This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Camp Kwando
Camp Kwando
Camp Kwando

Reviews of Camp Kwando

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Kwando and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Mrs B
Portugal

"A disappointment"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"The staff were very good and helpful but they were let down by a very indifferent management. There was no atmosphere which stemmed from the management who did not seem to have a lot of interest in us or their job.

Our guide Costa was excellent as was the food and the serving staff. It is a shame that they were let down. Please be aware that if you visit in the rainy season there is no roof on the bathroom! A place we would not revisit." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr G & Mrs M
Portugal

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2012
"The manageress (Rhiannon) really did not want to be there. There was very little welcome from her.

The rooms need updating and there are plans in the pipeline. It so happens that the chef, Dolla, is an old acquaintance of ours from Stanford were we have our South African home. Her food is exquisite and the best we had on the whole trip.

The bar manager (Riaan) was not very sociable and spent all his time with other guests and staff speaking in Afrikaans. Local staff were excellent.

Costa the guide on the river cruise was fantastic, we saw hippos and crocs on a very interesting boat trip. The only downside was when the owner phoned and reminded him we only had two hours. As if it really mattered when we were the only guests (again).

The bathrooms are let down by the fact they are totally open to the elements, not just the shower, so in a heavy rainstorm you get totally soaked." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Morden

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"Lovely setting, although could do with a bit more signage early on the approach road to reassure you that you are on the right road!

Treehouse accommodation was excellent, very roomy with good furnishings, mosquito net and balcony to sit out on. Good large bathroom with bath, shower, toilet and sink. Water comes from the river, so expect to have to pick out various bits of greenery from your bathwater! No tea and coffee making facilities in the room which was disappointing.

On our second day, we went to order a drink at the bar and we noticed a sign saying that the drinks bill (which includes any beverage ordered with dinner) must be checked by guests each night as it can't be changed after that. We felt we should have been told about this rule on arrival, as if a mistake had been made on our first nights drinks bil from dinner, we wouldn't have been able to challenge it as we didn't know about the rule on that day! Incidentally, our drinks bill was wrong on the second night, but luckily, by that time we'd seen the notice so had asked to check it!

On arrival, we booked three activities with the receptionist, boat trip on the afternoon of arrival, mokoro trip at 9am the next morning, and game drive at 2pm the next afternoon. As we were about to go for breakfast at 8am the next morning, a member of staff knocked on the door to collect us for the game drive - we explained we were booked on the game drive for 2pm, but were told we had been booked on for the 8am game drive. As they have a policy of not doing a game drive unless there are at least four people going we were told we wouldn't be able to do a game drive in the afternoon. When we pointed out that it wasn't our mistake that it had been booked for the wrong time, they did agree to take us in the afternoon, but only after a slightly heated exchange, which left us feeling like we didn't really want to go in case it caused bad feeling, so we just spent the afternoon relaxing and enjoying the surroundings.

On speaking to the management later, we were given an apology and told that it was a mistake that the receptionist had made before. The receptionist was told that from then on the bookings have to be done directly through the office, so hopefully this situation won't arise again.

The two trips we did were very good, the afternoon boat trip was relaxing with lovely views and glimpses of hippos, elephant and various birds. The mokoro trip was lovely, with a very different perspective by travelling so low in the river, the mokoro guide was excellent too. Evening meals were of an average standard, but we found the breakfast to be very good - especially the pancakes. The locals that served the meals/breakfast were polite and friendly." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr G x 4
Norway

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Very friendly and informative welcom. Beautiful location and we really enjoyed the evenings by the river with a tremendous amount of sounds and smells. Food were excelllent. We had a boat trip on the river and a game drive in Mudumu National park. We saw a lot of elephants, buffaloes and other plains game.

Very nice place with good atmosphere." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs A x 5
Oxon

"Camp Kwando, beautiful but sterile"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"The rooms and communal areas were very beautiful. The staff were pleasant, but there was absolutely no atmosphere, which was a pity as it could be excellent. The 2 young people who were 'front of house' were very good, and helpful, but too young to give a place some character, probably because they themselves are learning, and doing a job.

The river trip was probably the worst river trip we had, such a contrast from the trip at Ndhovu, we saw little, and frequently saw more than the guide, who had to be prompted to point things out!

This was the only other place we would not want to go back to" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Family L
Sevenoaks

"Camp Kwando review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2011
"Nice "tree house" rooms (actually on stilts not in trees) but the open-plan arrangement was not very practical for non-couples. Water supply problematic - none on arrival, then only cold. When it did work, they turned on sprinklers at 8 am to water the buildings & the river (missing the grounds) - so it stopped in the room!

Water heating by wood burning boiler at 4.00am meant smoke smell in room & flames outside - alarming - a warning would be helpful.

Atmosphere would be improved by using local supervisory staff instead of European/South African gap-year students. African restaurant staff seemed rather 'stiff' & 'following instructions'. Friendly chef introduced each evening meal.

The evening river cruise was limited compared to others.

Where were the management team to deal with problem & queries ?

Having said that the location & facilities were good with great potential to improve the overall experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
6
Whangarei

"Traditional atmosphere at Kwando"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2011
"Located south of Kongola on the Kwando River, traditional style huts on low stilts with open air toilet and shower attached (screened by poles). To get there, you drive past (and through) a local village. Staff and villagers friendly, locals being trained in restaurant trying very hard, but come across as very regimented in their speech. "Enjoy your meal" comes across as a command, rather than a polite by-line.

The food, however, was very good and we did ENJOY. Open air bathroom not good if it rains - keep the toilet paper inside the hut. Two of our group went for a village tour and found the cultural experience informative and interesting. Good interaction with local community.

We drove to the nearby Mudumu National Park which is not at all well set up (yet?). No signage or fences, and when we did find the rangers hut, were given only a hand drawn map which gave us very little to go on. Just keep driving... and turn left... then repeat. We saw very little wildlife in this area, but maybe the wrong time of year.

Evening boat trip was described by one of our group as the scariest time of her life. Dodging Hippos at speed on a narrow waterway was hair-raising. We thought the boat driver was a bit of a cowboy, only succeeding in antagonising the hippo." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
5 friends
Amsterdam

"Very pretty location and attractive lodge"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2009
"For us this was just an overnight stop. It is a beautiful spot." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Epsom

"Relax at Camp Kwando"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2009
"We selected Camp Kwando to relax and unwind after 2 weeks of intensive travel, and were not disappointed. We were met on arrival, allocated two tree houses, assisted with our luggage and allowed to relax completely. Game drives and boat trips were offered, the staff enquiired after our well-being, we were well fed and watered, and were perfectly content. The tree houses are a must for secluded relaxation, beautifully constructed and equipped, 5 star luxury alongside the Kwango." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Great Lodge. Shame about the Management"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"We went to Camp Kwando with some reservations as we had read adverse reviews about it. We determined to keep an open mind but soon had to agree with what has already been said.

The camp is beautiful and in a fabulous spot overlooking the Kwando River. We were met by the receptionist, Constance, who showed us to our tree house and explained about the generator and meal times. No offers to help with our luggage were made (up some very steep stairs). We asked if we could join an evening activity and she said we could go on the boat in half an hour. As we were rushing to shower and change she came back and said we couldn`t go as it was full and the game drive had already gone. The first time we have ever been refused an evening activity, ever, in a camp.

At no time did a member of the management staff ever approach us to introduce themselves or enquire if everthing was OK. There seemed to be little communication between the African staff and the white management. The African staff were willing but had limited English so requests were not passed on.

As the guests moved from the bar to the dining room the managers would then have their drinks and as we came to the end of our meal so they would come to their exclusive table in the dining room. At no time were we asked if we wished to sit with other people and when we requested it one mealtime it seemed to put them out.

We were introduced to the game guide, John, (by another guest) ,who doubled as the barman. We said how much we were looking forward to the morning game drive with him. However in the morning he left wthout us and another couple because of misinformation from a manager.

We have never stayed in a lodge or a camp where the managers took so little notice of the guests and everone commented on it.To the end of our stay we had no idea of their names or function and some of them would pass by on the path and ignore us. It reminded us of a stay in a big city hotel. Not what you expect in a small game lodge.

One last point We felt that in a lodge of this quality a bedside light would have been nice. We feel that Kwando has great potential with a different management style." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 24
74%
24 reviews of Camp Kwando by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
9
8
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Caprivi Strip

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu is a simple riverside lodge, with tents that are reminiscent of safaris a decade or two ago.


88% (126 reviews)
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge is a substantial lodge with a superb location on the Kavango River.


86% (93 reviews)
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (67 reviews)
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

Beside the Kwando River, within Mudumu National Park, Lianshulu is a small safari lodge offering 4WD safaris and river trips – with particularly good birdlife.


91% (60 reviews)
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala

Peaceful Nkasa Lupala is a comfortable lodge in a remote and little-explored area close to Nkasa Rupara National Park.


91% (34 reviews)
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

NNunda River Lodge overlooks a pretty part of the Kavango River near Popa Falls and the productive Mahango National Park.


83% (29 reviews)
Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Ichingo Chobe Lodge

Safari holiday in Namibia's Caprivi Strip, staying at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge on Impalila Island.


97% (24 reviews)
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

A beautiful safari lodge In the remote Bwabwata National Park, Nambwa Tented Lodge brings serious comfort to a relaxing safari.


95% (22 reviews)
River Dance Lodge

River Dance

Build on stilts on the banks of the Kavango River, River Dance Lodge has great views, a relaxed ambience and excellent birdlife.


93% (17 reviews)
Taranga Safari Lodge

Taranga Lodge

Situated on the banks of the Kavango, Taranga Safari Lodge works as a convenient stopover before going onto explore the Caprivi.


75% (11 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


95% (11 reviews)
Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa

Divava Lodge & Spa

The substantial Divava Okavango Lodge & Spa offers plenty of pampering opportunities in an unspoilt riverside setting


91% (7 reviews)
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge is situated on the great Zambezi River; come for relaxation, great birding and boat trips along the Chobe Riverfront.


100% (5 reviews)
Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge, near Kasane in the Caprivi Strip is a very luxurious, high end option for those seeking peace and privacy on the Zambezi River.


85% (4 reviews)
Namushasha Lodge

Namushasha Lodge

One of the larger lodges in the Bwabwata National Park, Namushasha is an economic option with an attractive river-side location.


80% (3 reviews)
Shametu River Lodge

Shametu Lodge

Shametu River Lodge has the best views of the Popa Rapids of any private lodge in the Divundu area.


60% (3 reviews)
Jackalberry Tented Camp

Jackalberry Camp

Jackalberry Camp is uniquely situated in the Nkasa Rupara National Park affording unrivalled access to this little-visited corner of Namibia.


93% (3 reviews)
Kazile Island Lodge

Kazile Island Lodge

On an island in the Kwando River within Bwabwata National Park, the remote Kazile lsland Lodge offers games drives, bush walks and boat cruises.


70% (2 reviews)
Serondela Lodge

Serondela

Accessible only by river, Serondela combines the remoteness of Namibia’s Caprivi Strip with access to Botswana’s flagship Chobe National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Chobe Savanna Lodge stands opposite Chobe National Park, Botswana. Click here to learn more about the area and your options for a safari there.


100% (1 review)
Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas

Chobe Water Villas is a beautiful and thoughtfully designed lodge, in a great location on the Namibian banks of the Chobe River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa