This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve


32°7’1.9"S 19°6’28.0"E

Reviews of Bushmans Kloof

Wildlife sightings and reviews

14 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bushmans Kloof and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bushmans Kloof .
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 14
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Wilderness or Wellness?"

5 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"We have given Bushman's an excellent rating because it is a truly beautiful lodge set in a stunning landscape. We were not put off with the offer of luxury as that is one of the reasons we chose it. However, we feel that while the owners aim for 5 star luxury, they fall short on the detail. It was a low occupancy week and therefore no real excuses.

Our beautiful cottage had curtains falling off the rails and a tap in the bathroom clearly seizing up and almost impossible to use. Maintenance was unable to repair it and had to order a replacement. A simple check between guests should have noted these faults. On our last morning the lodge wide ground sprinkler system had been reprogrammed for a camp schedule time change. It failed badly, no one checked and all the sprinklers came on full bore preventing us from leaving or returning to our room without a soaking.

Kitchen management and meal timing also fell well short of the 5 star aims. Constantly changing meal venues and clashes with a senior management meeting led to hiccups in service that should never have happened. We shared an exotic dinner event at a restored shepherds hut out in the reserve with the only other two guests at the lodge. It was a truly magical location and starlit evening but the chef cooked enough of all the offerings on the menu for an army then served it in a poorly lit place in the dining room where we could not see what we were eating. Moreover, the red meats were overcooked and too tough to cut. Overall the food was a disappointment with very small, barely noticeable daily changes to the dinner menu.

All that said, most of the staff were 101% focused on providing a memorable experience. We loved the game drives, walks and rock art excursions. Elsewhere in the world such rock art is given world heritage status and protection but here there are several sites within a short walk or drive.

Our guide Martin was a young, wonderfully knowledgeable, enthusiast who rapidly understood our love of all things natural and constantly provided us with totalling absorbing activities. I believe we saw all the wildlife, birds and flowers we could have reasonably expected and then more. Memorable experiences in a stunning place making the shortcomings more obvious. Needs work? NB The eland sightings were both of large herds of 30+ animals. Zebra usually more than 6 each time." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"As good as ever "

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Our return here was if anything better than our first.

Be prepared to eat lots of very good food" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"Beautiful place but would be better in the flower season. Long drive back to Hermanus" See all these reviews: 15n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mrs M
Newmarke

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2017
"Very much off the tourist route, but an oasis of luxury in the middle of a barren, but stunning landscape. Little to see or do, except relax. We very much enjoyed seeing the rock art but, for us, it seemed as though the staff were trying almost too hard to please, which felt a bit unnatural. A beautiful place, but not really our cup of tea." See all these reviews: 21n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"One of the best places we have ever stayed - the location is magnificent, guiding superb, facilities excellent as is the food." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Y & Dr C
Essex

"Very comfortable and wonderful location"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2016
"A great location with wonderful rock formations around the camp and around the roads to and from the area. Very comfortable and spacious room. Food was very good and the people very friendly and helpful. All in all a great experience. The place was partly camp with group activities including a barbecue and partly hotel with individual dining tables.

A bit confusing especially when the rain on our second night meant that the planned outdoor drinks were abandoned with no back-up as the bar was closed (although we managed to have a drink at the dinner table).

The drives provided an interesting tour of the area with very good sightings of Eland and Bontebok, but game viewing is not the main focus of this area. We also enjoyed the marked walk around the rocks opposite the camp and the early morning trip to see the rock art was a highlight of the trip." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J
Hants

"Voted Best Hotel in the World 2009"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"Voted Best Hotel in the World 2009. There is nothing more to say.

Beyond excellent. They even washed our car before delivering it back to us at reception on departure." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Mr T
London

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2014
"Our first stop, we enjoyed it greatly although felt that we had stayed just the right number of days. Food and hospitality were really good and it is definitely a very good place to begin an African holiday. Other guests were congenial and it made for a very happy Christmas.

Would have been wonderful indeed if they had mobile coverage although their land line phone charges were very reasonable. We wanted to talk to daughter, elderly father etc on Christmas Day.

Very beautiful, we enjoyed the walks and the rock paintings.

Had a good massage and the toiletries in the room were superb (I am fussy but was very impressed)" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LC
SW London

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2014
"We were late arriving and had to phone to inform them. Unfortunately our phone did not work in Clanwillian, and I think this is quite common, as the lady working at the Shell garage phoned them for us, and didn't seem surprised by our request. Excellent welcome despite the very late arrival. Our late arrival was mostly due to road works. Not sure what we could have done to anticipate this.....

3 night is the minimum, I wish we had stayed 4.

A most amazing place. There is nothing that I would change, except the extra night!!" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"a 24 carat experience at Bushmans!"

4 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2013
"A second visit but lived up to and exceeded all expectations
wonderful, friendly and exceptionally helpful and attentive staff nothing too much trouble
beautiful surroundings, peaceful and stunning
Riverside suite was the jewel in the crown
Wonderful spa in superb open surroundings" See all these reviews: 18n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 14
97%
14 reviews of Bushmans Kloof by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage is a small, good-quality guest house in a good location near the centre of Springbok.


84% (24 reviews)
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


88% (23 reviews)
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View

High on a hill overlooking Springbok, Mountain View Guest House has 10 suites. Most have a private patio and their own entrance, and outside you'll find a peaceful garden with indigenous plants and also a small swimming pool.


87% (19 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa