathlessly as they passed by the vehicle just an arm's length away. They then turned up at Zuka's waterhole an hour later and stayed throughout dinner. Priceless! We had another unforgettable experience when we drove off-road to get close to a pride of lions only for our vehicle to fall into a giant warthog hole just at the moment when we were surrounded by five lions. Luckily Kyle and Simmi were professionalism personified and we survived, but it was a somewhat nerve-wracking 45 minute wait until the rescue vehicle turned up to tow us out!

Game viewings at Phinda are limited to 3 vehicles per sighting which was terrific, but at most of our (many) sightings we were the only vehicle present.

Ryan and Warren organised a surprise 'brai in the bush' for us on our last night complete with kerosene lanterns and starched white tablecloth. Magical.

We cannot recommend Zuka Lodge highly enough. Heavenly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Had to cancel due to Rwandair stuff-up!"

1 night Arrived 18 Jan 2013
"We never got to stay at the Kigali Serena Hotel as Rwandair Express cancelled our flight and rescheduled it to the following day - which was annoying especially as they didn't even notify us of the change.

Rwandair Express also cancelled our flight back to Jo'burg TWICE, again without notifying us. Avoid Rwandair Express like the plague and fly South African Airways instead."
Excellent
Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

"A great place from which to see the gorillas."

4 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2013
"We were extremely happy with this lodge, but you do need to be aware that there's a steep 250m hike from the car park to the lodge and a further climb up to the rooms. However, if you can't manage that then you're not going to manage a gorilla trek!

Excellent food and service. Very happy with our driver, Alex, from Primate Safaris.

Do the golden monkey trek BEFORE you visit the gorillas to acclimatise and to avoid disappointment by comparison with the awesome experience of seeing the gorillas up close and personal.

We also enjoyed fascinating visits to the Gorilla Vet Project and a local orphanage/school run by the Faith Foundation.

We loved Rwanda - safe, people very friendly, beautiful countryside and a lovely cool climate.

We stayed 4 nights at Sabinyo Silverback lodge and felt that was the perfect amount of time there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team