This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge


18°19’46.0"S 23°40’19.4"E

Reviews of Nkasa Lupala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

33 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkasa Lupala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkasa Lupala.
Lion

60% success

Leopard

13% success

Cheetah

11% success

Wild dog

0% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

82% success

Wildebeest

80% success

Zebra

78% success

Buffalo

70% success

Giraffe

22% success

Eland

13% success

Sitatunga

11% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 33
Duration
Arrival date
Mr. & Mrs. E
UK

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2023
"A truly remote lodge, not easily reached on a self-drive, and impossible at the time we visited with anything less than 4 wheel drive. Heavy rains had fallen on the previous 2 days and the 9 km access road was pitted with water holes - 2 waterhogs emerged from one as we drove up! Somewhat nerve racking but the welcome on arrival was warm and friendly.

The views from the lodge can only be described as amazing, and it was clear from their leavings that elephants had walked around our tent at one time. The game drive was again excellent. We saw lion close up and much bird life and many more smaller creatures. The bush walk with a locally born guide was very interesting and gave a good insight into growing-up in remote rural Namibia.

Overall a different and well worthwhile visit and experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J.
Northallerton

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2023
"Our instructions for getting to this lodge were to call when we got to Kongola. Then we would be met at a location and taken to the lodge. First problem we had was that no one from Lupala would answer the phone. I left a voice message and asked to call me back to confirm they received the message. I received no call and tried both numbers I had been given several times more. I had also been given a number for Wilderness Safaris which when I rang was a Saturday and no one was in the office but they did have an emergency number to ring. I did manage to speak to someone who said he would contact the lodge. He rang back and said someone from Lupala would ring me within the next 5 minutes. No call came. By this time we had gone through Sangwali village and were heading down a very deep rutted track. There was no sign of anyone meeting us from the lodge or phoning us. I called the emergency number again and the man was a little annoyed that no one from Lupala had rung me. He said he would contact the lodge again, he then rang me back and told us to stay where we where and someone would be with us as asap. We did eventually get escorted to the lodge and so very glad we did not try to make our own way in as I’m sure we would have got lost.

Erica the manager apologized for being too busy to answer her phone??

We had a fabulous view from our tent again everything was really clean and the food was very good. One small thing I didn’t like was that they turned the water off from 9.15pm to 6.30am. So you are unable to flush the toilet.

We did not see lions but we were woken by them roaring ………..just wonderful.

We did an evening game drive and a half day combo. The boat part of the combo was definitely the best bit. Lots of elephants coming to drink from the river and Hippos galore." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Sitatunga

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Rob and Gin
Australia

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2022
"Great staff, a real feel of wilderness with birds and animals coming around the lodge. Difficult drive in as we were advised by the lodge to drive ourselves." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs S
UK

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"Beautifully situated lodge with Elephants enjoying a drink on our arrival magical. Erica the manager was helpful and friendly.

The accommodation was as described, our adult daughter was travelling with us, we had a family tent which was well laid out and gave her privacy.

Sadly, the game guide lacked communication skills to make a rather dull game drive on the first evening more interesting, not his fault lack of animals, except for lots of warthog and a large herd of buffalo on the way back to the lodge in the dusk which was amazing. Also, the sundowner a disappointment as only offered beer in tins with no glasses or alternative for the ladies.

The Combo Drive with the river cruise was well worth it seeing lots of Elephant, Hippo, Zebra, Lechwe and Bird life and a proper sundowner! (I and another guest had spoken to Erica the previous evening)

Despite the tiny problems they did not spoil the stay and we would recommend this lodge for the experience and location. Its Africa!" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Inyanga
Comberton

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2022
"The instructions for meeting our lift to the camp were less clear once you arrived in Sangwali village. No obvious meeting point. It was only by chance that we spotted a safari vehicle for another camp within the park and asked them where any meeting place was.

Our guide, Westy, arrived promptly. We had to leave our vehicle at a civic centre – something obviously agreed with the Sangwali authorities.

The camp is in one of the most remote corners of the region. It was more rustic than we expected which another guest had warned us about. Our tent on stilts was basic.

It was a pity that the light bulbs hadn’t been checked. Water conservation obviously isn’t an issue there – no plugs again!

An average welcome included the formality of the passing of the wifi voucher, restricting your use 200MB for the stay, please don’t drink the water and everyone must sit down to dinner at 7pm at one long table.

One flask of filtered water was provided in your tent each day. Any extra had to be purchased.

When sitting down for dinner, we discovered most of the guests were German (no problem with that) who were only interested in conversing in German amongst them selves. Not a very enjoyable evening.

The big complaint for us was that staff were clearing plates away before other diners had even finished that course. We objected strongly at the time as one of us was still eating a course when the next was about to be served to the other one !

We spoke to the manager who eventually agreed to allow us to sit at separate tables after that. As it turned out, we weren’t the only ones who disliked the arrangements.

There was an honeymoon couple who also had to request a separate table. Obviously for groups, of which there were several, these arrangements weren’t an issue. Breakfast was served at separate tables fortunately.

The staff themselves were very friendly and courteous. Most of the time service was good. The meals were somewhat average / mediocre.

We went on a sunrise drive and did the combi drive the next day. That takes you down to the wetlands as well as a normal morning drive. You’re out for more than 4 hours. We enjoyed the quiet as we listened to the sound of the lapping water when on the water. Westy was a very good guide and did his best to find as much as possible to see but the animals weren’t playing ball! However, a dash to find a leopard was somewhat scary!!

So, we felt the camp might have needed a bit of tlc/refurbishment and less obtrusive ‘management’ of the guests.

We’re pleased to have been there if only to see the wetlands up close.

However, it’s not one we would necessarily return to until is has been improved and made more multination ally welcome" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Dr D & Dr U
UK

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2022
"Great location, lovely staff, good food, great wildlife viewing, loved the Linyanti boat trips in particular" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2022
"This was the most rustic (in appearance only) of the lodges we stayed in but was very comfortable, clean and provided all the necessary items and facilities.

The main area (where meals of a good standard are served at a table shared with the owners and all other guests) was very welcoming. There was a constant supply of tea, coffee and rusks or other treats depending on the time of day.

Due to the late rains, the wildlife was not as prolific as on our last stay in the area (at the sister camp Jackelberry) but we very much enjoyed our shared game drives throughout the park. The owner was very engaging, great company and really helpful when we needed to sort out some minor practicalities.

Would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

safari lovers
UK

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2022
"Very glad we booked a couple of nights here. It's the location that is particularly interesting - on Rupara Island . We drove south with the guide through the island to reach the Linyanti Marshes where we hopped on a boat for a really wonderful cruise through the marshes for about 1 1/2 hrs. Eles (from Botswana side) came to drink. many birds etc. Beautiful scenery. We were away from camp about 6 hrs - its called the combo tour. Absolutely worth it.

Simone the manager was very engaging and knowledgable.

Tasty food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr R.
Paia, Hawaii

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2021
"saw many Hippos out of the water in several different places - took a boat ride - saw uncounted Elephants - some very close, with many babies, splashing and swimming in the water . Then they all got out of the water, and started throwing dust on themselves . Saw many Cormorants, and an old male Lion, with a white beard, laying by himself in the shade - What a memorable last day in Namibia!! The tent rooms were quite comfortable - they were mounted on stilts, with a Wonderfull view . I awoke at dawn, to see more Elephants from my private deck, in the distance - out beyond the hedgehogs grazing on the floodplain nearby !" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr J
Coventry

"Huge herd of Buffalo."

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2020
"Loved the fact that we had glass doors and didn't have to mess about with zips.

Again staff very friendly and helpful although the guiding was, in my opinion no where near being up to scratch. Really enjoyed the after dinner chats with the owner about all sort of things. Between us we were able to put the world to rights and forget for that brief moment of time that people like Trump and Borris Johnson even exist.

Like most places we stayed at, game was in short supply. The early rains in October meant that there was a plentiful supply of water in the bush and the wildlife didn't need to come out" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 33
93%
33 reviews of Nkasa Lupala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
10
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (93 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (63 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (60 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


83% (29 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (24 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


94% (21 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


93% (16 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (11 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


95% (11 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


60% (3 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


93% (3 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa