This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge

Reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

72 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxamaseri Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxamaseri Lodge.
Hippo

60% success

Sitatunga

20% success

Elephant

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 72
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A & Mrs M
Scotland

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2015
"Delightful, if somewhat eccentric experience. travelling the Hippo trials in a dugout canoe was a great experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms C & Mr M
Hants

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"The lodge is quite remote, so it is important to check that you have an arranged meeting with the driver.The instructions to meet are not very clear and need improving., They do not meet by the coloured post.

The brochure says "luxury accommodation" which is something of an exaggeration, but nevertheless the camp is very pleasant and comfortable although some repairs need to be done e g the room doors where the zips are partially broken and the swimming pool - brown and unusable .

The food is very good, some of the best we had on holiday, and also the guides were experienced and knowledgeable We had a nice time seeing lots of water birds and even fishing and the Tsodillo hill was interesting. , but a 2 day detour is prob too short for the effort of border crossing etc !



" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Lanarkshir

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"Very good team, the vibes are very friendly and all the staff seem to have a great rapport.

Tiaan has a good relationship with the staff. Guides knowledgable and general staff very helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr G & Mrs S
NOT.

"Tian the croc catcher"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2014
"This place was The highlight of our trip !!!!

If there is a more perfect place for the pair of us to go fishing pleas let us know

Please pass on our gratitude to Adam , Tiny ,Nine ,Big Mamma ,and especially Tian who can catch crocs with his bear hands !!!!
" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Preston

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"Nxamaseri Lodge was a wonderful surprise. Our guide Adam looked after us from the moment we met him at the 'junction' on the main road. Firstly we drove to the waters edge then has a ride by boat to get to the Lodge. The lodge was clean with great accommodation, bar and food. We went out on the Okovango River for a sun downer bird watching cruise and this was better than anything we did in Moremi National Park or in the Delta. I think Nxamaseri is a fantastic camp and a real alternative to the Delta." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Wokingham

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Mar 2014
"This was an excellent spot for river activities - mainly fishing and birding. You have to drive into Botswana from Namibia and it would help if Expert Africa gave some better directions to get through the various road junctions just inside Botswana (the map shows a straight road). The staff at the border crossing were great - its little used so they like to chat to visitors! We were the 10th car that day when we left Botswana at about 2pm.

You are met at the roadside by your ranger ("Fish" in our case). You park your car in a nearby village and pay the local people to look after it. The ranger drives you and your baggage several Km to the waters edge, then you transfer to a boat which takes about half an hour to get you through dense reed beds to the island/lodge - quite an adventure in itself.

The river trips are lovely - the only disappointment is that "Fish" caught two Tiger Fish and I didn't catch any - but I can excuse him for that. For one morning we went off in a makora traditional canoe - its a bit like punting and Fish did all the work - and it was very enjoyable. Plenty of birds and hippos. I understand there are otters but we didn't see them. Fish and the lodge staff were all very helpful and friendly.

The manager (Tianne) was frankly so laid-back as to be almost horizontal. He omitted to mention the risk of the monkeys getting into the bungalow so it came as a bit of a shock to find they'd been through absolutely everything - and we found the folder that had once contained our travel documents down by the waters edge - guarded by a fairly big crocodile. When we told the manager about this - and the monkey excrement in the bathroom, he explained that "yes the monkeys are becoming a bit of a nuisance and maybe we'll try to make the room more monkey-proof". Then he yawned and wandered off.

Advice: If you visit Nxamaseri, put absolutely everything in cupboards or in zipped up suitcases. Don't let the risk of monkey-trouble put you off." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ealing

"Civilisation in the middle of the swamps"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2014
"Nxamaseri is located on an island so a matter of slight concern for us was to ensure we arrived at the pickup point where we were to leave our vehicle within the specified time slot. As it happened the roads are so good that travel time is predictable even from some distance away if you know the relevant distances and we arrived bang on schedule. Our vehicle was parked in a small village off the road where it was looked after. We were then taken in one of the Lodge's 4x4s to the Okavango River were we transferred with our baggage to a small boat with a wonderful introduction to the area of a 30 minute boat trip to the Lodge which is discreetly hidden among the trees on a small island.

The accommodation was amazingly luxurious for such a remote place. Food and facilities were equally attractive.

Staff were charming and our guide - called "Fish" (in English) who said he is a River Bushman was excellent and extremely knowledgeable about every aspect of the wildlife, birds, plants and animals.

Nxamaseri is especially notable for bird watchers - we saw 34 species in a day of cruising up and down the waterways between verdant islands. With hindsight this was one of the highlights of a trip involving stays at eighteen different places." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Nxamaseri : the Okavango itself !"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"We left Nkasa Lupala (Namibia) at 07:30 AM and reached the Nxamaseri meeting point at 13:30 on the Botswana side. The Mohembo border cross procedure was straightforward and we paid a total of 150,00 Pula for the short term permit and road safety levy fee.The drive itself was calm and easy. Although tarred, the A35 that connects Mohembo to Sehithwa is severely potholed at some stages, and as in any road in Botswana, the presence of livestock on the roads should increase our attention while driving.

At the meeting point our guide for the next two days, Adam, was already waiting for us, as we arrived 30 minutes ahead of schedule. We left our vehicle on the Nxamaseri village, which was perfectly looked after. The transfer to the lodge, was done by 4WD and boat, and was done under 20 minutes. On the way we crossed the dry channel beds, that after the rainy season are completely flooded. We could immediately sense the profusion of bird life.

The lodge itself is a water based activity lodge, on the banks of the Nxamaseri channel , a tributary of the main Okavango river. Both waterbodies are awesome to be explored. The bird life is incredible. A game drive on the dry channel beds, neighboring the Nxamaseri island is, as well, worth to explore, as we can witness the everyday rural life of the "river people" while checking for wildlife.

Although we have not seen "big game" on this part of the Okavango (we were not in the flatter Delta), we felt once again, privileged, to visit this part of the Okavango, as we had the river just for ourselves. We thank Theo and Adam for being so hospitable and for making our stay unforgettable.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Dorking

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"Would have been better as a one night stay probably. There is not enough activity to justify a two day stay. Breakfast is a disaster with a choice of two cereals followed up with bread or toast (if you are lucky) and instant coffee. Midday meal is pretty basic - evening meals are better. They basically cater for fisherman who go out early in the morning and return for the evening meal. They didn't seem to know what to do if you didn't want to fish. Condition of the room was pretty poor." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
Facilities:
Average
Mr DS
Surrey

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"Loved the river trips; interesting trip to Tsodilo hills (a long way though!). Good to eat at one big table with the rest of the guests - interesting conversations.

Our designated guide, Small, worked hard for us. Transfers to and from the lodge were an adventure in themselves. Only thing was, your directions are now somewhat out of date - there is no longer a striped pole indicating the pick-up point, but a new sign advertising the lodge about 5kms from the turn-off to Tsodilo!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 72
93%
72 reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
16
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North-west Kalahari & Panhandle

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Lodge at Feline Fields

Feline Fields

In a remote corner of the Kalahari, Feline Fields offers guests a luxurious stay in a seldom-visited part of Botswana.


No reviews yet
Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge has a picturesque location on the banks of a channel of the Okavango River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa