This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs T from Glasgow

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

16

Excursions taken

0

nothing could have improved on it!

South Africa between 29 Nov 2013 and 22 Dec 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"we planned this as a special experience and we got what we expected!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

we really appreciate the flexibility that you show in allowing us to plan our own holiday yet drawing on your expert knowledge to advise and facilitate. This is a truly winning combination!"

The Constantia

The Constantia

"Restful elegance at constant"

4 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2013
"A second stay at a Last word hotel has in no way disappointed!
Relaxed full board, opportunity to eat in house, attentive staff beautiful garden and surroundings.
The pool suite gave an added privacy and enjoyment
The compact nature of the hotel and the peace make for a very enjoyable experience"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"This was excellent, a superb safari"

4 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2013
"Knowledgeable and very experienced rangers, great fun lovely accommodation.

very impressive organisation of the park a really good experience seeing a superb selection of animals sometimes at close quarters!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own arrangements

"multiple different B&B"

4 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2013
"cannot comment other than in general
as always we are impressed by the level of service that SA offers, we enjoyed a variety of places we would be happy to comment on individual places if needed
Avondrust Guest house Graaf Reinet
River lodge, Uppington
Hantam Huis Calvinia"
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Good wilderness experience at Kalahari tented"

1 night Arrived 11 Dec 2013
"good but not excellent
organisation not great, we were not expected when we arrived despite acknowledgement at Twee riviern that we were booked.

The accommodation was great but in comparison to Urikaruus not as good"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Good and expected standard for a big rest cam"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2013
"Big camp and the experience reflected this.

slight disappointment that our room had been given to other residents because we were later in arriving than them we therefore did not have a good view or as good as we might"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

"This was excellent!"

1 night Arrived 14 Dec 2013
"the camp warden Eric was attentive, proud of his accommodation and kept the place beautifully
superb situation despite that we saw very few animals here we would return at the drop of a hat!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Good experience at Augrabies"

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2013
"a big camp visited on a hot south african holiday weekend. The situation is superb more that we expected and the camp has a good shop and a very good independent restaurant"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements

"see previous comments"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2013
"as above"
Good
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"a 24 carat experience at Bushmans!"

4 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2013
"A second visit but lived up to and exceeded all expectations
wonderful, friendly and exceptionally helpful and attentive staff nothing too much trouble
beautiful surroundings, peaceful and stunning
Riverside suite was the jewel in the crown
Wonderful spa in superb open surroundings"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

september trip to cederberg and Namibia

South Africa and 1 other country between 8 Sep 2012 and 23 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"we really appreciate the approach of expert africa in allowing us the freedom to outline our wishes and make individual arrangements as needed but can rely 100% on your expertise in arranging venues and other aspects so efficiently. We like the personal touch and feel we know you well!

Gwyneth was able to help us when we had a problem with vehicle hire (see below) this was timely and efficient!

We have often recommended your services and have no hesitation whatsoever in planning to 'use'you for our next trip which is already formulating in our minds!

We also appreciate the extra information and notes, additional items you supply

The comprehensive feedback is appreciated as we know you continually monitor and check on venues and arrangements

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Please don't relax your careful 'quality control' which makes you such a reliable company and such good value for money!

Our only suggestion is that for (the presumably small number) guests who wish as we did to make driving part of our holiday and who want 4x4 vehicles you consider linking to one of the specialist 4x4 suppliers. Budget SA really did not come 'up to the mark ' in this respect.

They advertise 4x4 vehicles but then do not supply as expected...in our case we effectively were provided with a 'bakkie' from the truck hire division The trouble with this is they are not on site at the airport and when we had a problem with the vehicle allocated we had to await the truck hire manager to arrive and as you know he then was not very helpful in allowing an alternative vehicle!

Also the idea that vehicles for use in Namibia should have a double fuel tank was completely denied by both the car hire staff and the truck division manager (despite what I think is a statement on their website)"

Acorn House

Acorn House

"Acorn House -outstanding"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"Staff welcoming and very helpful

We decided to eat in and they laid a table and heated food we had bought in the local deli
spotless rooms and well appointed
Breakfast lived up to its high reputation"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Namakwa Mountain Retreat

"Mountain suites spectacular"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2012
"wonderful setting ,original and unique with wonderful vistas.

We went in spring to see the flowers which were marvellous and the suites are not built for the cold!! you need to take warm clothes
It would be good if additional heating were available in the mountain suites since the current provision is not adequate on a cold night. Electric blanket and hot waterbottle very welcome
good, wholesome and very tasty food
well marked local trails for walking lovely sitting area in central location and pool (not for us at the time we went!
lovely sundowner location (if not too cold!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"great place to see the canyon"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"Enjoyed our stay and freedom to explore canyon rim on our own. Guided excursions are extra Access road difficult without 4x4

Rooms are fairly stark but clean and well kept and in cool weather have no additional heating. The whole set up is more suited to hot weather.The wind at night is well known and the ear-plugs (provided) are necessary at times.

Really enjoyed an impromptu 'concert' by all the staff one evening after dinner

There appears to be a lack or consistent and visible management. We were not offered a welcome refreshment when others arriving that afternoon clearly were.Individual members of staff were outstanding...Charlie deserves a mention.

The wine list was poor many items missing...no Angusura bitters!

Lodge shop very poorly stocked and disappointing"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"We just loved it here!"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"We chose to stay in the eagles nest chalets which are 15 min drive from the main lodge Each one is private and unique

They are very well equipped and tastefully incorporated into the local landscape with wonderful vistas over the desert

We really enjoyed the option of braai packs, breakfast packs/platters allowing us complete independence and enjoyment of self catering without having to worry about supplies. Well stocked bar fridge and excellent facilities at the main lodge which can be used if desired.
well stocked and excellent lodge shop books, food and curios

Very carefully prepared information pack with a lot of interesting local area history

Excellent hiking and mountain biking trails with different levels of challenge

The current dining room is quite busy but there are plans to create a seperate dining area for Eagles nest guests to allow a quieter experience

Peit is present and available and very welcoming and helpful"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"comfortable and secure"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2012
"well appointed thoughtful decoration of rooms with individual secure parking and private entrance and sitting area
beautifully kept garden, pool available

functional welcome, warm but somewhat lacking in personal interaction, didnt detract from the overall experience

somewhat poorly organised in room facilities (plastic bag with one sachet coffee and one tea bag /tea coffee creamer etc per guest)

We were only there for one night
Breakfast was well served and presented in a homely way"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"We decided to visit Enjo nature farm in the Biedow valley not far from Bushman's kloof
This is a family run guest farm who were extremely friendly and welcoming.

There was a range of accommodation, from camping, rooms in the main building and individual chalets
We deliberately chose this for location and were aware that the facilities were simple, however everything one could need for a self catering stay was provided. we opted to cook our own food but could have joined in at the farm house if we had wanted to for evening meals.
The accommodation has been described as basic but with hot water, electricity bed linen and towels provided plus wood if needed for both Braai and internal fire and a very well equipped kitchen area we were very happy.
The owner, an ex pilot encourages chartered short flights over the cederberg area

the chalet was 450 rand per night"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2012
"expensive but excellent value for money and expense worth paying...didn't disappoint in anyway
very well looked after, excellent food and service
spa staff wonderful
guide helpful and informative
our wishes carefully attended to in every respect

really enjoyed trails which were well marked and maintained

only down side was we were unable to really make use of the suite due to the time of year and cool weather
as with so many venues in SA they are built for the heat!
Nevertheless the luxury of a fire lit for us each evening in our room was wonderful"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team