This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide

Reviews of The Hide

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Hide and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Hide.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

67% success

Wild dog

67% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

75% success

Hippo

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Georgia US

"Fabulous Safari at The Hide"

4 nights Arrived 11 May 2019
"Our first African safari could not have been better. We stayed at The Hide for four nights and felt like we had become family during that time. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating.

We dined quite well each day, beginning with delivery of coffee and tea to our tent at 5:15 each morning, then a good breakfast before heading out for our morning game drive, a mid-morning coffee break, lunch back at camp, afternoon tea before the afternoon game drive, stopping for sundowners, then a wonderful evening meal where all the guests could discuss their day. One of us being a vegetarian presented no problems whatsoever!

We loved that we had our same guide for our whole time at The Hide, from picking us up at Main Camp on arrival, all our game drives, and returning us to Main Camp when it was time to say goodbye. Innocent was absolutely wonderful!

The camp facilities were all very nice. Spending time down in the hide is a must. Our tent was comfortable and had everything we needed. Su, the manager, did a fabulous job with everything.

We definitely recommend a stay at The Hide!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms M & Mr M
Calgary

"Comfortable. lots of animals excellen guides "

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"This is a very comfortable & well-run lodge. The staff are helpful & the guides excellent. Dining is generally as a group although private dinners are readily provided. The huts are heavy duty tents with thatched roofs but seems like a regular room as there is concrete floor & interior toilet & shower as well as outdoor shower & bath.

The feature is the actual "hides" - underground viewing areas very close to the waterhole - the main one connected by short tunnel to the lodge. Here you are within a couple of meters of elephants when they come to drink & bathe & also attracts many other animals (zebra, giraffe, baboons, wildebeest etc).

Game drives were frequent, ell run with plenty of animal sightings." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Gwent

"Good"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"We had a very good stay at The Hide, but none of it was what I would call exceptional.

The rooms were good, the staff excellent, the food was not much better than average, and the guide was good but, again, not exceptional.

Overall a very nice stay, but I would not return." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"The Hide review "

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"A fabulous lodge. Great staff, food and facilities.

We chose it for the hides and were not disappointed- amazingly close to elephants and game at the waterhole. We were extremely fortunate to see wild dogs bring down a kudu in the vlei directly in front of camp during breakfast one day. An amazing experience, and the opportunity to see all the other animals and birds that came to clean up the carcass (vultures, spotted hyena etc).

We also hugely enjoyed the night drives, the only lodge on this trip that offered them.

Many thanks to Nicholas our terrific guide, Nick, Lindsay and Kim." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs S
France

"Wild dogs at The Hide"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2017
"This was our first visit to The Hide and we were very impressed. It is located on a private concession just outside the Hwange National Park - so one has the benefit of easy access to the park but also the possibility of night drives in the concession. We liked the option of a night drive after dinner. We found the activities very well organised and flexible - and in particular enjoyed the possibility to stay out longer on a drive and not be rushed back to camp too early.

We had an excellent guide (Sean Hind). One morning in the middle of breakfast (my birthday in fact) a pack of dogs appeared on the opposite side of the water hole and Sean said "let's jump in the vehicle and go after them". So we were off and followed them for a while before returning to finish our breakfast. I like that sort of spontaneity and flexibility which is missing in many camps.

The Hide goes on our list of places to return to again." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"The Hide: Excellent Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Very professionally run camp. The underground hide, at the end of a 25m tunnel from the breakfast table, gives a great perspective of the wildlife gathering around the waterhole. Excellent guiding by the owner Ian. We had great sightings of wild dogs, lions and much more. Fantastic place to see a very healthy population of elephants. Should have stayed longer to get the opportunity to stay at the tree house. An excuse to go back!" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Surrey

"The Hide review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Lovely camp. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Very knowledgeable guide, Daffy (sorry for the spelling !). Greatly helped improve our bird recognition.
We were lucky enough to see lions, cheetahs and sable here, all great sightings.
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here. Everyone made sure we were very well looked after.
The actual hide by the waterhole is a real bonus.
Slight drawback from the train noise at night, but it didn't really bother us." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 25 May 2017
"Setting. Brilliant. Beautiful water hole. Thatched tents hidden in a dense woodland. Underground hide by the water hole was great.

Tents - very nicely furnished with very delightful outside shower

Staff very efficient and welcoming in most cases

Food was really good with some great inventive combinations

Our guide was very good but not convinced the ability was consistent." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
WMD

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2017
"We found the camp to be exceptional in every respect, food service general atmosphere guiding were a credit to all the staff. Our stay was most enjoyable and we would recommend highly to every one." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr I & Mrs W
Dorset

"Just right at the end of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2016
"The Hide was the last of three lodges we stayed at in Hwange and it was a good one to end with.

It is very comfortable, the food is excellent and the location overlooking the waterhole very good. The staff are very welcoming and Leanne in particular went out of her way to ensure that our stay was a great experience. A special mention to Jo who bravely dealt with the scorpion that crawled into Annes trouser pocket!!! I would also commend the Lodge for arranging for the Leopard to visit the waterhole on our first evening there!

The pace is a little slower than the other two lodges which suited us as by this time on the trip we were beginning to feel the early mornings and long days. The guiding is of a good standard, however this is a less intense experience than other Lodges we visited and it would be disappointing if this was the only Lodge experienced in this amazing National Park." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 29
94%
29 reviews of The Hide by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
6
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa