This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

116 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

29% success

Leopard

11% success

Cheetah

11% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

89% success

Zebra

54% success

Elephant

53% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Brown Hyena

27% success

Meerkat

22% success

Wildebeest

12% success

Showing 1-10 of 116
Duration
Arrival date
Tom and Amanda
US

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"Probably our best experience on the trip, location very remote, stunning scenery, felt we were all alone everyday, very bumpy ride but well worth it, rhino elusive but extra special when found, staff excellent, well run, room was basic but very clean and comfortable, private," See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Mrs W
Bath

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2023
"One of the highlights of our trip. Stunning scenery, remote location, and extremely friendly and welcoming staff. The drives are very bumpy but the vehicles are pretty comfortable and cope with it well. We had unseasonably cold weather when we were there but were provided with thick ponchos and hot water bottles for the drives (and in our bed at night). We stayed 3 nights. On the first morning we found a Rhino after about 5 hours. Approaching on foot was very exhilarating and not for the faint hearted!

We stopped for an enjoyable picnic lunch under a shady tree before driving about 2 hours back to the lodge. The second morning we found a Rhino earlier in the drive which meant we returned to the lodge for lunch.

The food was very good and the organisation and all the staff were extremely professional. Our only mild criticism is that almost everyone only stays for 2 nights so we visited the ‘Scorpion Club’ twice.
I won’t remark on the tents etc as I understand the camp is closing for rebuilding in the first half of 2024.

Note: directions say after turning right onto the C43 you follow the road for 9km and turn left. You might want to note in your directions that that this turning is reassuringly sign posted Desert Rhino Camp. There is nothing at the meeting site so it’s useful to know that if you are going to arrive early you can call in at Palmwag Lodge 3km south of the Desert Rhino turning for a drink and toilet stop!" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Mr A.
Fontainebleau

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2023
"Wonderful staff... the best !
So dedicated to pleasing their guests
Arrival and departure songs really performed with deep genuine commitment
Lodge charming with old style tents. True atmosphere
We also enjoyed very much the diner bbq" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2023
"Our favourite camp of the three we visited. Had everything and the staff were amazing.

Bons, our guide, was one of the best ever. Great fun, like the rest of the team, knowledgeable and super professional.

We happened to be the only residents after the first night. The whole camp turned out for my birthday party with cake, singing and dancing.

We saw five fabulous desert adapted black rhinos , including a calf. All looking extremely healthy and well despite the harsh conditions.

We enjoyed the long days in the desert hugely. The scenery is just breathtaking." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

RMN and AT
London

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2022
"It was hard to choose which of the places we stayed was the most enjoyable, but this was one of the two best. The lodge is "old school" whereas all the others were newer and flashier. Nothing wrong with old school though when the location is so magnificent, but despite the very friendly staff we felt the overall management was in need of some tightening. But everyone comes here to track totally wild black rhino which are virtually extinct in Africa.

I had assumed the rhino wore collars and could be located easily and electronically. Nothing of the sort. The trackers leave at first light ahead of the guests who leave at 6.30 hoping for news of a sighting. The scenery of the unfenced reserve is very varied but all of it spectacular. We got news of a sighting after about an hour, but caught only a very fleeting glimpse of a nervous animal disappearing into thick cover. Big disappointment. However the next sighting was altogether much more thrilling, lasted for at least 30 minutes or more and we ended up, out of the vehicle, on top of a high ridge standing above a very irritated rhino who clearly could not get to us, but had a very good attempt at a charge, getting to within 2-3 metres of one of the more intrepid trackers and then snorting and scuffing the ground in irritation as he could not reach us. The trackers drivers and guides were all so excited at this close encounter, as were we. Eventually he gave up and wandered off as we drove on, until we spotted what looked like a large grey rock lying in the shade, which turned out to be a female rhino with a calf no more than a month old and which had not been seen and recorded by the trackers. We got a very good view of them trotting off into cover, and again the trackers were delighted. Total: four rhino so far.

We stopped for lunch in the shade of a big tree and then set off again, to be rewarded with a fifth rhino and a good close sighting. We were out of camp for almost 10 hours, covered 140 kms on. very rough stony tracks and eventually learned that 5 in a day was a record for the year so far. Altogether a thrilling day. The next day: not a single rhino, but we saw a different part of the beautiful reserve and plenty of other animals.

Our policy is always to spend three nights in a place if at all possible and I would highly recommend that for everyone." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs Z
Saratoga

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"Even though it was remote and the environment very dry, we were privileged to see an incredible amount of game. Black Rhinos, an unexpected sighting of a pride of lions (that no one had seen for quite some time), elephants, and desert zebras. Our guide was excellent and all the guides communicated well with each other.

Our only negative (which left us a bit unnerved at the beginning), was the first day when we were to leave, the Jeep would not start. With help of others, they got it started and we were off. Not too long afterwards, as we were viewing game, he turned off the engine and the Jeep wouldn’t start (in the middle of no where). Fortunately, other jeeps were not too far away. They pushed us to get it started.

Long story shortened, they finally called the camp to get a new battery, and after that we didn’t have any problems, but it left us feeling a lack of confidence in the maintenance of the vehicles in the remote bush. John did speak to the person in charge at the camp about our concern of the maintenance of the vehicles, as it leaves a terrible impression on the guests.

But all in all, we loved Desert Rhino Camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
London

"Desert Rhino Camp "

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2022
"We drove from Sesfontein to the meeting point for Desert Rhino Camp en route we saw 5 Giraffe, numerous Zebra & Springbok roadside. We were met by our guide William and after a drink and snack he drove us to the camp seeing 1 Giraffe on our way. The Camp was very nice and we had a lovely tent. Very quite only 1 other group of 5 ladies staying there.

William took myself & husband for a sundowner drive and then we came back and had a brief chat with the Save the Rhino guys who would be out trekking with us the following day. We were then driven out along with the other ladies for a fabulous BBQ bush dinner. The staff were incredible here. They introduced dinner every night with not only their fabulous singing but watching them describe the dinner menu in English & Local was like watching a show in a theatre. Was truly spectacular and something we have never witnessed before on our travels.

The 2 of us set off the following morning along with our guide William in search of the desert adapted black rhino. After about 4 hours of hard driving the SRT team who were in another vehicle told us they had found 2 coming towards us in the distance. We got out and followed the team on foot a little way. The 2 rhino were in the very far distance but to be honest you needed binoculars to see them. We watched for a few minutes and they then ran off.

We were told that they had unfortunately smelt our vehicle which made them turn away. So we were unlucky not to have the experience of seeing them up close. Very disappointed! We then had a nice picnic lunch and a further 5 hour hard drive back to camp where no more rhino sightings occurred. We did see 3 giraffe, some springbok and a jackal.

We were told upon arrival back we were now the only 2 guests staying at the camp for the next 2 days which was very nice and they set a lovely table up for us around the pool with a delicious dinner.

The following day we opted out of another day of Rhino trekking as we found it too hard going the previous day driving for nearly 10 hours (extremely bumpy with the wind in your face) without seeing much. Instead we relaxed around the pool and enjoyed their wonderful hospitality.

William drove us the following morning back to our car (1 1/2 hours). He was a superb guide and it was just unfortunate that we didn't get to see rhino's closer, nevertheless overall it was a great experience to stay here." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2022
"Excellent camp with amazing staff.

The rhino tracking is great (assuming they don't run away immediately).

The staff at the camp is amazing and will do whatever is needed to give you a great stay.

Comment on private guide at Desert Rhino Camp:

Excellent guiding with a lot of patience (needed here).

We spent multiple days looking for the elephants and the guide was always willing to help and do his best (despite lack of luck right up until the end)" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Desert Rhino Camp review lovely location "

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"Great scenery and comfortable, fairly basic camp.

Good rhino sighting.

Saw meerkats.

Springs near camp dry now so longer drives to find wildlife." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Ms & Mr P
USA

"A Thrilling Experience"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"Desert Rhino Camp is a "must" if considering Damaraland. Being able to track and approach black rhinos on foot with the Save the Rhino Trust was truly a remarkable experience.

We immediately connected with our personable and knowledgeable guide Rechie, who always went above and beyond to make our time memorable. As my "birthday present," Rechie gifted us not one, but two black rhino sightings and approaches in one day. And after learning of a sighting of two lionesses (which we had previously tried to locate), Rechie quickly whisked us from camp just before our departing flight to see them; such a thrilling experience!

While the accommodations are not as luxurious as some of the other Wilderness lodges, we found the tents to be very comfortable, cozy, and perfectly situated!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 116
97%
116 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
15
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (469 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (152 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (121 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (114 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (114 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


96% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa