This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba
Islands of Siankaba

Reviews of Islands of Siankaba

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Islands of Siankaba and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Islands of Siankaba.
Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H & Miss M
UK

"Well-appointed lodge on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"This lodge has a very special location on 2 small islands in the Zambezi river and arriving by motor launch adds a certain something to the experience of staying there. Lodges are very comfortable with excellent beds, showers and terrace area...but a little cool at night in the winter months (though electric blanket in the bed was greatly appreciated).

Food and service is of a high standard and we enjoyed the activities in which we participated e.g .Victoria Falls tour and Sunset Cruise each afternoon, but we thought there could have been more activities on offer at the Lodge itself - such as a bird-watching trip as there was plentiful bird-life all around. However we did both enjoy having excellent massage from the very good therapist who currently works there and it was unfortunate that our visit coincided with a public holiday period, which meant that a visit to the local school was not possible.

All in all, a very comfortable and beautiful location." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Warwick

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"A great location and ambience which we would recommend to anyone. Staff friendly and helpful and sunset boat rides with drinks in the middle of the Zambezi fantastic." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Ms C
Toronto

"Relaxing way to finish our trip"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"We were looking for a place to end our vacation in a relaxing manner and it did not disappoint.

We did the falls tour and took a mokoro ride and nature walk. The rest of the time we just enjoyed relaxing on the island.

Would have booked a massage as well but they were fully booked so book early if you know you want one.

Food could have been better and we were a little surprised they didn't acknowledge our 30th anniversary." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Z & Ms D
Vancouver

"great"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof B & Dr B
Warwick

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"What a jolt from the bush camps! Fantastic location ( we had Room 3 - Mahogany - with breathtaking views of the Zambezi). But it felt more of a production line hotel experience than the bush camps - probably affected by a different clientele. This was compounded by having to make rapid choices about options for the Victoria Falls - all of which seemed very expensive (I still do not know if they would have been cheaper if we had arranged ourselves). Food seemed less interesting and vaired as we had experienced in the bush camps. In the end we took none of them and still felt very happy with seeing the falls on their included tour.

What really surprised us was how positive and interesting the village tour was - a really interesting insight into Zambian society that I would not have been able to get in any other way. The mukoro rides were brilliant and a final mukoro sundowner in the middle of the Zambezi an experience not to be missed.

In the end we warmed to the place. At first we thought it too far from the Falls but in the end it did exactly what we wanted as we relaxed on our last days in Zambia." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W
Austria

"Wonderful stay at Siankaba"

3 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2013
"Islands of Siankaba is a wonderful place. The staff is truly fantastic, after 10 days of safary they made me and especially my mom feel very comfortable and welcome as part of their family. My mom speaks very little English but she had no problem at all getting along and communicating with all members of staff, particularly Bessie (the esthetician), Humphrey (our host), Sector with whom we did the most amazing sunset cruise in a mokoro, the village tour and the nature walk as well as Lucky, with whom we visited the falls.

We were very happy that we had decided to stay three nights at Siankaba as this place is truly idyllic (the chalets are overlooking the Zambezi and you go to sleep with the sound of the river) and there is so much to do. On Sunday, we went to church (the choir lead by Lucky was great) and visited the village, including the school. We had an interesting chat with the village chief and the school teacher before heading back to the lodge by boat.

Next time at Siankaba, we'll have to stay longer to do the mokoro trip and the village walk again and to include hightee on Livingstone Island as well as the rhino walk. We would also love to see all of the staff again!

Siankaba was the perfect lodge at the end of our holiday." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"Beautiful lodge, nice staff

As regards the spa, Bessie is Very good and gives excellent treatments and massages.

Would not call their food "Superb Cuisine", it's rather "hit an miss", with some good dishes and some not so good.

While staying there, you are quite far away from all the activities offered. Personally, it felt all too "quiet" after 10 days in the bush and it probably would have been better for me to visit the islands of Siankaba at the start of a trip rather than the end." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
C & L G
Greece

"A place to relax"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"Ilands of Siankaba was the perfect place to end our holiday in Zambia. It is a great place to relax after having spent some time in the bush!

The setting is lovely and quite, the tents are spacious, clean and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff is very warm and polite.

The one thing that we found negative, given that the Falls is the area's main attraction, is that it takes about one hour drive to get to Livingstone." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs T & Mr S
Ohio

"Islands of Siankaba"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2013
"Our Zambia trip concluded with a stay at the Islands of Siankaba.

The lodge sits on two private islands on the Zambezi. It is about an hour from Livingstone airport or the Victoria Falls, but the location is definitely worth the drive. We were fortunate enough to spend two nights in the Honeymoon Suite, which sits at the very end of an elevated path connecting the tents to the main lodge. Equipped with a large balcony, an additional patio and an outside seating area it felt even more private than the other suites.

Just like in every other place we stayed the staff and the food here were excellent. We visited the Victoria Falls "old style", i.e. walking along the falls and getting very wet. If you want to feel its power there is no better way than walking along the Knife Edge trail and hearing the thunder of Mosi-Oa-Tunya." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs K & Mrs T
USA

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"The Islands Of Siankaba is located on a small island in the Zambezi River. The rooms are connected by walkways above the ground. The property is very unique it it's design.

The staff were always available and very helpful. The only draw back it is at least a 45min drive to get into town and the falls. The food was excellent, our favorite of the trip.

Whilst in Victoria Falls these travellers did 25-minute Helicopter flight. Here's what they said about it:
The flight over the falls was fantastic. Well worth the cost. We sat in the front and had an exceptional view of the falls. This was the best way to see them and I highly recommend a flight." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 54
96%
54 reviews of Islands of Siankaba by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
44
9
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes' walk from the Victoria Falls, with access for guests included, the Avani features good facilities in peaceful grounds at a modest price.


85% (230 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (85 reviews)
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

Secluded on the banks of the Zambezi, less than 20km from the Victoria Falls, Tongabezi is one of the most exclusive lodges in Zambia.


93% (64 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (52 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


89% (23 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (6 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa