This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Sydney

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

2

Wonderful family experience in SW Africa

Namibia and 1 other country between 21 May 2016 and 8 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Maruska did an excellent job in putting together a varied itinerary for our mixed group. We had a fantastic trip!! One of the highlights of our seven months away. Such a wonderful balance of comfort and adventure. Highlights included the balloon ride over the Namib desert, game drives in Etosha and Chobe, fishing on the Okavango panhandle and enjoying sundowners as a family each evening.

Although more expensive than other trips we had done, we can confidently say that it was excellent value for money. Simply put, Maruska made everything easy for us - things worked like clockwork!

Namibia is an easy country to do a self drive. The flexibility this gave us was refreshing. Given the long distances, everyone shared the driving. The pacing of the trip was spot on!

We were also pleasantly surprised with how much we loved the Okavango panhandle. It really was the 'Delta' experience we were looking for.

Thank you once again Mush for a great holiday!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Comfortable city stay at Villa Violet"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2016
"Very pretty place in a nice, quiet area of Windhoek. We enjoyed a walk around the area at sunset.

Friendly staff, comfortable room and great breakfast! Free tea and coffee provided 24/7. Only minor issue was a leaky shower door."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

"Desert luxury at Desert Quiver Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2016
"Spacious and well equipped room. Very comfortable bed and good power shower.

Pool very cold but good for a dip after dusty, hot day in the dunes.

Able to hire full kitchen equipment set after paying a deposit. Fire wood and lighters provided for BBQ for minimal charge.

Lovely to sit on the deck at dusk/night with a sundowner drink and see the wildlife that comes to the waterhole (Oryx, Ostrich, Jackals).

Minor frustration is that you have to drive to bigger lodge for meals or activity pick ups. Very good food once there though!

Whilst at Desert Quiver Camp these guests enjoyed a morning balloon flight. Here's what they said about it:
Good safety briefing and very informative and friendly guide.
Comfortable jeep transfers to and from balloon.
Amazing experience had by all of our group. Sunrise over the desert was spectacular and we will have some treasured photos to remember the trip.
Breakfast next to the canyon was delicious!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Quirky host at Sam's Giardino"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2016
"Beautiful garden. Friendly dog. Sam is a very approachable host - always around! Helpful in booking my parents boat cruise.

Room was a little dark and could use a bit of updating.

Breakfast was plentiful - eggs excellent!

Entrance to car park incredibly tight for a wide car/minivan. Had to be very careful as not much turning space for parking either.

Not that close to waterfront - have to drive to restaurants as roads are very dark at night.

During their time in Swakopmund, these travellers enjoyed a kayaking excursion to Pelican Point seal colony. Here's what they said about it:
We never imagined how playful the seals would be and how close they would come to your kayak. What a fun experience! They nibble on your paddle and even your hand! The time simply flew by!
Jeanne is a wonderful lady - very friendly and energetic! She reassured all guests on how to respond to the seals behaviour, especially those who had never kayaked before.
Kayaks all good quality.
The photos and videos she took are a great way to remember our experience. All provided for free! We wish her the best with her business!
Breakfast was simple but tasty (sandwiches and hot drinks)!
Unfortunately Jeanne's truck broke down on our journey home but a friendly competitor came to our rescue!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Namib Desert Balloon flight was phenomenal!"

24 May 2016 • Morning excursion

Good safety briefing and very informative and friendly guide.
Comfortable jeep transfers to and from balloon.
Amazing experience had by all of our group. Sunrise over the desert was spectacular and we will have some treasured photos to remember the trip.
Breakfast next to the canyon was delicious!
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Fun kayaking with seals!"

25 May 2016 • Morning excursion

We never imagined how playful the seals would be and how close they would come to your kayak. What a fun experience! They nibble on your paddle and even your hand! The time simply flew by!
Jeanne is a wonderful lady - very friendly and energetic! She reassured all guests on how to respond to the seals behaviour, especially those who had never kayaked before.
Kayaks all good quality.
The photos and videos she took are a great way to remember our experience. All provided for free! We wish her the best with her business!
Breakfast was simple but tasty (sandwiches and hot drinks)!
Unfortunately Jeanne's truck broke down on our journey home but a friendly competitor came to our rescue!
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Pretty lodge in need of refurbishment"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"Stayed in one of the older, non refurbished rooms. In need on upgrade - having said this, the developments on other rooms (in the early stages) looked promising.

Food plentiful but quality very mixed. E.g. Omelettes at breakfast very good but vegetables at dinner overlooked.

Staff not super friendly and did not make as much of an effort as at other hotels. The exception was Leonardo who welcomed us and took us on the safari game drive. Sunset game drive quite expensive but was a good way to see the desert wilderness. Took a while to find the desert adapted elephants but was a fantastic experience!! Sundowner snacks and drinks were great."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

"Brand new rooms at Taleni Etosha Village"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2016
"Pleasantly surprised by brand new rooms at Taleni Etosha Village! No longer tents - instead very spacious permanent bungalows, excellent beds and nice, light, big bathroom. Nice patio for sundowner drinks. Parking directly outside your bungalow.

Great location near entrance to National Park.

Food was excellent - large selection of game meats, lots of variety of other items. Good wine list at reasonable prices.

Multiple swimming pools very pleasant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Wonderful birthday treat at Mushara Bush camp"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"Beautiful safari tented accommodation. We enjoyed hearing all the nighttime sounds from the comfort of our room. Most comfortable bed of our trip!!

Central lounge area very stylish and comfortable. Pet warthogs very entertaining.

Customer service was amazing - very friendly staff. Enjoyed the evening entertainment - staff all looked like they loved singing to guests! Very special birthday treatment for my husband - delicious cake and singing

Food delicious. Was nice to have a set menu instead of a buffet for dinner. Very flexible with dietary requirements.

Good location - close to National Park entrance."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Quirky but comfortable stay at Roy's camp"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Roy's rest camp is certainly very quirky! Each room is very different. Ours was quite an unattractive white block but inside was spacious and light (compared to my parents which was very dark and small). Bed very firm and bathroom needs an update.

Loved the waterhole viewing hide. Lots of animals arrived at sunset.

Evening dinner was very tasty. Very reasonably priced drinks.

Breakfast pack was terrible - included more sweets/lollies than I have had in years! No fruit, greasy toasted sandwich. This needs a complete overhaul!"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"Home from home at Nxamaseri Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2016
"What a beautiful place! It really is so remote and peaceful. From our jeep and boat transfer to the lodge, we were constantly delighted. As the only guests at the Lodge, we were spoiled. It was certainly the best stay of our trip by a long way!

Absolutely wonderful staff - everyone we met was like a close friend! We had some excellent chats with Geraldine and Tiaan over dinner/drinks and Adam and Fish were excellent guides!

The food was hearty and tasty - loved the fresh bread. The inclusive drinks was a real treat - thank you! The rooms were quirky - we had an open air room which meant we could hear the hippos at night. This was surprisingly relaxing! Even though the temperature dropped at night, the bed was very warm and we were provided hot water bottles. Our only minor issue was a faulty water heater for our shower but Tiaan was determined to resolve the problem for us.

The activities were all a lot of fun - from the Mokoro trip to our multiple fishing/sundowner boat trips - we lived getting out on the water and learned a lot about the water bird life. Car parking at the village worked very well. Glad to help the locals in return for safe keeping of our van."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Ngepi Camp

"Average stay at Ngepi camp"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2016
"Average stay compared to the other properties we visited. Entry road is challenging for 2x4 vehicles as deeply rutted and soft sand. Drive carefully!

Our treehouse was fun! Beautiful river view, especially when we woke up to morning mist over the river. Lovely to have open air shower.

Biggest disappointment was staff attitude (perfunctory at best) and food. Dinner had limited options and was not great quality. Breakfast ordering process was slow and inefficient - our group of 6 had to eat separately.

My parents room flooded overnight and it was hard to find staff to help resolve this as everyone had left reception by 11pm and roads were very dark so people got lost!!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Pleasant stay at Nkasa Lupala lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2016
"Good set up for guest parking during stay. Transfer quite bumpy (African massage) so good to be in their 4x4 jeep.

Tents very nice. Comfortable bed and nice warm shower.

Food was good. We enjoyed the group table at dinner as a way to meet other guests. Roger was a good host. Very chatty at dinner table - shared information on the country and animals.

Other activities were very expensive, especially the walking safari. Unfortunately we didn't see a lot of wildlife in this area.

Loved the central deck area for rest time."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Wonderful stay at Muchenje Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"Fantastic staff at Muchenje really help to make guests comfortable. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home.

Safaris were excellent. The vehicles are comfortable and guides very good. We enjoyed all of them, including the water safari on our full day trip! Extra special that was getting hot water bottles and fleecy ponchos to keep the chill away in the morning!!

Rooms were spacious with comfortable beds and nice hot showers.

Food was incredible! Plenty of choice and very tasty. Good range of included drinks!

Quick and good laundry services.

The management were very helpful in sorting our car pick up for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team