This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A from Glasgow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2017 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 6 Sep 2017 and 28 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a 30 day trip encompassing Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Capetown A bit of an epic adventure with lots of fantastic memories.

All the organisation worked like clockwork and I was very pleased at the helpfulness that Justin demonstrated in trying to pull this trip together to suit our needs. With such a lengthy itinerary and so many stops on the route, it could have been no easy task to get all the pieces to fit together. The first law of sales is that people buy from people (no matter what Trump says).

Justin made it easy to do business with Expert Africa and though the trip was way over budget, we still went ahead as I has trust that he had pulled an appropriate trip together for us. We weren't disappointed."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop a hidden gem"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"We were only one night at Hilltop but the manager/owner and staff couldn't have been nicer and the rooms were excellent for a B&B.

It's a little bit out of the way and hidden but there are a couple of restaurants at the foot of the hill that served good foor and wine at a reasonable price.

Thanks goodness we had a satnav to find it though."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo - "

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"We stayed at Fans Indongo with the idea of visiting the cheetah reserve. Unfortunately we didn't realise that driving from Windhoek you pass the cut-off for the reserve many miles before you reach the Lodge.

Thinking there must be a route directly from the lodge, we ignored the cut-off and carried on to the lodge. By the time we got there it was going to be too late to visit the cheetah reserve and we were travelling north the following morning and couldn't afford the time to double back the 60km or so back to the reserve, so we didn't get to see the cheetahs there.

The lodge was good but unusually they charged for everything form water to a cup of coffee. Just something epope should eb aware of that didn't happen elsewhere."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma "

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"The main building and lodges are stunning and we enjoyed our stay here. With so much wildlife about the hotel don't allow you to walk back and forth from your lodge on your own day or evening which was a bit unusual. Many places don't like you walking in the evening but this was the only place with a daytime curfew also.

The game drives were not very exciting and expensive. Possibly geared more to a gentle wildlife experience, than really searching out the animals. . If we'd known how easy it was to navigate to the water holes in Etosha Park we would have taken our own vehicle for at least one of the drives."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"This is a nice neat looking campus at the southern edge of the park. The watering hole was great and we had good viewings of rhino and elephant at night.

The organisation of the lodges is very bureaucratic and clumsy though. We didn't get off to a great start by having a power cut in our lodges that took a while to fix. Then no hot water for most of the time. The buffet was really poor and the admin staff tried to switch the deposit money you have to leave with them from exchangeable SA Rand for Namib dollars.Cheeky!

You have to complete an inventory of everything in the room when you check in and again when you leave to say nothing is missing to get you deposit back. Hilariously the inventory list also included itself (the inventory list) as an item to be ticked as being present. This was a definite low point on the accommodation front but it was only one night and the wildlife made up for a lot of the shortcomings."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"a bumpy road to paradise"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"Huab was a lovely place to stay, the staff were very helpful and friendly and very informative about the area. Game drives weren't expensive and Herbert our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and environment. Also I had a great massage which helped amazingly my stiff back after the car journey.

The main downside of the cabins was the lack of air conditioning which in 35+c heat made the daytime pretty uncomfortable and impossible for doing anything.

Our rental vehicle was a VW combi and the the 30 plus km drive into the lodge was our first real experience just how challenging the tracks in Namibia can be. It made the gravel main roads seem good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Welcome to planet Spitzkoppen"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"From the buggy ride through the hills to the lodges, the stunning pool area, the beautiful fluid rock formations to the mighty Spitzkoppe itself, this place was a magical alien world.

The lodge had several activities to participate in, as well as guided walk and vehicle guided tours there were bikes to use to go on your own explorations and walking routes around the reserve.

The staff were very helpful and the only suggestion we had was for the main eating area to have a bit more atmosphere. With such beautiful surroundings it felt a bit starkly lit and quiet. But that is a minor suggestion in this great place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"civilisation in a nutshell "

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"We only stayed at Sandfields for one night.

It is hidden away in an unassuming neighbourhood but is a hidden gem. The guest house itself was lovely, the rooms were great and very well kitted out with everything from tea and coffee faciltiies to international plug sockets and much else.

Our host had also booked us a restaurant for dinner and couldn't be more helpful with everything we needed. A great little find."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"magic in the desert "

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Kulala Lodge was an amazing experience. The visits to the Dunes was a unique experience and the Lodge itself was excellent, with friendly staff and great food.

We slept out under the stars on one of the evenings which was amazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"wonderful wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Great camp, fantastic scenery and game drives. Pity no aircon in the rooms and a board walk from the rooms to the main building would have been a big plus.

Otherwise an amazing place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"a fleeting stop"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"We only stayed here for a very brief overnight as we had to leave at 3am.

Rooms etc were all first class, pity we didnt have more time to enjoy it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Victoria Falls Safari Club

Victoria Falls Safari Club

"Victoria Falls Safari Club review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"The Safari Club is a great venue with a great location at a watering hole.

Staff were very helpful and professional and the rooms were excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

"Great stay at the aptly named elephant camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2017
"The camp had a good atmosphere and the place was truly well named. We were awakened in the middle of the night by two adult elephants and a baby grazing happily right outside our chalet. Amazing!

There was a good atmosphere in the camp and the activities, particularly the river cruise on the Chobe were amazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"An unexpected wonder "

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"The drive to Hwange through the Park was at first quite uninspiring, through an open cast coal mine, then mile after mile of quite burnt out scrub land. After a long drive through the park reaching the camp was a great reward and the warmth of the reception by staff was very welcoming. The chalets were very good but in the heat of the day, would really have benefited from some form of aircon.

Adam,our guide and host did a fantastic job. we had an amazing walking safari, tracking lion several unforgettable encounters with elephants, including a heart-stopping close encounter from behind some fallen tree stumps with an older bull and then a younger more nervous one. And our last night dinner in the bush (a birthday treat) lit by candles was a true highlight of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team