This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr M from Twickenham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Zambia and Malawi revisited

Zambia and 1 other country between 14 Sep 2009 and 30 Sep 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was excellent and very much enjoyed.

Everything worked well and the trip was tailormade for us in a sensitive and thoughtful manner, thanks to Anna who really knows her clients and their preferences. Definitely to be recommended"

Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika adventure"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"very well run and efficient. friendly helpful and knowledgeable staff. comfortable with good food. excellent animal viewing. loved the microlite flight, it was a real highlight.

we asked to visit the local village and the school which tafika supports and this wa arranged. tafika really is part of the local community and plays a crucial role in education and employment."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chikoko Tree Camp

Chikoko Tree Camp

"Chikoko tree camp hot- spot"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"loved it. remote with no roads so walking safaris only. as it was very hot by midday walking was done in the early morning and late afternoon. somehow walking brings the bush a lot closer and not just literally.

we asked to see the kitchen and it is marvellous that such quality food is cooked with these simple facilities. The guiding was careful and really excellent, thanks to Cameron. the only comment is that the rooms were a bit airless and stuffy but otherwise we were so glad to have followed advice to add this to our trip."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

"Mumbo, third time"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"this was our third trip to Mumbo for 4 days r&r after working.

It was a lovely as ever, calm. relaxing and a great place to chill-out. the staff are excellent, warm and hospitable. The food was very good indeed and much enjoyed when we strolled in from snorkelling, reading or just snoozing in the hammock.

Third time must say it all!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

The whole trip

Malawi between 18 Sep 2007 and 2 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Marvellous trip and Wilderness Safaris deserve great praise. They were efficient, friendly and welcoming. Their staff are of the highest quality and excellent drivers. They took great pains to make sure all went well. Our 2 drivers, Mike and John were knowledgeable and thoughtful. We could not have asked for better.

The only thing that could be improved is the choice of vehicle. We had a Toyota landcruiser first and this was fine. However, 2 long journies in a Landrover was tough as the seating is cramped and really uncomfortable. We think the landrovers should be pensioned off and replaced now! All round this was a wonderful experience and we would recommend the trip, without hesitation.

Expert Africa were very helpful , knowledgeable and efficient. A pleasure to deal with. Thanks from us all...we'll be back."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mvuu Wilderness Lodge

Mvuu Wilderness Lodge

"Wonderful experience at Mvuu Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2007
"Wonderful accomodation in sophisticated tents right in the heart of the park. Couteous and delightful staff in eco-friendly lodge. Knowledgeable guides and warm hospitality. We really did not want to leave.

A nice touch was having our laundry done as part of the package. We would go back there in a heartbeat. The animals, including elephants, were very close and great attention was paid to safety and respecting that this was their home."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ku Chawe Inn

Ku Chawe Inn

"Zomba and Ku Chawe Inn"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"The Inn has been taken over and is now run by a government organisation.

The location is beautiful with commanding views but isolated from the town. The accomodation was good but lacked facilities such as loungers, chairs on our balcony and no pool which would have been an advantage. The food was reasonable but the service was glacially slow. We waited 1 hour+ for our meals with the exception of the very good breakfast buffet.

Would not recommend this Inn and they really need to improve the service standards."
Poor
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Image alt

Own Arrangements

"Marvellous Mumbo Island"

7 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"We had 2 days of absolute rest, relaxation and great hospitality in paradise. The 45 minute boat trip took us to the small island where eco-tourism is shown at it's best. We loved the tented accomodation, the deck with hammock overlooking Lake Malawi and the gracious hospitality.

The staff were superb and the food excellent. We swam, snorkelled and kyaked and could have stayed for ages. Small number of guests and everyone dining at the same table made for good conversation. Some of our party pulled their mattresses onto the deck of their cabin and slept beneath the amazing cannopy of stars. It was hard to tear ourselves away. Dont go here if you want night life. There is no electricity so night came early. Wonderful experience."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Kayak Africa

"Danforth Lodge Cape McClear"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"We had to spend our last night here as Mumbo Island was full but it turned out to be a real bonus and made the transfer to Lilongwe airport much easier in the morning. Beautifully appointed on the shore of Lake Malawi with the most gracious hospitality given by Michelle and her excellent staff.

We felt like the most welcome and honoured guests. In spite of our protests, the staff rose early to provide a lovely breakfast and to see us off. We would return with great joy anytime and would have liked to spend much longer there. This is a real gem."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team