This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs J from Epsom

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Better than we'd hoped or expected.

Namibia and 1 other country between 28 Apr 2009 and 19 May 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our 3 week trip took in Zimbabwe, Botswana & Namibia. Maruska and the rest of the EA team were invaluable in the planning phase.

We completed 3850km (mostly on good tar roads at 120kph) in my brother's 8 year/150,000km-old Toyota Corrolla, without a hitch. Only disappointment: we didn't get a chance to sample the rescue & recovery services. Reports from fellow travellers were however encouraging and there was enough traffic on all roads to give us confidence. Border crossings were troulble free and relatively quick. We used Tom-Tom SatNav with the Southern Africa maps from UK, it was a good supplement to the paper maps and Brandt guidebooks, giving us accurate road mileages and ETAs.

In Bulawayo we stayed at the Banff Lodge: highly recommended. Travel in Zimbabwe was a pleasent surprise: recent changes to make USD & ZAR official have made it much easier for foreigners. There is an air of quiet optimism about, but filling stations, electricity and phone connections are not constantly available, and the neglect of infrastucture & public facility maintenance is quite evident. No problems with immigration/emigration (we did both twice), and people generally very friendly, welcomong and helpful.

The lodges we chose were most satisfactory and exceeded our expectations in many cases, particularly Chitabe Lebida, Etosha Aoba & Camp Kwando. Due to the distances travelled, we did not spend long enough at some ot the locations, but I don't see any way around this as we wanted to drive to get a good feel of the countries visited, maybe next time we'll stay an extra week or two! We would spend more time in the Delta: Chitabe is largely dry and we would liked to have sampled a wetter location too. Similarly, Etosha merits more than just 3 days in the Eastern sector."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Planet Baobab

"Planet Baobab overnight to Maun"

1 night Arrived 2 May 2009
"Our party of 3 stayed overnight driving between Bulawayo & Maun. Very easy to find the lodge off the main road. We only used the bar & restaurant, & our family room. All perfectly adequate, the staff were welcoming & capable, the food & service good. Weather was cold & wet & stormy, so we didn't linger."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

"Rileys, what you see is what you get"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2009
"Description on website is perfectly accurate. Comfortable, efficient but uninspiring venue. Good location, good choice for overnight stop. Interesting history, but no character left in present hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Flawless"

3 nights Arrived 4 May 2009
"Again, your website description of this camp is precise & accurate. It exceeded our expectations in every respect. The unfailingly helpful, warm and friendly staff were natural & genuine, lead by Josie and Newman as particular examples. The 'tent' left us speechless, the food was exceptional, we stayed 2 nights and would have stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Great Potential"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2009
"We arrived after a long drive from Maun, around the West side ot the Okavango Delta and through Shakawe. As anticipated, the approach road was flooded but we were met and shipped efficiently to the Lodge. The owner was absent during our stay, a pity because his deputy seemed to have his hands full most of the time. We mangaed to fit in an excellent boat trip at sunset, Erasmus was an expert spotter,with eyes like a hawk. Otherwise a very satisactory stay, and we'd recommend it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Excellent Venue"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2009
"This was one of the highlights - we stayed 2 nights, one either side of 2 nights at Halali, I wish we had stayed longer. The bungalowas are excellent, as is the bar & dining area, and facilities generally. A perfect spot to relax for a couple of days after a busy time tracking around Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali, base for central Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
"Our grading for this site is influenced by the Premier Bush Chalets we were allocated. Well equipped, conveniently located and the jacuzzi in the private garden was a welcome bonus afer a long day on the gravel roads in the park. It seemed to us that there was more game to be seen in the Eastern half ot the Pan area of the park, we were very satisfied with the number of lions seen, and with the rhino & elephant activity at the Halali waterhole. Your website description is again very accurate, I would recommend this restcamp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Floating on the Okavango at Hakusembe Lodge"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2009
"Given that the site had been under water for a month, two weeks before we arrived, it was in excellent shape. We drove in from Rundu and were thwarted by a deep muddy pool cutting the track into the lodge. Rescued by a passing 4x4, probably worth calling ahead from Rundu if any doubt remains about the suitability of access for 2WD, but since it only floods every 40 years or so, I guess we were just lucky! The welcome was worth waiting for and the pride in and quality of the facilities were a credit to Lena Mudge, the manageress, and her staff. Another great location for a relaxing couple of days by the Okavango River.

We were allocated the floating honeymoon suite, somewhat flattering, but not recommended except for honeymooners: the chemical toilet was far from romantic, the deck in front ot the cabin needed repaiiring after the flood (carefree honeymooners could slip through and be swept away on the flooded river), and the deck needed some furniture. We would have been very much more comfortable in one of the chalets."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Relax at Camp Kwando"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2009
"We selected Camp Kwando to relax and unwind after 2 weeks of intensive travel, and were not disappointed. We were met on arrival, allocated two tree houses, assisted with our luggage and allowed to relax completely. Game drives and boat trips were offered, the staff enquiired after our well-being, we were well fed and watered, and were perfectly content. The tree houses are a must for secluded relaxation, beautifully constructed and equipped, 5 star luxury alongside the Kwango."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Lokuthula Lodges

"Lokothula Lodges, Vic Falls, Zimbabwe"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2009
"These self-catering time-share chalets are well located, equipped and serviced. Popular with travellers and locals, secured from the local wildlife, adjacent to the hotel and the (unconnected) Boma restaurant where we enjoyed an excellent buffet style dinner and great entertainment from the staff, bands, singers, dancers, fortune teller, face painter."
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team