This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge
Huab Lodge

Reviews of Huab Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Huab Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs S
France

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Nov 2017
"This was our third visit to Huab Lodge and it is a good place to chill out for a few days - especially relaxing in the hot spring. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is very good and the ambiance great.

We had very enjoyable morning walks and sundowner drives, though guiding is down a notch or two since Jan and Suzi are no longer in residence at Huab for most of the time. To be fair, Jan is a hard act to follow. There is not a lot of game - but the scenery is beautiful.

We were surprised to have to pay for drinks and laundry although the tour notes and the voucher said that they were included. The policy seems to have changed since our last visit when these were included. We have fond memories of Jan introducing the wines that he had selected to accompany dinner but now you must buy a small individual carafe of a 'red' or 'white' wine.

Overall Huab Lodge remains a very nice place in spite of these changes. " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Glasgow

"a bumpy road to paradise"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Huab was a lovely place to stay, the staff were very helpful and friendly and very informative about the area. Game drives weren't expensive and Herbert our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and environment. Also I had a great massage which helped amazingly my stiff back after the car journey.

The main downside of the cabins was the lack of air conditioning which in 35+c heat made the daytime pretty uncomfortable and impossible for doing anything.

Our rental vehicle was a VW combi and the the 30 plus km drive into the lodge was our first real experience just how challenging the tracks in Namibia can be. It made the gravel main roads seem good. " See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
New York

"Really cool spot"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2017
"Our family loved Huab lodge.

The spot is beautiful and gives you the chance to go out on lovely self-directive walks/hikes which is great if much of the rest of your trip involves lots of safari drives.

Collective dinners around a common table were a fun chance to meet other travelers. Staff was very warm and attentive to our needs/wants.

This is a particularly good spot to take younger kids." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
Michigan

"nice rooms and drive"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Q & Mr B
USA

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"Huab lodge consists of several lovely buildings, in a lovely location. Unfortunately the managing staff currently in place is not up to the standards reported for the original owners.

The junior staff, the dining room and cleaning staff are all excellent, very polite, helpful and professional. However, the caretakers and the lead guide present for our stay could benefit from supervision and/or training. The guide leading the sunrise walk brought three large dogs who ran wildly through the bush and shrubs while the guide made futile attempts to call them back. We were also strongly discouraged from asking any questions or stopping to look at birds that were not a a part of the established patter. The guide was knowledgable but inflexible and did not set a welcoming tone.

The other disappointment was the lack of any large game such as elephants.

The guide books report elephants to be common, but apparently this has not been true for years." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Milky Way at Huab"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"Wonderful stay - happy staff, knowledgable guiding, great rooms and food. Eating round a big table always a delight with the conversation flowing free.

With no moon the stars were amazing although we needed someone to tell us what we were looking at.

I think we enjoyed the service so much because it was such a contrast to Okaukuejo and Dolomite" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
Kent

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2015
"Food and service really good. Enjoyed the evenings around the communal dining table talking to the staff and other guests.

Very impressed by the cooking which included local African dishes which were introduced to the guests each evening by the catering staff in their own native language - a chance for us to experience the click dialect." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Our third visit to Huab"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2015
"We were very much looking forward to returning to Huab,and its peace and quiet, and Jan's great knowledge of the plants and animals, so it was rather sad to find that he and Susie were away as Jan was due to have an operation.

However, the accommodation is really lovely with balconies overlooking the dry river bed, and the reception area attractive and welcoming as are the staff ." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms FJ
SW London

"Nothing special at Huab Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"Didn't particularly enjoy stay here. It was very crowded - the leaflet said only 16 people could stay, there were 26 guests when we were there - not good for everyone eating at the same time on the same table (with an additional child table).

The 4 of us were shown into one room initially, I said we had booked two rooms (I had already given them our accommodation vouchers). Another villa was found for us but away from the main lodges - no lock on door - only a rock to shut door, tiny bed, very tired bed linen, rusty basin etc. I asked to be nearer the children but was told we booked last (apparently??) so no space - just seemed a bit disorganised.

Our eventual room OK but pretty shabby and not nearly as nice as the other ones. For the second and final night we were asked if we wanted to move as someone had left but felt it not really worth transporting all our stuff. Also felt things such as drinks were pushed on you, e.g. if you asked for wine, you were given a bottle, not a glass.

You were not told price for laundry for example. Would be better if someone (not a guide) was in charge of welcoming visitors and explaining the system." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Huab Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"Comfortable spacious bungalows which stayed cool throughout the heat of the day. Excellent food accompanied by Jan’s choice of wines each evening. Amazing hospitality from Suzi and Jan, assisted by Brigitte and Salome and the three very friendly dogs.

Morning and afternoon drives did not produce large numbers of game though there were plenty of oryx about but the scenery and atmosphere were worth it. If you choose to take an early morning walk you will be accompanied by at least one of the dogs, but don’t be late as they will be chomping at the bit as departure time approaches!

We had a problem with a malfunctioning shower head which was replaced promptly while we were on our morning drive - amazing that previous guests had not reported it!

We followed the route from Outjo advised on the lodge’s website which saved us about 70km compared to the C39 and was on good gravel roads.

The usual board basis includes activities but, as we were arriving late afternoon and would be departing in the early morning we opted to pay for them separately. This may also be a good option for those not wishing to walk at 6am or go on two drives per day which did have an element of repetition.
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 28
90%
28 reviews of Huab Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
9
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa