This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge


18°19’46.0"S 23°40’19.4"E

Reviews of Nkasa Lupala

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nkasa Lupala and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nkasa Lupala.
Lion

57% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

14% success

Wild dog

0% success

Hippo

100% success

Elephant

86% success

Zebra

83% success

Wildebeest

71% success

Buffalo

57% success

Giraffe

29% success

Eland

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Dr D & Dr U
UK

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2022
"Great location, lovely staff, good food, great wildlife viewing, loved the Linyanti boat trips in particular" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2022
"This was the most rustic (in appearance only) of the lodges we stayed in but was very comfortable, clean and provided all the necessary items and facilities.

The main area (where meals of a good standard are served at a table shared with the owners and all other guests) was very welcoming. There was a constant supply of tea, coffee and rusks or other treats depending on the time of day.

Due to the late rains, the wildlife was not as prolific as on our last stay in the area (at the sister camp Jackelberry) but we very much enjoyed our shared game drives throughout the park. The owner was very engaging, great company and really helpful when we needed to sort out some minor practicalities.

Would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

safari lovers
UK

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2022
"Very glad we booked a couple of nights here. It's the location that is particularly interesting - on Rupara Island . We drove south with the guide through the island to reach the Linyanti Marshes where we hopped on a boat for a really wonderful cruise through the marshes for about 1 1/2 hrs. Eles (from Botswana side) came to drink. many birds etc. Beautiful scenery. We were away from camp about 6 hrs - its called the combo tour. Absolutely worth it.

Simone the manager was very engaging and knowledgable.

Tasty food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr R.
Paia, Hawaii

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2021
"saw many Hippos out of the water in several different places - took a boat ride - saw uncounted Elephants - some very close, with many babies, splashing and swimming in the water . Then they all got out of the water, and started throwing dust on themselves . Saw many Cormorants, and an old male Lion, with a white beard, laying by himself in the shade - What a memorable last day in Namibia!! The tent rooms were quite comfortable - they were mounted on stilts, with a Wonderfull view . I awoke at dawn, to see more Elephants from my private deck, in the distance - out beyond the hedgehogs grazing on the floodplain nearby !" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr J
Coventry

"Huge herd of Buffalo."

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2020
"Loved the fact that we had glass doors and didn't have to mess about with zips.

Again staff very friendly and helpful although the guiding was, in my opinion no where near being up to scratch. Really enjoyed the after dinner chats with the owner about all sort of things. Between us we were able to put the world to rights and forget for that brief moment of time that people like Trump and Borris Johnson even exist.

Like most places we stayed at, game was in short supply. The early rains in October meant that there was a plentiful supply of water in the bush and the wildlife didn't need to come out" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Good"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Nice spot, with a waterhole.

Did a good game drive and boat ride from here.

Once again everyone sat together for dinner which we think is great." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs B - family
UK

"Serene stay at Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"This is a very remote and peaceful camp. It did have some drawbacks but these did not spoil our stay, which overall was wonderful.

The tented rooms were very small - the bed took up most of the space. During our stay we had no hot water - probably due to the cold nights (around 5C). My daughter and granddaughter did a guided walk with Stefan on the afternoon of our arrival - this was excellent - they got very close to elephants and other wildlife. My husband and I had planned to go on this walk but it was very hot and at the last minute we decided we'd go on the morning walk instead. During dinner the manager apologised and told us there'd be no morning walk as they had only two guides at the camp and they'd both be needed for the morning game drive and boat trip as 10 guests had booked on these excursions. This was disappointing - I do think they should have told us when we booked the morning walk that there was a possibility that it would not go ahead - perhaps they need another guide at the camp to cater for all the guests.

We did a combined game drive and boat trip in the afternoon which I think probably was better than going in the morning - we saw a lot of wild life during the river trip, but not so much wildlife in the park. There was a lot of wildlife around the camp itself (including elephants) The roads are very bad in the park although we did drive in to the camp - it was ok and we are not experienced at driving in sand. Dining here was at a communal table for 18 to 20 guests." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Piotr & Glen
London

"Great alternative type accommodation & safari"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2017
"We really liked staying here as the accommodation - tents on stilts - was different to the other places we stayed so far on the trip or were going to stay afterwards. The food quality was really good and Simone, the owner and manager, was very friendly, welcoming and helped to make our stay really nice, especially by joining us and others for dinner for the first night.

We really enjoyed lazing around the swimming pool (it is small but definitely does the trick and is excellent for cooling down) the following day and then the big combo drive with Derek. It started off quiet but our patience paid off - we came across a really massive male lion that we were tracking in our car for quite a while, until the point that he came across two warthogs - the lion at some point looked like he was going to go for a kill but in the end got too lazy and walked off into the grass.

We then joined a boat cruise and were rewarded with lots of hippos and another spectacular sight - a lioness and two male lions eating an antelope which they must have just killed, followed by the two males rolling around and playing in the grass. Fabulous." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs E
Camden

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2017
"Very good park and activities but tent rooms were a little small and they are bit miserly over water and the charge to get to and from the lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr &a Mrs G
Ringwood

"Fantastic eco-lodge"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"The tented accommodation was very comfortable - built on stilts, private and with stunning views out onto the African wilderness. Water was heated by solar power so don't shower for too long or you won't have hot water the next morning! Hot water bottles awaited us in our beds when returning from dinner which was most welcome. As the camp is not fenced you are escorted from the lodge to your room after dark. The main lodge had fantastic views, different viewing decks, a boma (great for sitting around before and after dinner) and a swimming pool. We really enjoyed sitting around the boma talking to the senior staff who joined us and other guests from around the world. (We started to get to know some guests from previous lodges as were probably following similar routes across the Caprivi.)

Staff were incredibly friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We did a safari walk which was interesting and the safari combo (game drive and boat trip) was our best safari trip on our 3 week holiday. Being on the boat, working our way through the river channels and viewing the game and birds close up was fantastic - so much better than from a car. We felt that the game guides here were particularly accommodating to our needs and we never felt like we were being rushed.

If you wanted to, you could self drive through the game reserve (permit required) and we had the impression that there was a lot of investment and development underway so perhaps this reserve will be even better in the future. What we particularly liked was that this was an eco-lodge with a strong focus on working with the local community.

We would stay here again and if we could, would have extended our visit beyond the two nights we had.

The drive to the lodge was interesting and certainly tested out our 4x4 - doing that drive in the rainy season must be interesting!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 28
92%
28 reviews of Nkasa Lupala by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (88 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (60 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (31 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


84% (27 reviews)
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

Near to Mudumu National Park, Camp Kwando is a comfortable and unfussy option with opportunities for game drives, boat safaris and fishing.


74% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


94% (16 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


91% (14 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


76% (10 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet
Nkasa Linyanti Camp
No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa