This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Constantia
The Constantia
The Constantia
The Constantia

Reviews of The Constantia

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Constantia and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Bucks

"The Constantia Review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2020
"Overall an excellent boutique hotel.

However the housekeeping of the rooms was hit and miss lacking facecloths and top sheet on bed on our last night." See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mssrs RMN/AT
London

"Exceptional"

3 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2019
"This is one of the finest establishments we have ever stayed in; quite exceptionally well run and managed in every way and we could not fault it.

Restaurants were booked, taxis arranged to get to them, routes and maps given out, the car washed, tea brought to our room. We seem to have an upgrade to a pool room which was huge , with a large sunny terrace and part of a private pool. The gardens are wonderful and the whole place very quiet.

Very highly recommended" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 7n in Botswana; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Georgia US

"Will absolutely return to The Constantia "

3 nights Arrived 18 May 2019
"Words cannot do justice to how wonderful The Constantia is.

When we first arrived, we were so tired that we didn’t really want to leave to have dinner so John immediately offered to prepare a cheese platter for us. It, along with the wine in our room, was exactly what we needed. John could also be counted on to offer fresh scones or a glass of wine in the afternoon!

Our room was beautiful and so well appointed. We felt so pampered every evening with our turndown service and everything prepared just so for us.

The cold breakfast buffet along with the prepared hot breakfast were delicious.

Tessa was terrific. She arranged a wine tour outing for us one day, along with making dinner reservations and having a driver to take us to dinner. For the day we took our rental car out, she prepared detailed directions and suggestions for our drive down to the Point. We enjoyed just sitting and chatting with her in the evening.

We look forward to our next trip so we can stay here again!
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
France

"The Constantia review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2019
"Second stay and a wonderful place and staff. Very, very enjoyable." See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"The Last Word Constantia"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2018
"Our third visit here. As excellent as ever.

Advised on splendid restauraunts.

We hope to return!" See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa; 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
WestBridg

"Brilliant stay at The Constantia"

3 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2017
"Our stay at The Constantia set the bar incredibly high for the rest of our trip.

Firstly, and most importantly, all the staff we met (management, restaurant and room) were absolutely wonderful - hugely friendly, super-helpful and very genuine. It seemed as though all of them really enjoyed working in the hotel, which makes such a difference. They were attentive and thoughtful throughout our stay, especially so for Clare, given her pregnancy. They were also very good at reserving restaurant tables for us, and giving advice/help with booking attractions (Table Mountain Cableway, Robben Island, etc.). As an example, on our first morning, when the representative came to deliver our hire car, the reception manager not only offered me a coffee whilst we sorted out the paperwork, but offered exactly the same to the car hire employee - not necessary, but a touch that shows the generosity of spirit we experienced from all the staff at The Constantia.

The property is a delight - excellently maintained, and with gorgeous gardens and a nice, small pool (if chilly in late November!). The location was just right for us also - out of the main bustle of Cape Town, but in a very good location for getting into the heart of the city; down to Cape Point, etc.; and of course to the Constantia wineries just down the road. We feel sure that the hotel must have given us an upgrade to their best room, since our accommodation was outstanding - a huge space with lounge area and balcony overlooking the garden, and a splendid his'n'hers bathroom. The extra items in the room (nibbles, cookies, fruit, drinks) were great - a lovely additional touch.

We didn't have one of the light lunches on offer at The Constantia, so cannot comment on that, but breakfast almost obviated the need for lunch! The selection of tropical fruit, pastries, juices, etc., and the optional items on the hot menu, were delicious and almost never-ending. The French Toast will go down in our family history as a seminal breakfast.

Overall, just superb. Thank you so much!" See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Wales

"Best hotel ever"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"Simply fantastic service and comfort.

The staff are excellent whilst being friendly and helping you with everything you need for your holiday. thank you Tess and Sam. They chose restaurants for us and didn't let us down. The hotel driver was really good and was there when you finished your meal without you having to tell anybody.

This hotel is worth every penny you pay to stay there." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"The Constantia"

3 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"It is the 'Last Word' in relaxed luxury! As brilliant as last year and we will return as often as we can" See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed"

6 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"What more could this hotel offer? The whole staff seemed to be dedicated to our relaxation and enjoyment. Where else do you get introduced to the support staff (Thom and Beauty and another lady)on arrival?

Tess the manager advised and supported throughout, suggesting wonderful days out. ....and as for the huge bedroom/lounge/bathroom - I was exhausted walking from one end to the other! Lovely garden, great breakfasts.

Somehow we felt as if we had joined a caring family. So glad we spent 6 nights there.
" See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Cape Town Constantia - Superb"

3 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2016
"So well looked after especially the champagne in our breakfast picnic hamper for our trip to Cape Peninsular.

We were booked into fabulous restaurants each night." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 20
98%
20 reviews of The Constantia by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa