This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

110 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

36% success

Leopard

18% success

Cheetah

9% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

90% success

Spotted Hyena

71% success

Zebra

61% success

Elephant

54% success

Meerkat

50% success

Brown Hyena

27% success

Wildebeest

17% success

Showing 1-10 of 110
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Desert Rhino Camp "

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2022
"We drove from Sesfontein to the meeting point for Desert Rhino Camp en route we saw 5 Giraffe, numerous Zebra & Springbok roadside. We were met by our guide William and after a drink and snack he drove us to the camp seeing 1 Giraffe on our way. The Camp was very nice and we had a lovely tent. Very quite only 1 other group of 5 ladies staying there.

William took myself & husband for a sundowner drive and then we came back and had a brief chat with the Save the Rhino guys who would be out trekking with us the following day. We were then driven out along with the other ladies for a fabulous BBQ bush dinner. The staff were incredible here. They introduced dinner every night with not only their fabulous singing but watching them describe the dinner menu in English & Local was like watching a show in a theatre. Was truly spectacular and something we have never witnessed before on our travels.

The 2 of us set off the following morning along with our guide William in search of the desert adapted black rhino. After about 4 hours of hard driving the SRT team who were in another vehicle told us they had found 2 coming towards us in the distance. We got out and followed the team on foot a little way. The 2 rhino were in the very far distance but to be honest you needed binoculars to see them. We watched for a few minutes and they then ran off.

We were told that they had unfortunately smelt our vehicle which made them turn away. So we were unlucky not to have the experience of seeing them up close. Very disappointed! We then had a nice picnic lunch and a further 5 hour hard drive back to camp where no more rhino sightings occurred. We did see 3 giraffe, some springbok and a jackal.

We were told upon arrival back we were now the only 2 guests staying at the camp for the next 2 days which was very nice and they set a lovely table up for us around the pool with a delicious dinner.

The following day we opted out of another day of Rhino trekking as we found it too hard going the previous day driving for nearly 10 hours (extremely bumpy with the wind in your face) without seeing much. Instead we relaxed around the pool and enjoyed their wonderful hospitality.

William drove us the following morning back to our car (1 1/2 hours). He was a superb guide and it was just unfortunate that we didn't get to see rhino's closer, nevertheless overall it was a great experience to stay here." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2022
"Excellent camp with amazing staff.

The rhino tracking is great (assuming they don't run away immediately).

The staff at the camp is amazing and will do whatever is needed to give you a great stay.

Comment on private guide at Desert Rhino Camp:

Excellent guiding with a lot of patience (needed here).

We spent multiple days looking for the elephants and the guide was always willing to help and do his best (despite lack of luck right up until the end)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Desert Rhino Camp review lovely location "

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"Great scenery and comfortable, fairly basic camp.

Good rhino sighting.

Saw meerkats.

Springs near camp dry now so longer drives to find wildlife." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Ms & Mr P
USA

"A Thrilling Experience"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Desert Rhino Camp is a "must" if considering Damaraland. Being able to track and approach black rhinos on foot with the Save the Rhino Trust was truly a remarkable experience.

We immediately connected with our personable and knowledgeable guide Rechie, who always went above and beyond to make our time memorable. As my "birthday present," Rechie gifted us not one, but two black rhino sightings and approaches in one day. And after learning of a sighting of two lionesses (which we had previously tried to locate), Rechie quickly whisked us from camp just before our departing flight to see them; such a thrilling experience!

While the accommodations are not as luxurious as some of the other Wilderness lodges, we found the tents to be very comfortable, cozy, and perfectly situated!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Transcendental experience"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2020
"The Grootberg Pass is potentially treacherous for drivers with limited/no experience on gravel roads. It surprised us that the speed limit was as high as it was, considering the condition of the roads (gravel/narrow/sheer/high). We would advise drivers to be more cautious, and not drive at the speed that was recommended. We saw an over turned truck among other vehicles that had come off the road and fallen down into the valleys. (We are experienced drivers who have driven on many gravel roads with divets/pot holes/ corrugations etcetera). We would recommend a 5 hour drive, rather than 4 hour from Ongava to Desert Rhino - not only due to road conditions, but also to enjoy the amazing scenery. The drive was so scenic, we would have liked to have stopped more - but we were already taking longer than anticipated...

We were met at the gate by the staff member who was expecting us. Our guide William was waiting patiently for us. He welcomed us and told us not to worry about the fact that we were late (we had apologized as we felt guilty, we hate being tardy, we had left with plenty of time to spare...). We enjoyed the beer, water and food that he had provided. The drive to the camp was great, there were a few animals spotted along the way.

Upon arrival, we had a lovely greeting. We loved the singing and the refreshing towel and beverage. We had a very warm welcome and a great introduction to the camp. The grounds were fantastic! The accommodation was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the lounge and the pool. The service of drinks by the pool, and the entertainment/friendliness of the staff was appreciated. We had fun playing Scrabble with Selena! The setting of accommodation provided a real sense of being part of nature and being able to enjoy it to the fullest potential.

Our game drives were unreal. Seeing the rhinoceroses from such a close distance was spectacular. It is wonderful that you provide the opportunity to go out with the trackers and be part of the important conservation projects and research that you conduct. We thoroughly enjoyed the information talks that the guides provided whilst we were out. We had a Chinese visitor and his interpreter on our stay and it was great to see the staff have such patience and enthusiasm as conversations were translated for his benefit - it was a nice feeling to have see multiple languages being spoken and shared.

The sundowners with drinks and nibbles out in the amazing setting was incredible. It was really unbelievable - actually brought tears to my eyes (that's me - Tania - 'the girl'), my husband was also in awe and describes it as transcendental!

William was a thoughtful and wonderful guide. He knew that we enjoyed Gin, so he brought along some special local Gin on our second night. He also knew that we enjoyed the stargazing and laid out the blanket for us, provided an incredible torch, and knowledge!

The food was wonderful, fresh and tasty. We appreciated the fresh fruit, and the cookies that were available all of the time.

The Barman/Artist was very friendly and efficient. He was polite and it was lovely having a chat with him.

Highly recommend this location - please make time." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2019
"I loved this staff who exudes joy!

Our guide and rhino trackers were the best!

Cannot say enough about our good experience here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Great stay at Desert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2019
"Really nice to be in a remote location. Be prepared for an African massage, but it's well worth it. We did expect to be doing more tracking on foot, as we did on a previous visit some years ago, but I guess the abilities of other clients in camp sometimes determine the agenda.

Bons was an excellent guide and gave us a great time. His never ending enthusiasm and passion was so good to see. We were reasonably sure that during our stay we would see rhino, but seeing them on every drive was incredible. We were hopeful that we might see elephants, and although we thought it extremely unlikely, also hoped that we might see lions. We had extremely good sightings of them all, and in such an amazing environment.

Bons made our stay very memorable and enjoyable. He was always keen to get out before daybreak and last to get back in camp. It was great to be able to maximise the time game viewing. It's well worth the effort to get up in time to see the sunrise. And for us, being able to spend time watching the elephants and not rush back to camp or some shade for lunch made it even more special. Our shade from the vehicle was plenty…we can eat any time, but we can’t watch desert elephants any time!

The camp was nicely laid out with very comfortable Meru-style tents proving that rustic can feel luxurious. All the staff were very attentive and friendly, and Selma was always so happy and full of beans." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

9 sightings

Mr Vokes
Birmingham

"My thoughts on this Safari experience "

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"This camp was the highlight of my holiday. Expert guiding in a desert environment which was stunning. This though is not an experience for those who are on a first time safari and want to see lots of animals. Although I was incredibly lucky in my experiences—see below, there are few animals given the desert, and they are hard to locate.
I had the great fortune to see desert adapted lion on two separate consecutive drives—different animals as well. Again another drive produced five black rhino, including the opportunity to approach them on foot. Desert elephant were also seen and included a close encounter at a water hole.
The camp and the team which run it deserve praise; particularly as it is in the middle of nowhere. It is also the case that guests may experience some cultural aspects of the local people." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our guide Bons was superb. Very nice helpful staff. Management was superb. Nice touches like hot water bottles when the temperature dropped.

Trying really hard." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"Great Rhino tracking camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"What an experience - a luxury tent set in a lunar landscape.

Our guide Moses was excellent and, together with a great team of trackers, we were lucky enough to get close, on foot, to a black Rhino (we made sure that we were even closer to our Safari Truck!).

Great game drives, great staff and food and we ended up with a camp fire meal out in the bush." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 110
97%
110 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
94
15
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (442 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (136 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (116 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (111 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (106 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (92 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa