This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Kwando
Camp Kwando
Camp Kwando

Reviews of Camp Kwando

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kwando and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
M & M of
Auckland

"Camp Kwando review"

1 night Arrived 14 Dec 2016
"A similar feel to Ndhovu Lodge. Could do with a spruce up.

The food and service were great.

The safari was good but the guide wasn't as engaging as some others we have had." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Mrs C
Lancs

"Camp Kwando"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"It was good to see the local people working here, but they need more training and supervision by the management who tended to stay in the separate office. Reception was poor and unhelpful.

This was the only lodge where they refused to organise a game drive for 2 people (in the morning). We were offered an afternoon drive but with minimal information to help us decide. On the second evening the cook appeared and led her staff in singing a welcome to us that was delightful and very well received. She seemed to have the right idea of what was needed. There was a comfortable seating area and fire pit near the bar.

The road to camp Kwando from Divundu has now been tarmaced and is now good quality." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D & Ms C
Canada

"Camp Kwando stopover"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2015
"Another 1 night stopover after a kinda crappy day we really did not make use of anything other than the restaurant which was decent." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs D
Southampton

"Camp Kwando review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2014
"We have only rated this camp as average due to its superb location, and our pleasant accommodation in a Tree Chalet.

There appears to be a lack of proper management, they'd even forgotten we were arriving. Many staff from the top down appeared rather demoralised, with little effort to keep up any standards. Glasses etc. left on dirty tables or on the deck from one day to the next. Only the barman made an effort to give any service and keep his area clean. The locally recruited staff which we greatly approve of we felt were doing their best, but needed more training and support from the rarely seen management.

On the plus side there seems to be a programme of replacing the old riverside chalets with very nice new ones.
November is not a good time here for wildlife viewing, Mudumu NP was virtually empty." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family H
Bedfordshire

"Camp Kwando review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2014
"The person who we saw at reception didn't give us much info. We overheard a conversation between a staff member and other guests and gleaned much from that.

There was supposed to be wifi but it was impossible.

Lodges were lovely. No hairdryers/straighteners allowed due to intermittent generator.

Sunset cruise was very pleasant although the guides were quite late in spotting wildlife and didn't give a lot of info." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A
Australia

"Loved It"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"A lovely camp beautifully situated on the river.The management, staff and everyone connected with the camp were friendly and extremely helpful.The meals were very good and diverse.

We did a river safari which was extremely enjoyable and Rob tried his hand at fishing with very small results - no big Tiger Fish for him. We also did a game drive with some nice animal sightings and as with the cruise the guide was great.

The Safari tents are beautifully situated on the river and good basic structures.

I would definitely stay at this camp again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Sydney

"Camp Kwando review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2014
"Lovely place to stay, bungalows great, beautiful linen, clean, cosy, verandah was a winner for a sundowner drink, bathroom was fun. great food, good service and well guided activities.Lots of hippos as well as other wildlife but a good place for a rest.

Interesting area to stay as quite traditional, road good although not completed further on from camp so a 4x4 is required if travelling on further." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Staff could have been nicer."

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"One night may have been enough here. Activites were very expensive and dissapointing (we were unlucky with both the drive and cruise but others had better luck). White staff did not acknowledge guests at all. Sat at bar and even took up all seats around the campfire so guests couldnt use it.

A consultant arrived on our last day and greatly improved our experience. He was very friendly and helpful. Short staffed for dinner and resources were low ie no still water no bread etc for day 1. Food was lovely and our Tree House was beautiful. Too expensive expecially after our great experience in Ndhovu." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Family K
London

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"We stayed here two nights on a tour around the Okavango. We picked this lodge in order to see a traditional village and to visit the Mudumu park to the south. Overall we were disappointed with this part of our trip, not because of anything the lodge did or didnt do, but because the N-S main road is being rebuilt and so instead of a short drive down from the main road we encountered a series of temporary surfaces, active road works, and some delay (as well as dust). The drive to Mudumu was hard work and the lack of road signs meant that we missed the park entrance.

The camp is in a nice location on the river. We heard hippo but didnt see any, and we saw plenty of birds.

We had a family chalet (two rooms and bathrooms with a connecting door). This worked to help communication, but with a single high roof meant that we heard almost everything that went on). The rooms looked out directly onto the river with great views of the sunset. We had plenty of room inside and on the veranda, and were far enough away from the fairly busy camp site to have feeling of isolation.

The local traditional village was worth the visit. It was interesting to hear first hand from the locals about how their lives are changing and about how the government is working to capitalise on tourism without any negative impact on the locals.

This camp has a large number of tents and space for camper vans etc, so there is less personal attention. Nonetheless, its a nice enough place to stay. Dinner is served on separate tables but at the same time. The food was good.

Overall we enjoyed the camp. It was a nice place to relax after several hours of difficult driving!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs E & fam
NL

"Camp Kwando"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2012
"We had a pleasant stay. Lodges made from same material local housing of people were build of. Beautiful." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 24
74%
24 reviews of Camp Kwando by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
9
8
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (85 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (59 reviews)
Nkwazi Lodge

Nkwazi Lodge

Standards have slipped at Nkwazi Lodge in recent years which somewhat detract from its scenic location on the banks of the Kavango River.


79% (32 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


82% (26 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (24 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (23 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


92% (13 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


96% (9 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (8 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


70% (2 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


60% (1 review)
Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp

Nambwa Lagoon Camp is a small, tented satellite camp near the Kwando River offering boat trips, birding and game drives.


No reviews yet
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa