This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge

Reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

79 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxamaseri Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxamaseri Lodge.
Hippo

85% success

Elephant

33% success

Sitatunga

13% success

Showing 21-30 of 79
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K & Mrs S
NL

"Monkey business"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2017
"This was our favorite lodge. It has a truly idyllic location in the wilderness on the waterfront. Just getting there by boat is already an adventure. Wonderful huts in the middle of nature.

Highly enjoyable excursions by boat and on foot. First rate, highly knowledgeable guide "P". Great food including freshly baked bread every day. Staff was the most dedicated we encountered on this trip. We may have felt spoilt because we were the only guests though.

Our only gripe was that monklies raided our hut three times on one day and took our malaria tablets (!) amongst other things. There was nothing that could be done to prevent this because the monkeys had learned to squeeze themselves under the screens facing the porch. Certainly it is not asking too much to make the huts monkey proof?" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"magical lodge on Okavanga delta"

2 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2017
"This was a highlight.

The instructions from Expert Africa for meeting our welcome vehicle referred to a time change between Botswana and Namibia. These instructions were not relevant as the timechange was the following week and this caused confusion and bit of panic as crossing the border was slow.

The transfer from meeting the welcome vehicle to the lodge was exciting with a safari vehicle and river trip to the lodge with masses of yellow butterflies and wildlife.

Our room was lovely with only three sides and a view through the trees. Food was excellent and our trips with Adam punting a canoe through the reeds were glorious. We learnt a lot about the birdlife." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Ms B
Macclesfi

"Bird and fishing paradise at Nxamaseri"

3 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2016
"Excellent arrangements for meeting self-drive guests, car minding and transportation to and from the camp.

Although the exceedingly low water levels in the delta meant that the noises of wild animals heard from the camp had been replaced by cowbells and braying donkeys from nearby grazing animals, this did not detract from this water based experience. Our private guide Adam was brilliant, and we thoroughly enjoyed the fishing trips and makoro activities on the beautiful water-lilly covered waters. The birdlife was stunning - every bit as good as we were expecting.

The camp accommodation was spacious enough, but appeared to be in need of some refurbishment, (which is apparently due early 2017). For example, holes in the mosquito nets.

The common areas were pleasant, with a nice camp fire area and a communal dining table to encourage sociable evening chat. The lack of modern-day trappings such as Wi-fi, cell phone coverage and mains electricity enhances the wilderness experience to which the camp aspires.

The food was a little disappointing. Breakfasts and light lunches were reasonable, but the evening meals were not inspired, and the 'lamb chops' served on our third night were actually inedible. The staff however were all friendly and attentive and the service was good." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr Z
Maryland, USA

"camp needs repairs"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2016
"We really liked our experience here, but the camp really was in poor repair.

We were surprised because this was the most expensive stop on our trip. Even our bug net had holes in it.

Tsodilo Hills was enchanting, and birdwatching on the river was fantastic." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Woodbridge

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2016
"Excellent place to stay. Welcoming and sociable host.

Our knowledgeable and friendly guide, Adam, looked after us from picking us up from our car to dropping us off again at the end of our stay. Boat and canoe trips excellent

Excellent and socialable meals in the company of the other guests." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"Nxamaseri Island Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2016
"Wonderful lodge on its own island. River activities by boat or canoe.

As the brochure says - not much big game, but the bird life is plentiful and the whole experience truly amazing.

Our best time on this trip" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs C
Lancs

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"What an amazing place. Superb scenery, bird life and wonderful people.

All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and we had an excellent guide, Phuraki, who guided us on both days, including a mokoro trip and a visit to the Tsodilo hills,, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had our own boat allocated to us for our stay.

Tian was the perfect host and the food was superb." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
Washington

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2016
"It was a shock to fine only 3 walls to out bungalow. I thought I was more like a hut. Very dark, lots of spiders. Bats in the room. I was happy to leave the lodge.

Fish, out guide, took wonderful care of us. He's very knowledgeable. We took a boat cruise and Fish was able to find some rare birds. Our trip to Tsodillo Hills was an amazing experience. Fish's friend Boo was our Bushman guide. He was very informative." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
XX
London

"Friendly and charming lodge in the panhandle"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2016
"Nxamseri is a wonderful lodge in a beautiful, peaceful location.

The accommodation is comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly.

We had a fantastic three days including a visit to the Tsodilo Hills with their ancient San art (worth the journey despite the terrible roads), fishing on the Okavango river (with mixed success) and a trip for some of us in genuine wood Mokoro canoes." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Nxamaseri was brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2016
"Arriving at the beautiful lodge through acres of water lilies to a warm reception from Tiaan and Geraldine set the tone for our stay.

Our room was large and comfortable with netting walls (no hot water tap at the basin but a large pot of hot water delivered on request).

Our guide Fish was exceptional, in tune with his environment and sensitive to our interests. Our boat and mokoro trips were enjoyable and informative. A picnic boat trip to the "Red Cliff" to see the nesting swallows was highlight as was brief period fishing for tiger.

Meals at the single dining table were enjoyable occasions with a good variety of well cooked meals produced by Tiny the cook." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 79
93%
79 reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
19
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North-west Kalahari & Panhandle

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge has a picturesque location on the banks of a channel of the Okavango River.


80% (1 review)
The Lodge at Feline Fields

Feline Fields

In a remote corner of the Kalahari, Feline Fields offers guests a luxurious stay in a seldom-visited part of Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa