This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Kilburn

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

28

Excursions taken

0

An amazing second trip to Namibia

Namibia between 23 Aug 2019 and 5 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our second visit to Namibia and every bit as good as the first with spectacular scenery and a very high standard of accommodation.

Peter, our guide/ driver was excellent and added to our experience. The activities were varied and we saw more wildlife than expected. Kolmanskop was excellent but the tour to Elisabeth Bay was an unnecessary add on in our view. We had a very uninspiring guide (Helmut) and would have enjoyed more time at Kolmanskop instead. Peter picked up our frustration with the guide but it wasn’t appropriate for him to do anything at the time.

We are already thinking about another trip!"

Feedback response

We are delighted that these travellers had such a successful trip. This said we understand that the Elizabeth Bay trip wasn't quite as successful as we would have expected. Unfortunately the usual guide was unavailable for their trip and the stand-in wasn't up to the standard we expect. We try very hard to ensure the trips and extras we offer as high quality and add to our travellers trip experience.

Arranged By Tom Morris


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Ideal First Night Stop"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"A great rural location overlooking the lights of Windhoek with comfortable individual cabins and friendly service.

River Crossing was the perfect first night stop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Great stay and Trans Kalahari Walk "

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2019
"A very enjoyable stay with very comfortable accommodation in a private reserve with many antelope. The 16 km walk feels like an achievement across the desert and is worth it for the lovely Dunes camp overnight but the game viewing on the walk is modest.

We did see our first Aardwolf on the evening drive! Like many Namibian lodges, the main course tends to be red meat/ game and there is no choice. We asked for an alternative but didn’t get a response at the table, so beware, you need to request the dinner menu at check in."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Amazing location on the brink of the Canyon"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"A unique location with wonderful views over the canyon; their slogan “on the edge of eternity” is very apt!

The day trip into the canyon is a must; a scary road at times but excellent vehicle and guide. The rim walks are also great and imagine trekking down and staying overnight in the canyon would be fantastic, if you have the time. Beware we had some strong winds so warm clothing is essential outside the summer months. Ear plugs are provided in the rooms, due to the roaring wind!

There is a surprising amount of wildlife in the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"A unique stay at The Rock"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"As soon as I read about Eagles Nest, I wanted to stay there and the reality exceeded expectations!

Our room, The Rock, is built literally around a rock and combines creative design with comfort. It is like being in a Western!

The Desert Inn provides excellent food with generous helpings, choice and friendly service. It is just 15 minutes drive from the famous wild horses and we saw a foal! It is a great location to visit Lüderitz/ Kolmanskop but we were sorry not to have longer at Eagles Nest itself to enjoy the location and do some of the walking trails on the property."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"The Perfect Finale at Wolwedans"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"A spectacular location, excellent guides, high quality of service and food and good choice of activities. 5* all round and an excellent finale to our amazing trip.

More wildlife than we were expecting, many oryx sightings from the room and jackal, cape fox and polecat all seen whilst walking to the main lodge! We recommend the day drive to experience the different aspects of the Namib Rand, the walk with San guides and horse- riding for a different way to experience this unique environment; all included."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Return to Kichaka- in the green

Tanzania between 29 Apr 2016 and 7 May 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Comfortable night in Serena Hotel Dar"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2016
"Traffic is bad so took an hour to reach but a comfortable oasis on arrival.

Staff were very supportive about our lost ( fortunately only delayed ) baggage."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

"Return to Kichaka- in the green"

7 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2016
"We very rarely revisit places but we came back after just 7 months to experience green Africa, which is testament to the very special experience that Moli and Noelle have created. It's certainly a myth that you don't see animals at this time of year, as we had great animal sightings and also flowers, butterflies and a completely different impression of Africa. Being the only guests in Ruaha was a true privilege and surveying the expansive wilderness from Kichaka's new home up high was like looking over a lost world.

This is a very special safari experience; completely immersive and unique. Thank you Moli and Noelle and all the team."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Slipway

The Slipway

"Old world charm on the waterfront"

1 night Arrived 7 May 2016
"Lovely location overlooking the sea with good shops and restaurants attached but well over an hour from the airport in the busy traffic- just 20 minutes after midnight!

We enjoyed dinner overlooking the sea and found the staff very friendly. Rooms are comfortable rather than luxurious but overall there is old world charm and would recommend for a relaxing day."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Excellent Trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 5 Sep 2015 and 18 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything we hoped for!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Comfortable and friendly stay"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"Gave us just what we wanted for a two night stay and well situated for giraffe sanctuary, elephant orphanage and Karen Blixen House- highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

"Beyond Unique!"

7 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Operating in a remote part of Ruaha, this is a special wilderness experience. Four nights at base camp and three nights fly camping were a perfect mix for us. We enjoyed walking four/ five hours each morning and evening game drives; a great combination. Game viewing was excellent and Moli is an inspirational guide.

Noelle is an excellent hostess and we enjoyed the food and their company. All in all outstanding; we want to go back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"A Rare Return Visit"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"We don't often revisit places but we fell in love with Chole Mjini five years ago. We enjoyed our return visit just as much.

Everything was as we remembered; the smell of frangipani on arrival; the dhow sailing; tree house living; good island food and relaxing activities. Anne and Jean are welcoming hosts and their passion for Chole is infectious."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Fantastic trip to Tanzania

Tanzania and 1 other country between 18 Sep 2010 and 2 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Brilliant ; one of the best holidays we've
ever had . Beho Beho and Chole Mjini
are two of the best places we've ever
stayed anywhere . Overall a great combination
of sea and safari , luxury and outdoor life .

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No contine as you are ! Expert Africa seems
to have a good reputation with the camps .
Continue offering the breadth of choice you do
including places like Chole Mjini .
We're keen on Zimbabwe next !!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho - a luxury home on safari"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2010
"Beho Beho was very special ; luxury and comfort
but with the personal touches of a much loved
home . A quality experience in every detail and
charming hosts .
Excellent game viewing and varied terrain with
top calibre guides . Could have stayed longer
and hope to return ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Great stay at Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2010
"A good balance with Beho Beho with different
terrain and the river bringing a new dimension .
Highlight was two nights fly camping.
Great service and friendly people ; charming new managers
who are working hard to make their mark .
Dedicated guide for the whole stay provided
a tailored programme . Good game viewing
especially lion ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping

"Blown away by fly camping at Sand Rivers"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"One night lakeside ; one night river bank. ; two
great but different locations with all the sights
and sounds of the bush ! Comfortable but
authentic with excellent food and service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"See previous feedback on Sand Rivers"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"See previous [Ed: These travellers had two separate stays at Sand Rivers, either side of a 2-night fly-camp. See below for their comments on the camp.]]"
Excellent
Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

"Chole Mjini: an amazing experience"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"We loved this, from the moment we landed and
walked through the Frangipani trees to our
beautiful tree house. We enjoyed experiencing
Anne's vision for the lodge and the community .
It was the perfect place to relax . Highlights
were the monitor lizards walking through camp,
swimming in the mangrove creek , sailing
an outrigger and dinner in the ruins .
We would love to go back !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Island luxury at Pole Pole"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2010
"The food is exceptional and the staff are charming. The
rooms are spacious , luxurious and beautifully
appointed.

It was a very comfortable end to the holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"We needed a room overnight in transit.
It took us over an hour to get to it through
traffic on Friday night which felt far too
long after two flights . They are clearly well
organised for people in transit and gave us
an early breakfast but we never saw it in the
light and would have been better much nearer
the airport."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

My Oct 2009 trip

Malawi between 2 Oct 2009 and 13 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip which exceeded our expectations.

We loved Malawi and the friendliness of the people. Also it was very interesting to see more of everyday life and the country on the transfers between lodges. Also the small numbers of tourists enhanced the experience.

Suggestions for improvements:

I think you deliver what you set out to; real expertise on Africa. Wilderness are very efficient and have excellent people, which makes the experience really special.

We will be travelling with you again; the question is where next?!."

Ku Chawe Inn

Ku Chawe Inn

"Ku Chawe Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Very friendly and helpful staff; a really good place to start the holiday."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mvuu Wilderness Lodge

Mvuu Wilderness Lodge

"Mvuu Wilderness Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Perfect- a really special place. Loved watching all the wildlife from the terrace of the lodge.

Really well run and thoughtful planning of programmes to ensure everyone got variety eg we had a sundowner cruise just for us on our third night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Danforth Lodge, Malawi (this camp has since closed)

"Danforth Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"We had an afternoon, overnight and moring on Mufasa and sailed to the opposite shore of the lake, which was good sailing and very enjoyable and we were well entertained.

Howard and MIchelle were oustanding hosts; a great combination of first class facilities and staying in someone's home."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

"Mumbo Island review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2009
"What a paradise! A totally relaxing atmosphere but still plenty of opportunity to be active; we loved the kayaking and snorkelling and doing nothing!!

Also enjoyed the buffet approach, which gave you more control over portion- size."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

An excellent holiday in Namibia

Namibia between 20 Sep 2007 and 3 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved the country and landscape and would like to go back to do more camping and discover new areas."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Kulala Wilderness Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Enjoyable stay at Kulala"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"Jimmy was an excellent guide with a big personality; Petronella was a good manager.

The scenic flight from Kulala to Swakopmund was a lovely surprise and a real highlight of the trip. All the pilots were great and go out of their way to make the flying an experience in itself."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Haven in Swakopmund!"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Sam is a first class and charming host; quietly organising you whilst giving you a lot of information on the town.

We attended 2 wine-tastings and found them very informative and pleasurable.

He made our stay in Swakopmund special and we would definitely go back."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Damaraland Camping Trail

"Definitely the highlight of our trip."

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2007
"Ernst was an experienced guide who shared his obvious passion for the country in a very sincere manner. We loved fly camping and sleeping under the stars.

We had the opportunity to track and observe desert elephant on foot, which was very special.

We did however lose half a day of activity through battery failure on the vehicle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Palmwag Rhino Camp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"We enjoyed the rhino tracking but were surprised to be in a group of 2 vehicles and 12 people.

Enjoyed the company of other guests at the camp - 2 parties were also with Expert Africa!

We did find Chris, the camp manager knowledgeable and a big personality but also over-bearing and too dominant."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava tented camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2007
"Cameron and Wendy said the camp was a home and they definitely created a homely atmosphere, which we enjoyed.

The gap between morning visits to Etosha and the start of the afternoon drive was very short. I think it could be extended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okanjima Afrocat foundation"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"Despite having booked in January, we were told at Palmweg that we were being moved from the Bush camp to the main camp. On arrival at Okanjima this was confirmed but no explanation was offered, despite our asking and we would like to know why this happened.

However we found the main camp garden and setting a real oasis and enjoyed our stay. The guides were all very committed and we enjoyed seeing the cheetah and leopard."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team