This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Island Bush Camp
Island Bush Camp
Island Bush Camp

Reviews of Island Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Island Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Island Bush Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Maryland

"Island Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"It was about a 2 hour drive to island Bush Camp from Kafunta, and we arrived in time for a game drive. We would have preferred to walk but because our guide at Kafunta had been unable to go with us to Island they were short one guide. Sitting in the safari vehicle for a game drive following the drive to camp was not ideal but we enjoyed it nonetheless with sightings of hyenas and genets.

The next morning we had a very interesting walk, and we felt that walking at Island was better than driving because the dense woodlands limited views. That afternoon we wanted to walk but were unable to because no scout was available. The camp is extremely simple in comparison to the other camps we visited, but we enjoyed it nonetheless.

We did see impala, baboons, waterbuck, bushbuck, puku, warthogs, and many different types of birds." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Mrs E
Belgium

"Tranquil Island Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"We loved the island bushcamp experience. It was very relaxing and it has a very "chilled out" vibe. The chalets/huts are very beautiful and again, the pictures don't do it justice. It was just all breathtaking!

The food was again delicious and even more impressive after you have taken the "kitchen safari". The chef does some amazing things with very limited means! All the drinks were always chilled as well, which is no easy feat without electricity.

The walking safaris were very informative and it was nice to move about a bit after having been driven around for a week.

The staff was also amazing! You could tell that there is a nice camaradry between all the members of staff and everyone is happy to be there and to host you. We felt so welcome and were incredibly well taken care of!

If I could say anything that is maybe of the slightest criticism it would be that they didn't offer us the option of participating in the afternoon activity on our arrival day at bushcamp. In their experience people are too tired from the 3 hour rough drive in the heat of the day to still want to go out and walk. However, we would have loved too nonetheless. Having the private sundowners with our hosts was however no hardship either ;-)

Absolutely loved this place and highly recommend anyone to include it in their safari for a couple of nights!
" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Otley

"Walking safari at Island Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"This is a great place to stay right on the bank of the river. The accommodation was superb, with amazing views on the river and beyond.

The team led by Klaus were incredibly welcoming and looked after us so well. The walking safaris brought another dimension to the trip beyond the game drives. Lots of wildlife expertly spotted and identified by the guides.

It's a bumpy 2 and a half hours drive to the camp from Kafunta, but well worth every minute.

Amazing sundowners just like Kafunta too!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
New Mexico

"Great stay at Island Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"We were fortunate to have Martin travel with us as our Guide to the Island Bush Camp, about a 2 1/2 hour drive from the Kafunta River Lodge. Klaus and the staff were waiting to greet us upon our arrival with a refreshing drink.

The Bush Camp has no to limited electricity but that had no effect on our stay. The bush camp is a little more rugged that the River Lodge but was more that adequate, the lodges are very comfortable with a great view overlooking the Luangwa river. Klaus and the staff took care of everything and were a great source of entertainment.

The day begins at dawn with breakfast around an open campfire before heading out for the morning safari. The walking safaris were not difficult, I am 67, and lasted about 3 hours with a tea break in the middle. Martin is a wealth of knowledge and kept us entertained and well informed as we walked, pointing our various plants and how it is used to cure various ailments. We saw many types of wild life on the walking safari and you can not appreciate how big an elephant is or how tall a giraffe is until you are standing on the ground and looking up.

After our morning safari it was back to the bush camp for lunch and a siesta before heading out for the evening safari.

The evening safari ends around dusk either by ending up back at the camp or someone brings a vehicle and we ride back to camp and wash up before dinner. The food was excellent and there is plenty to eat so you will not go hungry. Sitting around at dinner with Klaus and Martin telling stories about the bush and hearing the hippos in the distance, while enjoying some of the best food that you could ask for, it does not get any better than this.

At the end of our stay we took a safari of the kitchen, which consisted of a wood stove, which made the quality of the food that much more amazing. How the staff could prepare such wonderful meals using only a wood stove is beyond me.

All in all we could not have asked to more and if you are looking for something a little more out of the way, we did not see a single person or vehicle during our stay, than the bush camp would be an excellent choice. We spent 3 nights and that was just about the right amount of time as you will not see the amount of wildlife on a waking safari as you will from a vehicle.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr W & Dr J
Victoria

"Island Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2016
"Loved the look and feel of the bush camp.

The manager and host klaus was wonderful and added to the experience and congratulations really do need to go to Godfrey the cook." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Bath

"A fantastic experience"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Island Bush Camp is quite isolated, so you are unlikely to meet other vehicles or other people, the only complaint I had about Kafunta.

The staff, small, is absolutely lovely and so enthusiastic. The chef even managed to bake me a birthday cake in a wood burning stove, which was brought to me by a singing and dancing staff. Very moving." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms U & Ms S
London

"Monsoon at Island Bush Camp!!!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"We loved the bush camp experience! Again the staff were fantastic.

There was an unexpected storm on the second evening of our stay and the torrential rain lasted well into the night. The staff managed to cook and serve our dinner despite having no roof on kitchen and everyone getting extremely wet. What could have been an horrendous experience ended up being quite good fun.

The walks and drives were excellent.

Our only complaint about the camp is that we were not informed in advance that we would be transferred in an open top vehicle and so we were not dressed appropriately to cope with the heat/sun and the tsetse flies!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Miss M
UK

"A remote and peaceful haven in the bush."

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2014
"We loved our 2 night stay at the Camp and the opportunities for safari-walking in the bush. Klaus, the current manager, is both friendly and efficient as well as a source of interesting information about Africa. The small staff group offers warm and caring hospitality and we enjoyed delicious food prepared in the simple kitchen or at the open fire.

The remoteness of the location was great for us - but might not suit everyone e.g. those who feel the need for greater security from the surrounding animals and woodland terrain; and bucket showers, although hot and perfectly adequate, may not suit some people." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Sevenoaks

"Fantastic experience at Island Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2013
"The bush camp is set in a beautiful location beside the river, and after our initial shock at how close we were to nature we settled down to a fantastic experience. Experienced safari goers might know the difference between a lodge and a bush camp, but we hadn't quite grasped it before we got there! Chalets are on stilts facing the river and it was amazing to sleep with just a mosquito net between us and the hippos in the river.

The staff here are amazing; the food was better than at the River Lodge, and the kitchen safari at the end of our stay increased our admiration for Kenneth and what he had produced from the limited facilities he had. We ate together with our guide and the camp manager each evening, though the latter was not as outgoing as the managers at either Kafunta or Waterberry.

We were led out on walks by the wonderful Josephat, who coped well with the mixed experience of the group; 2 seasoned self drive safari experts and ourselves - one first timer and one nervous second timer. He proved to be as experienced an observer of human behaviour and interaction as of animals, and despite the abundance of safari adventure stories which were being thrown about, the nervous were reassured and not pushed too far outside their comfort zone." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
100%
9 reviews of Island Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in South Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Tafika

Tafika

Tafika is one of the best camps in Zambia: naturally built, with few apparent luxuries, but actually very high quality. Service and food are excellent, but the real focus is on top guiding skills and wildlife experience.


98% (274 reviews)
Nkwali

Nkwali

In the heart of South Luangwa, overlooking the river, Nkwali is unusual in being open year round. It offers great safaris; a high standard of food, service and care; and an excellent springboard for Robin Pope's various safaris in the park.


96% (202 reviews)
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp is a small, owner-run camp in a quiet but excellent game area of the Luangwa. Photographers will particularly appreciate the camp’s series of wildlife hides.


96% (188 reviews)
Nsefu

Nsefu

One of the Luangwa's oldest camps, Nsefu is a great safari camp in a remote, beautiful and game-rich location with top-rate guiding.


98% (166 reviews)
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

Tena Tena is one of the Luangwa's best camps in a beautiful location – it's very small, feels very remote and 'in the bush', is run exceedingly well and has top rate guiding.


95% (137 reviews)
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba is a small, fairly simple, owner-run bushcamp in an excellent game area. It offers first-class walking, 4WD safaris and great game hides; come for excellent guides and a real bush feel.


99% (126 reviews)
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp is an excellent small, rustic bushcamp that concentrates on walking safaris, and is run by a top-quality operation.


99% (105 reviews)
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp is a great little rustic bushcamp built to high standards that focuses on excellent walking safaris, with the emphasis on top wildlife guides.


98% (82 reviews)
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

Just on the south-east side of the national park, Kapani Lodge is the base camp for Norman Carr Safaris, one of the Luangwa's oldest safari operations. It's also a very solid safari camp that has retained lots of character, and runs very well indeed.


95% (80 reviews)
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

Set in a shady ebony grove on the banks of the Luangwa, Mchenja is a smart tented bushcamp. It combines well with Kakuli and Nsolo – its sister camps with a focus on walking safaris.


98% (63 reviews)
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

Beside the Luangwa River, Kakuli is a comfortable tented bushcamp offering 4WD safaris and walking safaris – the best of which are camp-to-camp walks linking Kakuli with its nearby sister camps.


97% (62 reviews)
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

A relatively big but very good safari camp, Flatdogs offers value for money with great guiding and good food in a comfortable, relaxed setting.


98% (61 reviews)
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Lodge is a small and consciously stylish lodge in the Mfuwe area, overlooking the Luangwa River and the South Luangwa National Park beyond – an area renowned for great game.


96% (60 reviews)
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo is a small, comfortable bushcamp overlooking one or two pools in the usually dry Luwi riverbed. It concentrates on walking safaris in an interesting and diverse area, led by a knowledgeable guide.


97% (52 reviews)
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta is a laid-back, friendly and good-value lodge on the outskirts of South Lunagwa National Park.


96% (39 reviews)
Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

In a remote part of the South Luangwa National Park, Luwi is a rustic bushcamp whose emphasis is on walking safaris with great guiding and a chance of seeing some rarely seen and elusive antelope.


93% (38 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris bush-camp

Robin Pope bush-camp

RPS bushcamping in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia


99% (25 reviews)
Lion Camp

Lion Camp

Lion Camp is an established and comfortable camp with a swimming pool, located near to the game-rich Lion Plain in the northern part of South Luangwa National Park.


94% (22 reviews)
Robin Pope Safaris walking safari

Robin Pope walking

A seven-day Robin Pope Walking Safari in South Luangwa National Park starts and finishes at a permanent camp, with five days walking between comfortable mobile camps.


98% (21 reviews)
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Kapamba is a small and very comfortable bushcamp offering good walks and game drives.


94% (17 reviews)
Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House

Luangwa Safari House is a vast and very smart four-bedroom house specifically designed for families and small groups, and offering an exclusive and flexible safari experience.


100% (14 reviews)
Chinzombo

Chinzombo

Opened in early June 2013, Chinzombo offers luxurious and stylish accommodation with very high levels of service and excellent guiding.


98% (13 reviews)
Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp

Kuyenda Bushcamp is a classic bushcamp with particularly delightful hosts and offers top-class walking safaris in South Luangwa National Park.


98% (13 reviews)
Bilimungwe Bushcamp

Bilimungwe Bushcamp

A smart bushcamp with four very spacious chalets, Bilimungwe offers interesting walking safaris in pretty riverine woodland, as well as day and night safari drives.


95% (12 reviews)
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village – beside the South Luangwa National Park, offers guests the rare opportunity to appreciate local village life. Visit for a few hours or stay overnight.


95% (11 reviews)
Robin's House

Robin's House

With your own expert guide, private vehicle, chef and valet, the two-bedroom Robin's House offers an exclusive, flexible safari experience – and is open year round.


94% (10 reviews)
Mfuwe Lodge

Mfuwe Lodge

In a game-rich area close to the South Luangwa’s main Mfuwe Gate, Mfuwe Lodge is relatively large by park standards, but it’s stylish, modern and family friendly.


90% (10 reviews)
Three Rivers Camp

Three Rivers Camp

In the remote far south of South Luangwa National Park, Three Rivers Lodge is being constructed by the confluence of three of the valleys rivers.


94% (10 reviews)
Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge

Puku Ridge is a luxurious designer camp set in a stunning location, high on a hill overlooking a floodplain within South Luangwa. Explore from here on 4WD safaris and walks.


93% (9 reviews)
Chindeni

Chindeni

Chindeni Bushcamp is a very modern and minimalist camp, which is a far cry from your traditional bushcamp and unlike most of the other camps in South Luangwa.


94% (7 reviews)
Chamilandu Bushcamp

Chamilandu Bushcamp

A very comfortable little bushcamp, Chamilandu has a picturesque setting by the Luangwa River, with a range of habitats that can be explored on foot and by 4WD, day and night.


100% (5 reviews)
Mwamba Camp-out

Mwamba Camp-out

The Mwamba-Camp Out allows you to have an incredibly adventurous night in the bush, sleeping under mosquito nets with activities led by some of the best guides in Zambia.


90% (4 reviews)
Zungulila

Zungulila

Zungulila is a small, comfortable tented bushcamp with an emphasis on walking safaris, in the remote southern section of the South Luangwa.


93% (3 reviews)
Chichele Presidential Lodge

Chichele Lodge

Chichele Presidential Lodge stands within the park on a hill with superb views. Its hotel-like, air-conditioned rooms and child-friendly attitude make it ideal for families or those who don't want to get too close to the bush outside.


100% (1 review)
Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

Luwi Riverbed Sleepout

For an adventurous night in South Luangwa National Park, come and sleep out in the bush, around a campfire, with an experienced guide and game scout.


100% (1 review)
Shawa Luangwa Camp

Shawa Camp

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Shawa Luangwa Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp, with a good location in a remote section of the South Luangwa National Park.


No reviews yet
Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp

Mapazi Camp is a basic safari camp in the far north of the South Luangwa, with walking safaris led by renowned guide Deb Tittle.


No reviews yet
Chikunto Safari Lodge

Chikunto

Chikunto Safari Lodge is a new property in Zambia's South Luangwa National Park, sitting on a peninsula of land created by the meandering Luangwa River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa