This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr C from Bath

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Very satisfactory

Zambia and 1 other country between 22 Sep 2014 and 8 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"All arrangements worked as clockwork (except one seat reservation of one leg of the flights but that was soon sorted out).

Lovely to be met at all stages of the journey, and thank you Ellie and Martha for all your help."

Image alt

Own arrangements, Johannesburg

"Overnight stay at Emperor's Palace"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2014
"Close to airport (shuttle bus service, even for a 4am start). Good rooms and good service

The casino is another matter. Great experience though."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

"Lovely time at Kafunta"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Kafunta River Lodge has a lovely position. All chalets overlook a flood plain, so you can watch animals from your viewing deck. We even had a visit from some lions one evening.

The staff, management, guides and support staff, are all extremely attentive and do everything they can in order to make your stay enjoyable. We saw all the animals we wished for, even wild dogs, twice.

My only reservation about Kafunta is that this stretch of the park, the Mfuwe section, has become quite busy, especially around the bridge area"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Island Bush Camp

Island Bush Camp

"A fantastic experience"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Island Bush Camp is quite isolated, so you are unlikely to meet other vehicles or other people, the only complaint I had about Kafunta.

The staff, small, is absolutely lovely and so enthusiastic. The chef even managed to bake me a birthday cake in a wood burning stove, which was brought to me by a singing and dancing staff. Very moving."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kafunta River Lodge

Kafunta River Lodge

"Kafunta River Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"Same comments as my earlier review (24-26th September) apply. [ Ed: see below! ]"
Excellent
Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

"A lovely laid back atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2014
"Mumbo Island isa small, laid back and a relaxing sort of place. A great camp to stay for a few days.

We especially liked watching the birds from our chalets or the dining area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"A beautiful place to stay."

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2014
"Mkulumadzi is set in an excellent location overlooking the Shire River. It is peaceful and very beautiful,we could watch the hippos, warthogs and so on from our chalet and all common areas.

The chalets are simply beautiful, spacious, stylish, everything you could wish for. Staff is friendly and attentive. Food is great.

Wild life viewing is, however, disappointing, in spite of the fact that I knew about this when booking. We did not manage any lions, leopards or rhino. The guides were good and did their best to make the best of this, but some more predators are badly needed. ,"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team