This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge

Reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

72 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxamaseri Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxamaseri Lodge.
Hippo

60% success

Sitatunga

20% success

Elephant

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 72
Duration
Arrival date
Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Wonderfull place off-grid at Okavango"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2019
"Wonderful place on a small island in Okavango Delta (short boat trip from end of track). We loved the private guide and fishing trips on the river. We loved the spacious room and the perfect dinners. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. There was no internet - but that just added to the peaceful feeling at this place. Would love to return (and will)." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Special people @ a special place in Nxamaseri"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2018
"Very nice lodge and welcome. somehow difficult the find the right spot at the road where you are picked up although the guide was standing next to it, we were looking for a sign. There is one, but difficult to read (somehow vague letters). We would like to suggest to have a more clear sign and on both sites of the road.

Special compliments for our guide, Mr P (we called him Mr Ooievaar, he knows - as he wanted to know the word stork in Dutch) who was very passionate. Showed us the redbilled stork by getting out the boat and go around slowly to see if we could get a better view. Furthermore showed us the fish eagle hunting by preparing a fish for him and throwing it in the water and last but not least told a lot about the people and their habits and culture which was so nice to hear and experience (making necklace from a water lily which the local people do when people get married etc). We went also with mokoro's with him.

thank you to the team for the champagne for our anniversary!

the only thing we regret but that's the season we travelled in is the lack of water, so we had to go by car to the edge of the river and only a few minutes by boat to the lodge. This means the local people also are working in the area which we could hear (trucks, building activities, their cows etc) so this doesn't give the feeling of being on an island, nice and peaceful and being in the bush." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Nxamaseri - heaven!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"We really loved everything about Nxamaseri! Our room was amazing, beautifully furnished with a large balcony overlooking the water. (actually, it was the honeymoon suite)

The young managers were like a breath of fresh air. They were so friendly and lively and it felt as if we were visiting their home. One of them was always in attendance if we were in the guest area and nothing was too much trouble. We were extremely fortunate to have the entire site to ourselves for one day, so it felt like our own private island.

The journey to the lodge, some 45 minutes by 4x4 and then boat, was amazing. We had own own guide for the entire stay; he was friendly and informative and clearly loved his sharing his home environs with visitors. The boat trips were designed to meet our wishes and interests; the early morning mokoro trip and the sundowner boat trip were both outstanding.

The food was absolutely of 5 star standard and plentiful. The managers ate with the guests and were attentive to everyone.

We can't really praise this place enough; it was the the highlight of our trip.

A word of warning: in September 2018 we found the state of the road, both north of the lodge (to the Namibian border) and south (through Gumare), absolutely treacherous. The locals describe "potholes", which is a gross understatement. The holes are continuous, often stretching across the entire road, and a man could easily lie down inside them. They are very hard to spot until you are on top of them. It is possible to drive off the tar road, as many do to avoid the holes, or you will have to slalom through. Either way, please do take extra care and allow plenty of time to drive slowly on these sections." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

2 sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"This was our favourite lodge on the trip. Arrangements for collection and transfer to the lodge were well managed and we received a warm welcome. The accommodation was good and excellently situated overlooking a tributary of the river. You feel close to nature and the wildlife around the lodge.

Our guide was very helpful throughout our stay. We enjoyed the activities we participated in particularly a trip to the nearby Tsolido Hills. There are excellent opportunities for spotting birds.

The atmosphere around the lodge was friendly and relaxing but the staff at the same time were professional and efficient. Meals are served at a communal table which can lead to good interaction between guests." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Hippo

3 sightings

Prof. R
Goring

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"What fun we had here, fishing on the Okavango! Our guide Fish was excellent in finding the right spot, and was very patient in teaching us how to fish. One very big catfish (14 lb) was my record. Also very much enjoyed the outing in the mokoro, a most peaceful outing.

Food and accommodation were very good, although a mosquito net in the cabin would not be a luxury." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Fabulous lodge surrounded by waterlillies"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
"We stayed here in 2017 and were pleased to return. The cabins have been refurbished and although we loved the place previously we were very pleased with the new designs.

Nxamaseri allocates a guide to each visitor and this is great as it enables you to do whatever you want at a time that suits you and the guide can respond to your interests and knowledge level." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Piotr & Glen
London

"Superb and private hideaway"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2017
"Nxamaseri Lodge was excellent - not least because Glen and I were the only two guests for the entire stay.

We loved the chalets, with the front being completely opened which meant getting to hear lots of animals in the night and early morning. The staff - Tiaan and others, and our guide, Phoraki - were all brilliant. The food is definitely another memorable thing about staying at Nxamaseri - the lady who cooks does an incredible job - the beef and then pork chops for dinner were amazing.

Really cannot fault anything there. Definitely worth coming back!" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Salisbury

"Luxury in the middle of nowhere"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2017
"Fantastic accommodation and hospitality at Nxamaseri.

As made plain on the website, this is a fishing and birding spot, not a game lodge, but we are not obsessives at either and had a great time over two days.

It may just have been chance but the clientele was very diverse by typical game lodge standards - not in a bad way!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"Had wonderful few days tiger fishing.Enjoyed the company of our guide Adam, he knew where the fish were.

Lots of birds seen" See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Fishing in the panhandle "

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"The lodge is in Botswana on the Okavango panhandle and so the safaris are all river cruises, including being taken out in a long narrow canoe called a mokoro.

Excellent numbers of birds on view plus crocodile and hippo, and even the odd elephant. Fishing expeditions are also available and anyone can fish with a lure without any previous experience.

Unless you are a fanatical devotee of Bushman art do not go on the one available vehicle journey to nearby hills as the tour of the sight can be disappointing depending on how much of the terrain you are able to traverse. In any event, this trip is an extra and in our view is grossly overpriced." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 72
93%
72 reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
16
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North-west Kalahari & Panhandle

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Lodge at Feline Fields

Feline Fields

In a remote corner of the Kalahari, Feline Fields offers guests a luxurious stay in a seldom-visited part of Botswana.


No reviews yet
Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge has a picturesque location on the banks of a channel of the Okavango River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa