This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

35

Excursions taken

1

African Adventure 2016

South Africa and 1 other country between 9 Sep 2016 and 2 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have come to expect wonderful holidays when organised by Expert Africa and once again we were delighted. From our first chat to Tracy until we got this form our holiday was all we expected it to be.

We only wish it could have been longer - a couple of days more at Bushman's Kloof (to take advantage of their 4 nights for the price of 3) and an extra night at Augrabies Falls. We wonder if staying inside Etosha is not for us anymore as standards do not improve - although the accommodation was fine in both Dolomite and Okaukuejo.

Thanks Tracy we had a fantastic holiday!"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

"Farmhouse Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2016
"A lovely hotel with pleasant,helpful staff,good food and splendid views over the ever changing lagoon.

We could have stayed longer"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

"Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"One of the best places we have ever stayed - the location is magnificent, guiding superb, facilities excellent as is the food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"Mountain View Guest House review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"A good place for a night in Springbok - the owner was very helpful and welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Augrabies Falls Restcamp

Augrabies Falls Restcamp

"Rainbows at Augrabies"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2016
"We wished we had two nights here as we did not realise there was so much to see.

The staff were happy, friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable. The first time we have ever seen a giraffe sitting down in the park - it was gone when we returned that way later so must have been OK.

A gem of a place!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
!Xaus Lodge

!Xaus Lodge

"!Xaus Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"An enjoyable stay with some good night and day game drives. We felt that the staff needed to relax - they were doing everything right but seemed rather tense to us.

We disliked the ' bushman village experience' - they had made it clear that it was put on for us and these bushmen were the jeans and t-shirt kind normally but it still managed to be embarrassing. A much better way, we think, would be to have these people come to the lodge fully clothed and show us traditional clothes and perhaps things like making fire and string etc. perhaps a visit to N'homa would be of benefit we did not feel voyeuristic there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ta Shebube Polentswa

Ta Shebube Polentswa

"Owls, Eagles and lions!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"There were only four of us staying here so we felt very well looked after.

The staff were lovely- ready to talk, joke and answer all our questions.

Excellent guiding and game drives."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Torgos Lodge

"Torgos Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"Pleasant one night stay - only people there"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"I had developed a fluey cold at this point so found this a good place to read and take paracetamol!

However Kevin enjoyed some pleasant walks and a good game drive"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"Our first evening meal spoilt by a rat running over the foot of the lady on the next table. When we pointed it out to the waiter he just shrugged and walked away.

No jackals roaming the camp this year now there is a rabies problem which we were pleased about but perhaps they kept the rats down!

The rooms are staying well cared for although no crockery and cutlery for BBQing now.

Checking in and out much quicker than previously."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"Lovely room with amazing views.

The drive from Okaukuejo unbelievable with plentiful sightings of game, even a rhino walking past the car in the middle of the day.

Meals were only average at best, and staff needed training in customer relations and service."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Milky Way at Huab"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2016
"Wonderful stay - happy staff, knowledgable guiding, great rooms and food. Eating round a big table always a delight with the conversation flowing free.

With no moon the stars were amazing although we needed someone to tell us what we were looking at.

I think we enjoyed the service so much because it was such a contrast to Okaukuejo and Dolomite"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"Not disappointed - this was one of our favourites last year and had not changed.

The staff are friendly, helpful and can sing as well!

Desert elephants were found in abundance, rooms lovely and well cared for, food delicious, the Friday night BBQ. a treat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"An excellent place to stay at either the beginning or end of a holiday.

The manager able to suggest a restaurant and book a taxi for us - nothing was too much trouble.

Rooms very clean and well kept"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Another Amazing Adventure in Namibia/Botswana

Namibia and 1 other country between 3 Jun 2015 and 25 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another wonderful holiday in Namibia and Botswana visiting some old favourites and some new ones that will probably become old favourites now.

Everything went smoothly from the arrival of the brochure to our arrival in Namibia and our return home.
Sabina organised an excellent trip for us - was that Sabina that we met at Doro Nawas? we thought it was but perhaps were wrong.

Nothing can replace the absolute peace we feel either looking at the stars or sitting round a waterhole late at night . The long empty roads are a joy to drive and arriving at such magical destinations incomparable. We feel that we had several holidays all rolled in to one - a couple by the river, in Etosha, at wonderful Doro Nawas, the seaside, and then Sossusvlei.

Just one amazing adventure.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Thanks for such a great trip from start to finish."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"Glad of the hot water bottle"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2015
"The owner was in Switzerland but the staff did a very good job of feeding us - we think that perhaps there would have been a better sharing of information about the facilities had someone with a good command of English had been present."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Arms Hotel

Kalahari Arms Hotel

"good for quick stop"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2015
"Well looked afer by a young man who was put in charge of us."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Amazing birds and great company"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2015
"A great place to stay-rooms are excellent and the guiding was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for our guide.

Sitting round the fire at night, meeting some guys who were canoeing the length of the Okavango from the highlands of Angola to the Delta unforgetable-just an amazing place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Lovely location,people, drives and food"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2015
"Probably our fourth or fifth stay in this lovely spot - just relaxing on the deck we watched otters playing in the river with a few hippo basking upstream while a fish eagle watched from a tall tree on the opposite bank.

Lovely sunsets from the boat and good company round the table at dinner. Horst really makes everyone welcome and took us on a great trip - seeing lots of roan, sable , tsebe and lechwe. The giant baobab is not to be missed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

"Charity Begins at 'Home'"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2015
"Very interested in the work the owners at Nkwazi are doing in the local village as we (our town) are involved with a village in the Gambia doing very similar things. This is the first time we have seen such involvment on any of our trips."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Hyena at dusk"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2015
"It would have been helpful if someone had explained to us that the restaurant had moved since our last visit as we wandered around on the dark for a while before finding it.

A geat improvement with the paths concreted so now there are no loose boards and it is much quieter walking to the waterhole which was as quiet and empty as ever.

Some good game viewing at waterholes at this end of the park - often on our own as fewer people around.

The room was lovely however maintenance poor - one shower head badly corroded - it wouldn't take much to either replace or remove it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Rhino Wonderland"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2015
"Great animal viewing at the waterhole - a shame we only spent one night.

Facilities as poor as ever - with a captive audience I can't understand how there isn't a thriving little supermarket, gift shop etc with staff who want to talk and interest you with things but customer service is not something you find in Etosha."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Elephants as small as ants!"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2015
"Not that easy to find unless we just missed a road sign - we came upon the waterhole first and spent a long time watching giraffe, zebra, oryx, warthog and elephant - and a few ostrich- looking up we could see the buidings blending into the dolomite hill behind - a splendid location - and next time(!) we will spend two nights here.

Our road here was the less travelled one -- at one point we had to weave among springbok and zebra just sitting and standing on the gravel road as if no cars had been passed in a long while.

Not a place for those afraid of heights but the view from our room really did make distant elephants look like ants.

Meal times were a bit weird with long waits while food came from the kitchen to one of the two dining rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Customer Service Top Class"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2015
"After the rather laid back or couldn't care less attitude of some of the staff in Etosha the service and care at Doro Nawas was like a breath of fresh air - we felt well looked after and as if the pe0ple really cared that we had a good stay with them.

The rooms had amazing views although we were bitten one night and thought mosquito nets could be a welcome addition.

The game drives excellent with knowledgable guide and driver - our sghiting of desert elephant amazing - we have tried to see them for years.

However the best thing was the singing at night - firstly a song to hope you enjoyed your meal and then all the staff joining together from manager to kitchen staff to sing a few local songs at the end of the meal.

We also met here one of the most inspirational women I have ever met - a Damara lady and area manger - whose name i did not write in my diary and wish I had - although I wrote her story in my book."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2015
"Helpful staff , clean rooms, good food, and central location - all that we needed for our stay in this seaside town"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Beached Whale"

20 Jun 2015 • All-day excursion

Kai - our guide and driver for the day was a fount of knowledge and very good company. He dealt with a flat tyre with ease and added just enough danger to an exhilerating drive through the dunes on our way back. He was absolutely brilliant!

We were lucky in our wild life sightings too - with terns of many kinds, hawks, pelicans and of course flamingoes being just a few.
The carcass of a whale - before it had begun to smell was also an amazing sight.

I would really recommend this trip to anyone with a spare day in Swakopmund.
Excellent
Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

Sossusvlei Desert Lodge

"The Icing on the Cake"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2015
"Wow - what an amazing place - fabulous rooms with extraordinary views that changed with the light during the day, well informed guides, pleasant friendly staff, star gazing with experts, top class food and even some of the local singing - what a way to end what had already been a holiday of a lifetime. (We've had a few of these in Namibia!!)

Arriving by plane a real luxury to be spared the long drive - although we do enjoy the driving - but it seemed to give us an extra day of activities. Game drives, balloon flight, trip to Sossusvlei - I've run out of superlatives - just one of the best places we have ever stayed.

The star gazing too was excellent - both with the telescope being tutored by experts and from our bed when waking in the night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2013 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 18 Aug 2013 and 19 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic holiday"

Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

8 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"Harbourview Yzerfontein - spent two lovely days here visiting the West Coast National Park - spring flowers amazing - friendly, welcoming , clean self catering on the edge of the bay - views and star gazing wonderful

Bushman's Kloof - road from Clanwilliam now tar so journey much easier - food ,venue, room and trips/drives all excellent

Masonic Hotel Springbok - basic,welcoming,friendly - OK for a quick stop over

Goabib Mountain Lodge-warm welcome, great farm drives with lots of knowledge about the area , domestic animals and game

Villa Violet,Windhhoek - booked after recommendation from friends who stayed there in July - helpful staff, booked taxi to restaurant etc Well decorated room, clean, good breakfast

The places I booked were good although I would try somwhere else in Springbok another time - Bushman's Kloof (WE stayed there with Sunvil perhaps twelve years ago) was outstanding"
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Scary Baboons"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2013
"As we arrived the baboons were raiding the bins around our cottage area - they were very fierce and snarled as we tried to get out of the car- once inside and reading the warnings about these wild animals we felt quite vulnerable -
The room was clean and comfortable if basic, food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfst was good, service friendly.
We didn't see the baboons again but they put us off the place"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Waterhole Magic"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2013
"What we most noticed was the improved attitude of the staff - they were friendly, courteous and helpful - organisation was much better - collecting keys, getting back deposit etc welll organised

The rooms are being kept well and have not deteriorated since we were last there so I think perhaps standards of care have improved all round.

The waterhole was amazing - giraffes at sunset coming to drink, lion and rhino in the dark, antelope and elephant in large numbers during daylight.

We found the roads in Etosha to be much poorer and in some places felt that only a four wheel drive would navigate them however there were signs of work being done on the main road through to Namatoni"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Close Encounter of the hyena kind"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2013
"Drive to Namatoni very slow and uncomfortabe - road in very poor state
Clean, spacious room, well decorated, bathroom excellent

Stars amazing, waterhole elephants very close so some good close ups

Had a close encoun-ter with an hyena at a waterhole-we sat and watched him for maybe 30/40 minutes-we were the only people around -felt very priveledged"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Water,water everywhere....."

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"Warm welcome, clean well decorated room

We went on a sunset cruise - actually champagne sunset cruise according to the bill the next day - offered beer and wine - and thought it overpriced when we got the bill (asked the cost of any 'extras' after this experience! )

A pleasant meander down the river however the driver couldn't tell us the names of some of the birds and seemed to ahve very little knowledge or English which doesn't worry us but he seemed to have very little knowledge full stop - felt this was a management issue as the guy was try his best"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2013
"Lianshulu had a deserted air - we were the only ones staying there and there were very few staff.
The rooms were fantastic - just as we remembered.

Almost felt as if staff were waiting for us to finish dinner so they could escort us back to our rooms as soon as possible - food was adequate but not outstanding although when we mentioned we liked fish someone caught a couple of small boney river fish for our dinner
Birds and game drives were excellnet - the guide friendly and knowledgable

The road from Kongola is being tarred and although it was reported to be taking three more years this will make getting there much easier - we drove down a parallel gravel road and found the signage to the lodge very poor - if we had got there late we would not have been able to see it.

Very disappointed with our stay here and thought it very over priced but the staff available were doing the best they could

We had looked forward to revisiting Lianshula again as we remembered it as a very special place - we were disappointed and did not feel it gave value for money"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Hippo, otters and fish eagles"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"one of our favourite places and we were not disappointed

Fantastic noises in the night - we felt we were on a film set - good game drive into the park and boatrides down the river with knowledgable guides - a wonderful experience - we could have stayed longer.

Nothing was too much trouble - when the local garage had no petrol they managed to go and get us some the next day saving us a long bumpy ride

An amazing place - we would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing stay - a day relaxing on the dack watching a fish eagle hunt is a memory for a cold winter day back home- just wish the pottery wasn't so expensive now."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Barbel Run Spectacular"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"Amazing journey to get here - the'jetty' for the last part of the trip just a few planks at the edge of a flooded field. We felt as if we were on an adventure - which of course we were.

Our guide 'Mr P' was brilliant - knew loads of facts, strong enough to push us through the drying river on a makoro and confident enough to suggest what we needed to see, patient enough for us to get good photos of some of the birds who were a bit too quick for us.

One suggestion - they have lovely bread at lunch and dinner so get rid of the soggy rubbery toast at breakfast and serve bread instead."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Edo's Camp

Edo's Camp

"Rhino Tracking Adventure"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2013
"Scary drive from the road - had we known the road was so sandy and with sharp stones we would have rung ahead and arranged to be met - they would have been quite happy to do this.

Good food, lovely acommodation, friendly people-learned a lot - the rhino here are magnificent and we seemed to see quite a few
An absolutely brilliant experience - would recommend a visit here to anyone wanting to see rhino.

The waterhole round which our tent was sited was busy all the time - although we went out on drives we could have just stayed there and let the wild life come to us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Zelda Guest Farm

"Zelda Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2013
"We did not enjoy our stay here - the room was adequate but very 1950s - nylon covers etc.

Did not like the idea of animals in cages - a lonely cheetah striding up and down, porcupine in another small area, emus?? inAfrica

Went on a night drive that was quite pleasant but felt with a more more knowledgable guide might have seen more.

Two small bottles of water, a beer and a glass of wine cost us 277 N$ - treble the cost anywhere else - even in Cape Town's Waterfront

Although there were several staff around when we loaded and unloaded the car no one offered to help us with our bags

Will not be visiting this place again"
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Own arrangements review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"We lleft ourselves a long drive back to Cape Town...

Roads brilliant so stayed first night at Goabib Mountain Lodge - warm welcome , lovely room, good food and close to the road fro a quick get away in the morning.

Second night Clanwilliam Lodge- not a good experience as husband picked up a tummy bug

Last 3 nights at The Cube Guesthuose Hout Bay - wonderful room and views, great advice on what to do, best breakfasts we had eaten,"
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team