This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

106 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

20% success

Cheetah

10% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Spotted Hyena

77% success

Zebra

59% success

Elephant

50% success

Brown Hyena

29% success

Wildebeest

18% success

Showing 1-10 of 106
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Perth

"Transcendental experience"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2020
"The Grootberg Pass is potentially treacherous for drivers with limited/no experience on gravel roads. It surprised us that the speed limit was as high as it was, considering the condition of the roads (gravel/narrow/sheer/high). We would advise drivers to be more cautious, and not drive at the speed that was recommended. We saw an over turned truck among other vehicles that had come off the road and fallen down into the valleys. (We are experienced drivers who have driven on many gravel roads with divets/pot holes/ corrugations etcetera). We would recommend a 5 hour drive, rather than 4 hour from Ongava to Desert Rhino - not only due to road conditions, but also to enjoy the amazing scenery. The drive was so scenic, we would have liked to have stopped more - but we were already taking longer than anticipated...

We were met at the gate by the staff member who was expecting us. Our guide William was waiting patiently for us. He welcomed us and told us not to worry about the fact that we were late (we had apologized as we felt guilty, we hate being tardy, we had left with plenty of time to spare...). We enjoyed the beer, water and food that he had provided. The drive to the camp was great, there were a few animals spotted along the way.

Upon arrival, we had a lovely greeting. We loved the singing and the refreshing towel and beverage. We had a very warm welcome and a great introduction to the camp. The grounds were fantastic! The accommodation was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the lounge and the pool. The service of drinks by the pool, and the entertainment/friendliness of the staff was appreciated. We had fun playing Scrabble with Selena! The setting of accommodation provided a real sense of being part of nature and being able to enjoy it to the fullest potential.

Our game drives were unreal. Seeing the rhinoceroses from such a close distance was spectacular. It is wonderful that you provide the opportunity to go out with the trackers and be part of the important conservation projects and research that you conduct. We thoroughly enjoyed the information talks that the guides provided whilst we were out. We had a Chinese visitor and his interpreter on our stay and it was great to see the staff have such patience and enthusiasm as conversations were translated for his benefit - it was a nice feeling to have see multiple languages being spoken and shared.

The sundowners with drinks and nibbles out in the amazing setting was incredible. It was really unbelievable - actually brought tears to my eyes (that's me - Tania - 'the girl'), my husband was also in awe and describes it as transcendental!

William was a thoughtful and wonderful guide. He knew that we enjoyed Gin, so he brought along some special local Gin on our second night. He also knew that we enjoyed the stargazing and laid out the blanket for us, provided an incredible torch, and knowledge!

The food was wonderful, fresh and tasty. We appreciated the fresh fruit, and the cookies that were available all of the time.

The Barman/Artist was very friendly and efficient. He was polite and it was lovely having a chat with him.

Highly recommend this location - please make time. " See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs SH
Seattle

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2019
"I loved this staff who exudes joy!

Our guide and rhino trackers were the best!

Cannot say enough about our good experience here." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Great stay at Desert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2019
"Really nice to be in a remote location. Be prepared for an African massage, but it's well worth it. We did expect to be doing more tracking on foot, as we did on a previous visit some years ago, but I guess the abilities of other clients in camp sometimes determine the agenda.

Bons was an excellent guide and gave us a great time. His never ending enthusiasm and passion was so good to see. We were reasonably sure that during our stay we would see rhino, but seeing them on every drive was incredible. We were hopeful that we might see elephants, and although we thought it extremely unlikely, also hoped that we might see lions. We had extremely good sightings of them all, and in such an amazing environment.

Bons made our stay very memorable and enjoyable. He was always keen to get out before daybreak and last to get back in camp. It was great to be able to maximise the time game viewing. It's well worth the effort to get up in time to see the sunrise. And for us, being able to spend time watching the elephants and not rush back to camp or some shade for lunch made it even more special. Our shade from the vehicle was plenty…we can eat any time, but we can’t watch desert elephants any time!

The camp was nicely laid out with very comfortable Meru-style tents proving that rustic can feel luxurious. All the staff were very attentive and friendly, and Selma was always so happy and full of beans. " See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

9 sightings

Mr V
Birmingham

"My thoughts on this Safari experience "

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2019
"This camp was the highlight of my holiday. Expert guiding in a desert environment which was stunning. This though is not an experience for those who are on a first time safari and want to see lots of animals. Although I was incredibly lucky in my experiences—see below, there are few animals given the desert, and they are hard to locate.
I had the great fortune to see desert adapted lion on two separate consecutive drives—different animals as well. Again another drive produced five black rhino, including the opportunity to approach them on foot. Desert elephant were also seen and included a close encounter at a water hole.
The camp and the team which run it deserve praise; particularly as it is in the middle of nowhere. It is also the case that guests may experience some cultural aspects of the local people." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

7 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our guide Bons was superb. Very nice helpful staff. Management was superb. Nice touches like hot water bottles when the temperature dropped.

Trying really hard." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"Great Rhino tracking camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"What an experience - a luxury tent set in a lunar landscape.

Our guide Moses was excellent and, together with a great team of trackers, we were lucky enough to get close, on foot, to a black Rhino (we made sure that we were even closer to our Safari Truck!).

Great game drives, great staff and food and we ended up with a camp fire meal out in the bush. " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Remote comfort"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"This camp, of all the places we stayed in Namibia, has a truly remote feeling, which was one of its major highlights. At no point during our stay and activities, did we see any other sign of human occupation. Which makes it all the more sad that path lights are on all night, and we also had to ask for the electrical generator to be turned off on the first night. At least we could then hear the hyenas calling outside the tent later that night! Another highlight.

Another highlight is of course the rhino-tracking. We had had previous experience of tracking black rhino on foot some 30 years earlier, but it was still thrilling to have the opportunity once again, even though this time it was a much more organised, almost choreographed, encounter. As we were staying two days we had two Rhino hunts, and were successful on both occasions. However, it was sad to see Rhinos dehorned for their own protection. Something that not all Namibian guides appear to agree with.

There was a water shortage during our stay, and water was actually being brought in by tanker. We are unhappy that camps in such dry places feel it necessary to have flush toilets.

The camp itself is well laid out, with comfortable tents, and a pleasant central eating/sitting area. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, and gave us a great sung farewell when we left.
" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Good rhino and elephant sightings but little "

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"Good rhino sightings and desert-adapted elephants but little else. Birdlife non-existent.

Eventually saw hyena den after pushing repeatedly to go having been told about it by camp manager. Guide v resistant to requests and needed clothes that didn’t show his large belly and private parts when he bent over. Lots of hard driving to get anywhere.

Camp v good and food OK but not startlingly good." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"This was one of the highlights of our trip. The camp is fantastic. Not the high levels of luxury that we had elsewhere but that is not a criticism. In that setting what was provided was incredible . The rooms were really lovely. We had a fabulous guide who judged us perfectly - we had impromptu drinks at sunset in the middle of nowhere to watch the sunset and a walk to the BBQ learning all the time about the local wildlife etc. We saw rhinos and mountain lions ( the lions were the first seen in five months )

It felt really good to be part of the conservation project and not just tourists. ( although that is of course what we were!!)

The service was great . " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Southampton

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2019
"Fantastic accommodation and very attentive staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 106
97%
106 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
14
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa