This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Constantia
The Constantia
The Constantia
The Constantia

Reviews of The Constantia

Wildlife sightings and reviews

20 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Constantia and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 20
Duration
Arrival date
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Extremely comfortable, spacious and efficient"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2016
"We spent only one night at The Constantia but really appreciated the ambience, the space in our room, the relaxing gardens and the welcoming and efficient service.

There is a casual pub-style restaurant next door (Pedlars) which provides good food with friendly service and a separate bar where people were watching sport on television.

We checked out in the morning, but as our flight was not until 9pm, we were able to use all the facilities of the hotel until the evening, including tea, a shower room and a comfortable lounge." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Ascoli Piceno

"It is the last word"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"From a purely selfish angle, I hesitate slightly to write about the Last Word, Constantia simply so that I can help keep it secret from everyone else! But that is too selfish and the owners and management deserve to have this little jewel promoted as much as possible.

Tess, Sam and the team provided a lovely four days in Cape Town within an environment of quiet professionalism, cleanliness, outstanding breakfasts, beautifully appointed rooms and wonderful, relaxing grounds that I would suggest would be difficult to beat anywhere in Cape Town (and I have been going there for nearly forty years).

I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending The Last Word - just don't spread it around too much!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"A Good Base - Lovely Gardens"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2015
"Our room (pool suite) was huge and again beautifully decorated in subtle colours with a light, airy feel. The gardens and pool area were ablaze with colours. Everywhere was well tended. As with the other Last Word hotels, breakfast was lovely as were our 'treats' at turn-down. The staff were friendly and helpful with plenty of suggestions of places to eat.

Conveniently, there is a restaurant next door - it does not pretend to fine dining, but it is more than adequate for a meal at the end of a busy day! Once again the complementary drinks system was much appreciated as was afternoon tea and cake - another pleasing touch of Last Word.

Despite being out of Cape Town, it's well placed for Kirstenbosch, THe Cape, Boulders Beach and the city itself.

Just one small suggestion - an umbrella to shelter under en route from our garden room to the dining room would have been appreciated on a rainy Sunday morning! A minor point, but one worth thinking about!" See all these reviews: 17n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"Stunning"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"The Constantia was the perfect start to our trip. It is an easy drive from Cape Town airport (20-25 mins max) and although a few miles form the centre of the city, it is another easy drive into the centre where all day parking at the V&A waterfront cost less than £4.

We were personally welcomed and shown to our room. The room itself was fantastic with attention to every detail taken care of. The contents of the free mini bar were top quality and the staff turned down the beds and left a small fresh pudding each evening whilst we were out. The room facilities were first class as was the hotel in general. There is a small pool and a lovely garden area, though we did not get to fully explore these.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food. The staff were attentive and offered recommendations as to restaurants and attractions. They even booked us the table mountain cable car via the computer in reception. There is an in house driver service which we used (free of charge) and we were driven to the restaurant of our choice.

This hotel is one of the very best I have stayed in across the world and comes very highly recommended." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
York

"The Constantia review"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2014
"Great place to chill out after arriving on the overnight flight.

Excellent service from the friendly staff.

Homely feel." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"Restful elegance at constant"

4 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2013
"A second stay at a Last word hotel has in no way disappointed!
Relaxed full board, opportunity to eat in house, attentive staff beautiful garden and surroundings.
The pool suite gave an added privacy and enjoyment
The compact nature of the hotel and the peace make for a very enjoyable experience" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Orpington

"The Constantia review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2013
"Very nice hotel and helpful staff. Good location for visiting the Cape Peninsula.

Conveniently next door to the Pedlars on the Bend Italian restaurant." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr P
Essex

"Excellent stay at the Constantia"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2013
"It was good to see the Bishopscourt team again.

The Constantia was just as wonderful as Bishopscourt. Excellent service, comfort and attention to detail. Lovely room. Staff helpful and welcoming. Treat you as if you are a visiting friend." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs T
Kent

"Superb. Upgraded to suite.Staff fantastic"

5 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2012
"Upgraded to suite with its own plunge pool. Magnificent gardens and pool. Breakfasts huge. Everyone most welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. We ate in one night by special arrangement and the food was lovely.

Tess organised a very interesting and moving visit to some of the aid projects in the townships. Inspiring work and optimism in the face of extreme difficulty. Another side to S Africa and one well worth seeing though hard to reconcile with ones own privilege." See all these reviews: 14n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"The Constantia review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2009
"Wow, what a place!!

We had some problems with the organization of our stay in Cape Town on arrival... , African Travel Canvas gave the wrong time of our arrival to the hotel, so we had to phone directly to arrange this with a long delay at the airport...., then they also failed to give the correct information to Budget, the car hire company, so that the Car hired was some three hours late arriving the next morning.. My partner had to actually phone Budget himself to organise this, as being Sunday, the rep was unavailable on her mobile, but we cannot fault the Constantia and its management as when we arrived the water in the hottub was still hot enough to enjoy along with the bottle of wine which accompanied it... In our opinion, ATC failed completely to give us any service apart from the delay at the airport which was resolved.... We felt there was no real support, and had to check our return to the airport personally with the hotel.

I must say however how professionally this was handled at the Constantia and I would gladly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone.

The room was pure luxury, bubble bath and a bottle of wine on arrival and the following night we were surprised with more amazing finds such as rose petals on the bed...., and a free bar.

Breakfast was very good and Beauty was very chatty and attentive to all your needs.

Hennie the driver was a plesure to talk and he gave us lots of very interesting insights on the politics of South Africa at the moment, and our trip with the Racontours Organization to the Wine Growing Estates on our last morning (with the wonderful guide Lisa) was a real delight...

All in all, A lovely experience." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 20
98%
20 reviews of The Constantia by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Acorn House

Acorn House

Against the awe-inspiring backdrop of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers a traditional guesthouse welcome in a historic setting.


97% (31 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa