This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island
Mumbo Island

Reviews of Mumbo Island

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mumbo Island and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs P
Harrogate

"Peace and relaxation on Mumbo Island"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"We stayed 3 nights on this most beautiful and quiet retreat in Lake Malawi. Activities included walks on the small island, sundowners on a boat trip and a sunset kayak trip on which we saw a family of otters. Mainly however a chance to lie on the beach, read and snorkel in the lake.
Rooms are comfortable and spectacularly set on a rocky headland. Food was simple but tasty and ample. The absence of electricity makes the experience all the more memorable.

" See all these reviews: 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr J.
Shrewsbury

"Mumbo Island review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr R
Torquay

"So pleased we went!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"We loved every moment on the island, even though we are too old to snorkel or kayak, we found plenty to do and watch" See all these reviews: 10n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr C
Bath

"A lovely laid back atmosphere"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2014
"Mumbo Island isa small, laid back and a relaxing sort of place. A great camp to stay for a few days.

We especially liked watching the birds from our chalets or the dining area." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The P family
Norwich

"Mumbo Island review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"Fantastic is the only way to describe Mumbo.

As with Mvuu the people were great and attentive, Joanna was there all the time to service our needs without being imposing, the food was excellent & the fact that mosquito repelent was given was an added special touch!

Again it delivered everything the website says and really a little bit more. I think the fact that the fact it has no belertzia (sorry spelling!!) should be more advertised as this was raised as a potential concern pre arriving and may indeed put some people off isiting but with the knowledge the island is clear they may be more inclined to visit." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Mumbo Island review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"What a paradise! A totally relaxing atmosphere but still plenty of opportunity to be active; we loved the kayaking and snorkelling and doing nothing!!

Also enjoyed the buffet approach, which gave you more control over portion- size." See all these reviews: 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Twickenham

"Mumbo, third time"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"this was our third trip to Mumbo for 4 days r&r after working.

It was a lovely as ever, calm. relaxing and a great place to chill-out. the staff are excellent, warm and hospitable. The food was very good indeed and much enjoyed when we strolled in from snorkelling, reading or just snoozing in the hammock.

Third time must say it all!" See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
Cambridgeshire

"Island life - perfect"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2008
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Hippo
UK

"Mumbo Island review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"On to Kayak Africa and Mumbo island which was extremely special indeed, as all the venues were for their individual reasons.

Ema, Pam and their staff all made us most welcome. Our very comfortable tent was just as the picture had shown us, sat on a platform, on stilts, overhanging the rock face with the waves splashing below.

Kayaking was great fun and to snorkel in the clear fresh water was amazing. Such pretty fish and we were privileged to see two otters swimming around. Walking on the various walks through the small beautiful island was really interesting and with only ourselves and the few other guests, it was idyllic.

From the food and brilliant sunsets to the bucket showers and eco friendly toilets, it was superb. It only goes to prove that we do no need all our modern conveniences and that we can manage without electricity!
" See all these reviews: 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-9 of 9
100%
9 reviews of Mumbo Island by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
9
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Malawi

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Malawi.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Shore of Lake Malawi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pumulani

Pumulani

Beside the lakeshore, Pumulani is a smart, beach retreat. It's owned by Robin Pope Safaris, from Zambia, and perfect for a few relaxing nights after a safari.


92% (24 reviews)
Chintheche Inn

Chintheche Inn

A warm, welcoming beach lodge on the western shore of Lake Malawi, Chintheche Inn offers simple but comfortable accommodation, and a wide range of activities, from watersports to cultural excursions.


86% (7 reviews)
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat is a large, family friendly lodge located on a stunning beach on the southern lakeshore of Lake Malawi.


95% (4 reviews)
Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach Lodge is situated on the northern shores of Lake Malawi and has one of the very few private beaches in Malawi


100% (1 review)
Blue Zebra Island Lodge

Blue Zebra

Blue Zebra is a simple and affordable beach lodge with lots of character, which is popular with expats and ever increasingly with international visitors.


100% (1 review)
Domwe Island

Domwe Island

Kayak Africa's Domwe Island in Lake Malawi


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa