This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide
The Hide

Reviews of The Hide

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Hide and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Hide.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

67% success

Wild dog

67% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

75% success

Hippo

75% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
B & G
California

"Deserves its high reputation"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2016
"We can see why The Hide has such a wonderful reputation. Great waterhole enhanced by the underground hide that allows you to get an up close and personal view of the animals. Friendly, relaxed, and personable staff.

One night the security guard knocked on our door to tell us to come out and get a glimpse of three honey badgers that were drinking from a water bowl next-door. We thought that was extremely thoughtful of him and seeing those honey badgers was a highlight.

We liked our guide, Fortune, who, among other things, got us the best cheetah sighting we have had in five trips to Africa." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"High marks for The Hide"

4 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"This was our 17th trip with Expert Africa (dating back to 2006); but it was somewhat different to most of our previous ones in that we had two family members with us making their first trip to Africa. We picked Hwange because of its proximity to our home in Livingstone and our wish for our guests to see the Victoria Falls on both sides. With EA's help we opted for The Hide, where we hadn't stayed previously, and we were delighted with the choice.

The Hide is an extremely well managed camp, one of the best in our experience. Meals are high quality with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables: we especially liked the fact that one evening the main course was traditional Zambian fare. The bar is well-stocked. The rooms are comfortable and the communal areas a delight, looking out onto a waterhole which attracts a wide range of animals. The highlight is the hide itself which puts one (underground) just feet away from elephants coming to drink.

There is a three activities per day rhythm to the camp (unusual in our experience), with a morning post-breakfast drive, an afternoon drive or walk and a post-dinner night drive on The Hide's concession. We found this balance to be very appealing.

Our guide, Ngozi, was excellent, personable and with a nice (again unusual) touch of stopping the vehicle and getting out of his seat to turn to his passengers when he had something important/lengthy to say about what we were seeing. He also was able to balance nicely the different interests among his passengers.

We were lucky enough to have good lion sightings on our first two days (including Jericho, former comrade-in-arms of the more well-known Cecil); super elephant and buffalo; serval, black-backed jackal, lesser genet and a whole host of herbivores. Best of all, perhaps, an aardvark. We also logged 84 bird species even though we diluted our usual birding focus for this trip: these included Secretary Bird, Kori Bustard, Ground-Hornbill, Ostrich with chicks, Pearl-spotted Owlet and a range of smaller raptors.

We can thoroughly recommend the Hide to first-time and experienced safari-goers alike." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"The Hide review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"Our third visit in the last seven years.

A very well run operation with good flexibility in offering choice to guests. They have two hides for close encounters with the wildlife. A big feature is a large pan in front of the main facilities which brings the wildlife almost into your room.

Having experienced many lodges and camps over many trips to Africa this pan with its size and location is probably the best front door waterhole/pan view we have come across. We visited at a good time of year when the wildlife was having to use the watering facilities as there had not been rain for several months and so there were only a few locations available for drinking. There will be times of the year when the availability of more natural water holes appear after rainfall and the game will stretch out over a wider area.

Rooms are typical of many camps.

Food is varied and of a good standard. (See also our previous comments on Kaingo Camp) .

Whilst The Hide has some "concessionary territory" where it can go off road much of the daily trips on the game drives is in the National Park area and there are restrictions on how much it is possible to stray away from the main tracks.

Nevertheless game viewing opportunities were good at this time of year." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
New York

"The Hide review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2015
"Very nice camp. The coffee delivered with the morning wake-up call was a great touch. Rooms excellent. A lot of elephant activity at waterhole each night. Definite advantages of a family-run camp.

The camp is adjacent to the Vic. Falls - Bulawayo railway line. Heard trains early each morning.

Disappointing lack of predators at time of visit." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M& Ms S
Derby

"The Hide review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"Nicely located within easy reach of various heavily frequented waterholes.

There is a train track along the boundary of the Hide's concession so you don't feel quite as isolated and away from civilisation as you might do in other camps.

Our guide Nicholas was great - very knowledgeable and fun to spend time with. The night drives were a lot of fun too and gave us a chance to see some of the nocturnal creatures.
Staff were friendly, food was very good.

Tents are comfortable, with both indoor and outdoor showers.

It's lovely to watch animals come to drink at the waterhole right outside your accommodation. Being able to watch the elephants from the underground hide was an amazing experience - drinking water only a few metres away from you." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr E & Mrs H
Botswana

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"We arrived at The Hide in time for tea. It is a splendid safari lodge. The facilities are excellent and likewise the food. A particularly nice touch was the fact that the managers, Ian and his wife Leanne, as well as the guides, took their meals with the guests.

As with Changa, we had a first class guide, Daffie. Although it was the wet season (in fact not very wet this year) there were plenty of animals, and again beautiful birds, in evidence. Many elephants came to The Hide's water hole on two of our three evenings (the third one being a full moon night, and not many animals were seen altogether). Other memorable encounters which we had were one and a half hours spent with two male lions one afternoon, observing a cape buffalo from close up, and successfully tracking down a cheetah and her juvenile offspring.

Wonderful! Also, The Hide's underground observation room, about 50 yards away from the main building made for a unique, albeit very safe, close encounter with a male elephant bull - an experience we shall never forget." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Co Durham

"Painted Dogs at the hidd"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"An excellent lodge in a superb location, this is one of the best places we have stayed, i only have 1 criticism; sometimes it can seem a tad too formal, but do not lat that put you off.

In 1 memorable morning we saw a pack of 17 wild dogs, 250 buffallo, and 100 Elephants; all from the Hide it'self." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Guildford

"The Hide review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2014
"Location next to waterhole gives wonderful and very close access to game. Staff friendly and very helpful, AMAZING food, brilliant guide.

Family of 5 and stayed at Tom’s Little Hide....loved it !!" See all these reviews: 5n in Mozambique; 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Somerset

"The Hide review"

4 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"The best part of our holiday.
The service and attention we had could not be faulted.
The game viewing was well planned and varied the guide knowledgeable and helpful.
Food is good and plentiful and surprisingly varied you don't go hungry.
One of the few places we would go back to our stay was too short!
I saw all the game I expected even a glimpse of the wild/coloured dogs." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The A family
Florida

"Amazing Safari at the Hide"

3 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2014
"Our Safari at the Hide was by far the highlight of our entire time in Africa. The property is absolutely beautiful. We stayed at Tom's Little Hide, and it is just wonderful. There are three large bedroom areas with beautiful indoor and outdoor showers, bath tubs, beds…there is even a plunge pool outside on the deck.

The service was 5 star. Ian and Leanne took excellent care of all our needs, large and small. They really went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. They also have daily laundry included and an area for wifi.

The food was amazing, the best we had in Africa by far. We had private dinning in Tom's Little Hide, the dining room was great, they served breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner, whatever we wanted. We also really enjoyed having dinner at main camp with everyone else. It was so nice to chat with the others and have a social evening.

Our guide, Mark Friend, was just incredible. He is so knowledgable about everything in the bush, from the smallest plant life to the largest animals (and how to handle a herd of buffalo standing a few feet from the jeep!). He is also very kind, funny and accommodating to all of our questions and needs (and there were many from the 6 of us!). We went on early morning hikes, late night drives, and everything in between. We saw so many amazing animals and enjoyed drinks and snacks at the watering hole at sunset with herds of zebra, giraffe and elephants. It was just beautiful.

They really take safety seriously and we appreciate that.

We want to come back to Zimbabwe just to go to the Hide - but for a longer stay next time." See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 29
94%
29 reviews of The Hide by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
6
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa