This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr H & Miss M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A memorable and well-organised trip

Zambia and 1 other country between 22 Jun 2014 and 12 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great holiday and were happy with all our accommodation choices.....we made small suggestions for improvements but had no cause for complaints.

On reflection we might have changed the length of stays towards the end of the trip e.g. an extra day near Victoria Falls and one day less in Hwange N.P. in Zimbabwe. We very much appreciated the advice provided during the planning of our holiday and the information and service given during this process. The brochure and the travel documents supplied were comprehensive and helpful.

We would certainly consider planning/booking another trip with Expert Africa based on our first experience of the company."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

"Beautifully located safari lodge."

3 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Well-managed lodge with prospects of even more development under the current management. We received great assistance when we arrived without our main luggage due to problems at Heathrow Airport and every effort was made to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible - including a free upgrade to a Suite.

There is a genuine concern to ensure that guests' needs and wishes are met and the manager (Alex) is a good communicator.

We loved the location and enjoyed interesting, exciting game drives during which we saw a wide range of animals and birds. The standard of guiding was good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

"A remote and peaceful haven in the bush."

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2014
"We loved our 2 night stay at the Camp and the opportunities for safari-walking in the bush. Klaus, the current manager, is both friendly and efficient as well as a source of interesting information about Africa. The small staff group offers warm and caring hospitality and we enjoyed delicious food prepared in the simple kitchen or at the open fire.

The remoteness of the location was great for us - but might not suit everyone e.g. those who feel the need for greater security from the surrounding animals and woodland terrain; and bucket showers, although hot and perfectly adequate, may not suit some people."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"See my previous comments on Kafunta. [Ed: see below.]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Wonderful location by the Zambezi river."

5 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2014
"A very comfortable, well-appointed safari camp with a superb location at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi rivers - so all lodges have lovely views onto the waterfront and ample opportunities for animal and bird-spotting .Lodges are also very comfortable with good showers and a spacious sitting area by the river bank although we never got around to reading our books because there was so much to see and enjoy in our surroundings.

Safari drives and walks were well-conducted and very informative as the guides had both knowledge and enthusiasm for their task....we felt they wanted us to enjoy our time with them in Lower Zambezi NP. We had a particularly memorable bird-watching trip on the 2 rivers, and 2 canoe trips which were idyllic.
Food and service were both of good standard and we appreciated the birthday treats which were arranged for us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Well-appointed lodge on the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"This lodge has a very special location on 2 small islands in the Zambezi river and arriving by motor launch adds a certain something to the experience of staying there. Lodges are very comfortable with excellent beds, showers and terrace area...but a little cool at night in the winter months (though electric blanket in the bed was greatly appreciated).

Food and service is of a high standard and we enjoyed the activities in which we participated e.g .Victoria Falls tour and Sunset Cruise each afternoon, but we thought there could have been more activities on offer at the Lodge itself - such as a bird-watching trip as there was plentiful bird-life all around. However we did both enjoy having excellent massage from the very good therapist who currently works there and it was unfortunate that our visit coincided with a public holiday period, which meant that a visit to the local school was not possible.

All in all, a very comfortable and beautiful location."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"A real experience of life in the bush...."

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2014
"We very much enjoyed the remote location of Somalisa Camp in Hwange NP and have great memories of watching animals at the water-hole and in the vicinity of the camp, as well as during our safari drives into the vast area of Hwange. On so many occasions we enjoyed drinking our morning coffee or having sun-downer drinks with wonderful elephants in close attendance and our guide Mike always seemed to know just the right place to find them - or baboons- or zebra - or ostriches.

Visitors during the winter months need to be well-prepared for cold overnight temperatures, in contrast with warm sunshine during the day, especially when out in safari vehicles early morning or after dark. However at the camp itself the warm log-fire is very cheering and the hot porridge provided for breakfast is most welcome. Beds are comfortable (and included hot-water bottles) but showering arrangements need improvement. Food is good and plentiful and a very congenial atmosphere prevails at meal-times, particularly in the evenings"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team