This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs G from Orpington

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

My February 2019 North Mara trip

Kenya between 2 Feb 2019 and 10 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an excellent trip - with wonderful wildlife viewing and great birdwatching."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Convenient airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2019
"Very convenient for both the international and domestic airports.

It meant we were very quickly at our hotel after clearing the airport which was ideal as we took the BA day flight, so arrived late in Nairobi. We then left early the following morning after breakfast.

We returned to the hotel for dinner on our final evening and took the shuttle bus to the airport."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Serian

Serian

"Excellent safari at Serian Camp"

6 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"We spent 6 nights at the Serian Original camp. We started with an excellent game drive from the Mara North airstrip to the camp, seeing Cheetah on the way to lunch and our wonderful tent, which was close to the Mara river, with constant views and sounds of hippos. For the remainder of our stay our very experienced guide, Steve, was able to take us to the four corners of the Mara North Conservancy, ensuring we saw a wide variety of animals and many different birds. We had good views of lion, leopard and / or cheetah on most drives.

Our key reason for chosing the Serian camp was the private guide and vehicle, which as keen birdwatchers means we can stop to identify the small brown birds too. This also gives complete freedom about when and how long you spend on the game drives. We also spent a morning walking on the other side of the river in the camp's vehicle free area.

All staff were very helpful. The food was very good and varied. We usually ate breakfast on our morning drive, returning in time for lunch, with a couple of hours to relax before tea and cake, sundowners on our evening drive and back for dinner. Our tent was very spacious, with an adjacent bathroom."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Nov 2013 trip

South Africa between 3 Nov 2013 and 16 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our third trip to the Western Cape with Expert Africa.

All of the accommodation was of a very high quality and the logistics went as planned."

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Marine

The Marine

"The Marine review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2013
"Great views of whales from our bedroom window. The Seafood restaurant was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Constantia

The Constantia

"The Constantia review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2013
"Very nice hotel and helpful staff. Good location for visiting the Cape Peninsula.

Conveniently next door to the Pedlars on the Bend Italian restaurant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Cape Town and Langebaan

South Africa between 15 Apr 2012 and 24 Apr 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a very good trip mostly spent bird watching and walking. We were very lucky with the weather having only one cloudy day and sunshine for the rest of the time (although the wind on the west coast can be pretty strong). The birdwatching was still good in April, although many of the migrating birds had headed north for the European summer, and many of the fresh water ponds had dried up.

Both the Vineyard and Farmhouse Hotels were well situated, with sufficient parking. Views of both table mountain and teh Langebaan lagoon from the hotels created lots of photo opportunities

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team