This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Georgia US

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

1

May 2019 Africa Trip

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 9 May 2019 and 21 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We knew we needed someone knowledgeable to help us with our first trip to Africa. Claire was fantastic! We were so pleased with all of her suggestions and everything she planned for us. Everything went exactly as planned and we had no concerns during our trip about our plans.

We’ve already passed Claire’s name along to a colleague and she is working with him and his wife now on their upcoming trip. We definitely want to return to Africa, probably as soon as next year, and will plan to contact Claire to see about helping us with that trip as well."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

"Batonka Guest Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2019
"We loved staying at Batonka Guest Lodge for our time at Victoria Falls. The location a bit outside of town was great for us. We took advantage of the taxi service and it worked perfectly. Our driver arranged on each occasion to return to pick us up at a specified time. The atmosphere of the Lodge and all the staff was very welcoming. We ate dinner there both nights and the meals and service were excellent. We highly recommend Batonka Guest Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ra-Ikane River Cruise

Ra-Ikane River Cruise

"Ra-Ikane River Cruise review"

10 May 2019 • All-day excursion

The river cruise was fabulous in all aspects. Very comfortable and professionally done. Sitting at our table aboard ship with snacks and wine while cruising down the river was a great experience. We had great wildlife sightings and a gorgeous sunset.
Excellent
The Hide

The Hide

"Fabulous Safari at The Hide"

4 nights Arrived 11 May 2019
"Our first African safari could not have been better. We stayed at The Hide for four nights and felt like we had become family during that time. The staff was so welcoming and accommodating.

We dined quite well each day, beginning with delivery of coffee and tea to our tent at 5:15 each morning, then a good breakfast before heading out for our morning game drive, a mid-morning coffee break, lunch back at camp, afternoon tea before the afternoon game drive, stopping for sundowners, then a wonderful evening meal where all the guests could discuss their day. One of us being a vegetarian presented no problems whatsoever!

We loved that we had our same guide for our whole time at The Hide, from picking us up at Main Camp on arrival, all our game drives, and returning us to Main Camp when it was time to say goodbye. Innocent was absolutely wonderful!

The camp facilities were all very nice. Spending time down in the hide is a must. Our tent was comfortable and had everything we needed. Su, the manager, did a fabulous job with everything.

We definitely recommend a stay at The Hide!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Amalinda Lodge

Amalinda Lodge

"Amazing place!"

3 nights Arrived 15 May 2019
"You wonder about this lodge as you are driving in and the road disappears and you continue driving up over the rock hill. On the other side a small building - the reception area - appears. Everything else is so cleverly constructed and tucked into the boulders, you don’t even see a “lodge”! Wow, it was all phenomenal.

The pool area was magnificent. We enjoyed lunch there each day. Our room was unbelievable - huge, with a giant bed, a sitting area, a shower carved into the boulders and a sunken tub.

Everyone on staff was excellent. We highly recommend having a massage!

Kevin, our guide, was great. He was amazing at spotting various birds and animals to point out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Constantia

The Constantia

"Will absolutely return to The Constantia "

3 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"Words cannot do justice to how wonderful The Constantia is.

When we first arrived, we were so tired that we didn’t really want to leave to have dinner so John immediately offered to prepare a cheese platter for us. It, along with the wine in our room, was exactly what we needed. John could also be counted on to offer fresh scones or a glass of wine in the afternoon!

Our room was beautiful and so well appointed. We felt so pampered every evening with our turndown service and everything prepared just so for us.

The cold breakfast buffet along with the prepared hot breakfast were delicious.

Tessa was terrific. She arranged a wine tour outing for us one day, along with making dinner reservations and having a driver to take us to dinner. For the day we took our rental car out, she prepared detailed directions and suggestions for our drive down to the Point. We enjoyed just sitting and chatting with her in the evening.

We look forward to our next trip so we can stay here again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team