This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange

Reviews of Camp Hwange

Wildlife sightings and reviews

83 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Hwange and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 31 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Hwange.
Lion

87% success

Leopard

35% success

Cheetah

59% success

Wild dog

33% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

90% success

Giraffe

90% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Eland

52% success

Roan antelope

52% success

Sable antelope

46% success

Wildebeest

32% success

Brown Hyena

15% success

Pangolin

4% success

Oryx

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 83
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Brockham

"Camp Hwange review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2022
"Exceeded expectations. Great wildlife sightings.

Very well run camp." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Michelle & Peter
LDN

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2022
"Camp Hwange is a lovely authentic lodge in the north of Hwange National Park, with a focus on walking and vehicle safaris. The service at the lodge was excellent, both food within the lodge and the guiding and tracking on safari.

We were lucky to visit the lodge when it was quiet and had a professional guide, a learner guide and a tracker looking after us, often with us as the only guests in the vehicle.

Walking safaris were excellent with Moses, we always felt very safe even when approaching lions and a lion kill on foot! For us the best thing about Camp Hwange was the lack of other lodges or vehicles nearby - we would frequently be at sightings on our own. Whilst this meant it was slightly harder to tick off the wildlife (as so few other guides were searching for them and sharing information), it felt more wild than many other places and rewarding when we did find the animals. I would definitely recommend this lodge, particularly to those experienced in safari holidays who are looking for a slightly different experience.

Note there is no phone signal at all in the lodge or this area of the national park. If you ask, the team will let you check staff WiFi occasionally. We were told WiFi may be brought in for guests soon." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

The Golds
UK

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"Camp Hwange is in our opinion set in the most beautiful area and back drop.
It is a magical space for relaxation and chatting around the stunning fire pit.
Shayne is arguably the best camp hosts you could possibly come across.
Her warmth and attention to detail and her authenticity is world class.
John was an outstanding guide and his wisdom of the country and nature is second to none!
A great team and great experience" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr B & Ms N
Georgia

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2022
"Camp Hwange is our Africa home away from home.

The guiding here is superb and after 4 trips here we will always return. The perfect camp? We think so!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Carmine Bee-eaters
UK

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 19 May 2022
"Camp Hwange is a superbly put together property in a great location. It has the feel of a traditional tented camp but with just that little bit of extra comfort like solar hot showers and solid polished floors. Views to the waterhole from every tent and a monoscope in the bar for a closeup meant great game spotting oportunities even from your bed.

The staff were very well trained, attentive and efficient. Everything worked like clockwork under the guidance of superb camp manager Shane.

The guiding was exceptional and we really enjoyed the emphasis on opportunities to go walking every day. Our guide Moses was a fount of knowledge in whom we had complete confidence while crawling up to a herd of Buffalo and approaching mature bull Elephants. We were also lucky enough to be accompanied most days by a spotter as well as trainee guide Savannah who's already great knowledge was a tribute to her and the training sh'e had in her first year.

We had some excellent unusual sightings including an African Rock Python, a Porcupine, several Bat Eared Foxes and two sightings of African Wild Cat - all firsts for me on my eighth sub-saharan safari.

Early mornings and nights were cold, especially on the vehicles so if you are going in May or colder months take plenty of warm clothes. The ponchos provided on the vehicles were a vital piece of equipment.

It's along five hours or so drive back to Victoria Falls from the camp so I'd suggest spending the night before your flight home in the Falls.

We could only have enjoyed our stay at Camp Hwange more if we'd seen Wild Dog and Leopard, but that just gives us a good reason to return, not that we'd need one." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2022
"Although we have been to Zimbabwe previously this was our first trip at this time of year. We knew it would be cold but were unprepared for just how cold. We had taken a jacket and sweater as recommended but needed a much thicker jacket, hat, gloves and scarf as it was extremely cold in the morning. The camp was first class. Shane and her team made us most welcome, our accommodation was comfortable and the food appetising. The guiding with Washington and Moses was some of the very best we have had in Africa. Walking safaris were a first for us and tracking a bull elephant at close quarters was an experience that will live with us forever. The game was thinner on the ground which was to be expected at this time of year but we did have some memorable sightings including 8 hyena feasting on a rather smelly elephant carcass." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Mr S.
Clontarf

"Camp Hwange review"

5 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2022
"This was our second visit to Camp Hwange and it was great to have Washington greet us again at the airstrip.

Again the team did a great job of ensuring a fabulous visit, in a very friendly and efficient manner. With “work to do” each day we had great engagement with the animals we watched and schedules became flexible during the day as we reacted to what we found.

We especially enjoyed seeing and worrying about the lone lion cub and finally seeing it reunite with its parents.

Walking with Dave and Washington was excellent and their enthusiasm and excitement really makes the experience.

Private guiding in Hwange
Dave’s energy and enthusiasm is infectious. Being out in the bush with him is hugely informative and fun. He was totally focused on giving us the best experience and searching for tracks to find certain wildlife.

Schedules went out of the window as we happily followed what we found, and learned much more about the animals’ activities, environment and social interaction.

It was also great to see how good a manager, trainer and mentor Dave is to his team.

We also had some great walking at Camp Hwange - always meaningful tracking for certain animals and feeling totally safe. We had some great experiences with some elephants on a couple of walks.

Would very much recommend time with Dave and Washington" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

The Ss
Shrewsbury

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2022
"We loved this camp and the wonderful team working there ( Moses, Savanna et al)
We were lucky to have it to ourselves for some of our time

We experienced freak weather that washed out a couple of drives but gave us incredible thunder and lightening in the bush as compensation.

The strange weather and the long grasses combined so that our sightings were very limited ( no predators other than hyaena on last day ) but nevertheless we loved the place as the green landscape was wonderful and Moses was such an insightful guide

We would like to return but at a different time of year.

Private guiding at Camp Hwange: Excellent

Moses is a legend and deserves to be. Having a tracker and also a trainee guide on board with us meant that we saw all that was feasible.

The walks were exciting and we got close to an elephant even if the buffalo eluded us.

We had a 7 year old with us and really appreciated that the team assessed her on her own terms rather than apply a crude age limit. As a result, we were able to walk as a family and felt very safe and privileged doing so." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Thor & Deb
BC Canada

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2021
"Another permanent camp, so perhaps more plush but less charming than the small, temporary camps. It was the largest of the five camps we visited. Very pleasant with excellent food and friendly and helpful staff.

Moses and Robert were our guides, and we had a wonderful time with them. learned so much about local culture, as well as the flora and fauna--and we laughed a whole lot. We also did some walking safaris with the most amazing tracker whose name I'm embarrassed to have forgotten.

We heard the leopards mating, very close by, and he tried to lead us to them on foot, but they ended up enjoying their afterglow out of sight of us. Our Land Cruisers at other camps were entirely roof-less. Here they had the typical canvas roof. That was great for the scorching sun, but ultimately I prefer the roof-less variant." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R
Florida

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2021
"Overall this was probably the worst of the four camps that we were in.

They did have us on real long game drives but saw few animals. Our guide was into birds and pointed out quite a few.

They had no wifi for the quests but staff did have wifi so once in our tent I could not communicate with my daughter" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 83
96%
83 reviews of Camp Hwange by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
73
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (36 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (32 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


96% (24 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (19 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 11km Dete Vlei, the recently refurbished Sable Valley is in a private reserve with its own entrance into Hwange National Park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa