This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Riley's Hotel

Reviews of Riley's Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Riley's Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Riley's Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
"Rooms comfortable, convenient location but restaurant and bar staff slow, get orders wrong and you have to wait hours for food and drinks." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Overnight stay at Rileys Hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2017
"Being in the centre of town this was a very convenient overnight stay before moving on.

The service at dinner was very slow but the food was good." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
York

"Nice place for an overnight"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2016
"Only stayed for one night but in general the hotel seemed very pleasant. Nice grounds, clean and well appointed rooms. Restaurant was good and attractive outdoor pool and bar area.

Staff friendly, however reception staff seemed unfamiliar with procedure for our pickup to connect with first safari camp, and took a little while to get sorted." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Rileys Hotel - a convenient classical"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2013
"We reached Rileys at 11:30 AM after leaving Nxamaseri early in the morning (4 hour drive /360Km). The roads (A35 and A3) although tarred are sometimes severely pot holed, and next to major villages, one can expect an increased frequency of livestock on the road.

We used Rileys just for one day /night in Maun, as we would need a town hotel in order to get organized for the Moremi/ Chobe trip (get supplies, exchanging money, car delivery, etc...). Within walking distance we had the major shopping centre of town with supermarkets, bottle stores, banks etc...

The hotel is a colonial style classic, rooms are spacious and clean and the service adequately good. Breakfast was excellent but the "a la carte" dinner was average/ standard.
The room offered was located on a silent part of the hotel, away from the main road, and we could have a restful evening/ night sleep." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"The place to stay in Maun"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2012
"We opted to stay at Riley's because we wanted to be in the middle of Maun for business-related, rather than "pure" vacation, reasons.

It suited our purposes perfectly as a location and was very pleasant and comfortable to boot, with helpful and friendly staff. Firmly recommended for anyone who needs/wants to be in town." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr C & Ms S
Colorado

"Rileys Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"Riley's had a good shower, but otherwise the food was not that good and the whole place overpriced.

This was our third Cresta hotel of the trip and they were all that way, expensive for what you got. We would have prefered to stay in a b and b or something for that one night in Maun." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Epsom

"Rileys, what you see is what you get"

1 night Arrived 3 May 2009
"Description on website is perfectly accurate. Comfortable, efficient but uninspiring venue. Good location, good choice for overnight stop. Interesting history, but no character left in present hotel." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J
Arizona

"Same old Rileys!!"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Rileys is such a great hotel for location! They were the ONLY place in Botswana that took American Express.

Not a great hotel but familiar, comfortable and clean. Rileys just has it's own personality and we keep going back for more." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
70%
8 reviews of Riley's Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
0
4
4
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maun

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

With its tranquil riverside location, Thamalakane makes an excellent buffer between a tiring long-haul flight and the magic of a safari.


79% (39 reviews)
Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree is a beautiful tented lodge on the outskirts of Maun, in its own private game reserve. With walking trails and delicious meals, it's ideal for a night or two at the start or end of a safari.


88% (33 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa