This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge


18°19’46.0"S 23°40’19.4"E

Reviews of Nkasa Lupala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkasa Lupala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkasa Lupala.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

0% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

67% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

67% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Eland

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Coventry

"Huge herd of Buffalo."

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2020
"Loved the fact that we had glass doors and didn't have to mess about with zips.

Again staff very friendly and helpful although the guiding was, in my opinion no where near being up to scratch. Really enjoyed the after dinner chats with the owner about all sort of things. Between us we were able to put the world to rights and forget for that brief moment of time that people like Trump and Borris Johnson even exist.

Like most places we stayed at, game was in short supply. The early rains in October meant that there was a plentiful supply of water in the bush and the wildlife didn't need to come out" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Nice spot, with a waterhole.

Did a good game drive and boat ride from here.

Once again everyone sat together for dinner which we think is great." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs B - family
UK

"Serene stay at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"This is a very remote and peaceful camp. It did have some drawbacks but these did not spoil our stay, which overall was wonderful.

The tented rooms were very small - the bed took up most of the space. During our stay we had no hot water - probably due to the cold nights (around 5C). My daughter and granddaughter did a guided walk with Stefan on the afternoon of our arrival - this was excellent - they got very close to elephants and other wildlife. My husband and I had planned to go on this walk but it was very hot and at the last minute we decided we'd go on the morning walk instead. During dinner the manager apologised and told us there'd be no morning walk as they had only two guides at the camp and they'd both be needed for the morning game drive and boat trip as 10 guests had booked on these excursions. This was disappointing - I do think they should have told us when we booked the morning walk that there was a possibility that it would not go ahead - perhaps they need another guide at the camp to cater for all the guests.

We did a combined game drive and boat trip in the afternoon which I think probably was better than going in the morning - we saw a lot of wild life during the river trip, but not so much wildlife in the park. There was a lot of wildlife around the camp itself (including elephants) The roads are very bad in the park although we did drive in to the camp - it was ok and we are not experienced at driving in sand. Dining here was at a communal table for 18 to 20 guests." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Piotr & Glen
London

"Great alternative type accommodation & safari"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2017
"We really liked staying here as the accommodation - tents on stilts - was different to the other places we stayed so far on the trip or were going to stay afterwards. The food quality was really good and Simone, the owner and manager, was very friendly, welcoming and helped to make our stay really nice, especially by joining us and others for dinner for the first night.

We really enjoyed lazing around the swimming pool (it is small but definitely does the trick and is excellent for cooling down) the following day and then the big combo drive with Derek. It started off quiet but our patience paid off - we came across a really massive male lion that we were tracking in our car for quite a while, until the point that he came across two warthogs - the lion at some point looked like he was going to go for a kill but in the end got too lazy and walked off into the grass.

We then joined a boat cruise and were rewarded with lots of hippos and another spectacular sight - a lioness and two male lions eating an antelope which they must have just killed, followed by the two males rolling around and playing in the grass. Fabulous." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Very good park and activities but tent rooms were a little small and they are bit miserly over water and the charge to get to and from the lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"Fantastic eco-lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"The tented accommodation was very comfortable - built on stilts, private and with stunning views out onto the African wilderness. Water was heated by solar power so don't shower for too long or you won't have hot water the next morning! Hot water bottles awaited us in our beds when returning from dinner which was most welcome. As the camp is not fenced you are escorted from the lodge to your room after dark. The main lodge had fantastic views, different viewing decks, a boma (great for sitting around before and after dinner) and a swimming pool. We really enjoyed sitting around the boma talking to the senior staff who joined us and other guests from around the world. (We started to get to know some guests from previous lodges as were probably following similar routes across the Caprivi.)

Staff were incredibly friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We did a safari walk which was interesting and the safari combo (game drive and boat trip) was our best safari trip on our 3 week holiday. Being on the boat, working our way through the river channels and viewing the game and birds close up was fantastic - so much better than from a car. We felt that the game guides here were particularly accommodating to our needs and we never felt like we were being rushed.

If you wanted to, you could self drive through the game reserve (permit required) and we had the impression that there was a lot of investment and development underway so perhaps this reserve will be even better in the future. What we particularly liked was that this was an eco-lodge with a strong focus on working with the local community.

We would stay here again and if we could, would have extended our visit beyond the two nights we had.

The drive to the lodge was interesting and certainly tested out our 4x4 - doing that drive in the rainy season must be interesting!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Chatteris

"Nkasa Lupala"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2017
"Nkasa Lupala was the opposite to River Dance Lodge.

Excellently positioned for bird and animal viewing, but the administration could be enhanced by the attention to detail the River Dance Lodge owners were prepared to give." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr K & Mrs S
NL

"Smallish tents"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2017
"We enjoyed the simple, natural set up of this lodge in the middle of nature but we found the tents on the small side.

It was not easy to store luggage. The mosquito net was too small to cover our entire double bed.

We encountered little wild life on the excursions we took. Because of the stilted position of the tents we enjoyed great sunrises and sunsets.

The owner was very friendly and informative but we found the food unremarkable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr Z
Maryland, USA

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2016
"We saw a herd of 1500 water buffalo!

The owner is fascinating.

And sadly, the water in the smelled like copper and was yellow. Unfortunately, this made for a less than pleasant bath in their really cool outdoor bathtub." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Followed instructions to phone for a pick up as you can only access Lodge with a 4x4 vehicle. All went to plan. On arriving at the camp it just looked like a blot on the landscape, reminded us of a prisioner of war camp. Put that aside and get inside the lodge and we were pleasantly surprised. Because they have had no rain for a very long time the lodge overlooks a dry river bed and the area around is visited by elephants, baboons and warthogs. In fact whilst we were there we actually had elephants in camp one morning.

Our tent overlooked a waterhole which was regularly visited by warthogs and one night elephants. The tents are modern and the beds comfy. On our decking we had two comfortable chairs and a table which was good.

The Italian owner Simone and his wife are always in attendance and make sure you are well looked after and want for nothing. Simone joins guest on a communal table for dinner. The food is very good.

Simone has a 6 month old sausage dog called Charlie who gave us enormous entertainment during the day keeping the baboons their side of the riverbed.

Whilst we were there we went on an early morning game drive and river cruise. The game drive was unproductive purely because the animals have gone deep into the park, but the river cruise was enjoyable, we saw elephants and hippos enjoying the river." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 24
91%
24 reviews of Nkasa Lupala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (25 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa