This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Godalming

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A wonderful safari

Botswana between 10 May 2017 and 24 May 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a varied and always interesting holiday. The camps suggested by Sarah provided contrasting experiences as to the differing types of camp, country and game.

We would certainly recommend anyone who is prepared to accept the relatively basic facilities of a mobile camp to spend some time with Andrew Harkness who was a relaxed, informative and very knowledgeable guide. We felt that nothing that could have been seen was missed.

The bush walk with Scoupe at Tau Pan was the highlight of our stay there.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The out of hours service was excellent when we ran into trouble with our flight from London on the outward journey as it was delayed by three hours putting our connection in Johannesburg at risk. As it happened we made it with seconds to spare. Nevertheless it was very reassuring to be able to speak to someone late at night even though we had made the booking ourselves."

Riley's Hotel

Riley's Hotel

"Overnight stay at Rileys Hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 May 2017
"Being in the centre of town this was a very convenient overnight stay before moving on.

The service at dinner was very slow but the food was good."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

"3 nights at Savute Under Canvas"

3 nights Arrived 11 May 2017
"We were looked after very well for the first two nights but the very poorly on the third when we were the only ones in camp.

As the camp was being relocated the next day, everything had disappeared when we returned from the evening game drive and we got the distinct impression that they wished we weren't there.

However, the game drives with Moronga were enjoyable and informative."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Excellent stay at Little Kwara"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2017
"We enjoyed our stay here. The staff were attentive and helpful and made us very welcome.

Jakob, our guide, and KP, our tracker, made the game drives very interesting finding a good variety of game, including cheetah.

The river trip to the heronry made a welcome variation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari

"Great time with Andrew Harkness"

4 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"This was the highlight of our holiday. Andrew is an excellent guide - very attentive and informative and the game viewing could not have been bettered. He runs a very good operation with excellent staff.

The chef, Patrick, produced some outstanding food from his bush kitchen - the best of our holiday.

We would highly recommend this private mobile safari as a way to experience the bush of the old days. Our tent was very spacious and comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Contrasting experience at Tau Pan"

3 nights Arrived 21 May 2017
"We enjoyed the very different conditions here, particularly the bush walk with Scoupe, which was both informative and amusingly put over.

We were, however, not very impressed with Matt, our guide, who spent much of the time on the drives talking to Scoupe and some of the more interesting spotting was done by the guests on the vehicle. We were confirmed in our view by the fact the driver and guide who took us to the air strip on the last morning gave us comparatively considerably more information during a drive of under an hour."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Holiday in Southern Tanzania

Tanzania and 1 other country between 10 Sep 2013 and 2 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday which generally met or exceeded our expectations. There were no hitches in any of the arrangements made by Expert Africa."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Adventure Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"Phil and Trisha were good hosts.

The standard of accommodation here was more basic than at the other camps (eg no electricity in the tent) and it was therefore a good camp to start with. Solar heating meant that morning showers - after sticky nights - were only lukewarm. Game viewing was excellent and guiding good, although better on the drives than the river. The location was helped by having the river/lake within easy distance which enabled game drives to be alternated with mainly bird watching on the water, although we also saw game, mainly elephants, along the banks.

Although the shower/loo was 'en suite', as it was open to the sky there had to be a mosquito net between the bedroom section and the shower/loo which meant a lot of zipping and unzipping when one went from one to the other, by contrast with all the tents we had at other camps.

The variety of game seen was good, the guides and drivers good and off-roading does enable you to see game which you would not otherwise see. The 'champagne' in the bush, overlooking the river on the first night was a nice touch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2013
"Barbara and her team were good hosts.

Very well set up camp built to a high standard. Restaurant and lounge at first floor level gave an airy atmosphere and good views over river. As with Lake Manze Camp, the location enabled us to alternate river trips with game drives. Hot water always available, which is important in the humid night climate here.

The in-camp service was excellent and we thought the food was very good.

Our guide, Andrew, was particularly good and the game seen was very varied. The off-road driving was quite an experience here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"The fly camp experience was much enjoyed and, with the staff numbers accompanying us, explained the additional cost which, on initial booking, seemed a bit steep. The gradings must be viewed bearing in mind the type of camp.

The food was good and made better by eating in front of the camp fire in the lakeside location.

We enjoyed the foot safari here and Andrew, our guide, was excellent all through.

A good thing to have done."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"Chris was generally in attendance whenever we were in camp and was a good host, interesting and informative.

The game viewing here was particularly good, with probably the widest variety seen, but unlike the other camps we visited, we did not have the same guide every day. We had reservations about our first guide who seemed keener to irritate the elephants on one occasion than to give us good viewing. We therefore appreciated having different guides on other days, who were excellent.

We thought the food - particularly breakfast provided on the drives - of a lower standard than the other camps, although it was perfectly adequate. We enjoyed the buffet evening meals on the river bed under the stars and with the odd elephant strolling about.

The tent was well planned and fitted out. Nights were cooler than in Selous and constant hot water not so much of a factor.

The service was excellent and we preferred the system of having a tip box for all staff, including drivers and guides."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"We very much enjoyed our stay here. Brian and his staff were particularly welcoming and all the staff were excellent. The game seen was less in number (other than elephant) and in variety than all the other camps, but we saw very few other tourists while there and on two days, nobody else. We chose Selous and Ruaha rather than, say, Kenya, particularly for this reason.

Our guide Kim was pleasant, humorous and very informative.

The tent was the largest of all we had on the holiday, well laid out and to a high standard.

The food was very good, as was the service generally."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

6 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"We had a pleasant six days rest and relaxation here. Sara was a good host.

Service and food were excellent and the banda was well laid out and equipped.

The activities were OK for filling out the days, but not particularly exciting."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"Jafferji House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Did not quite live up to expectations - the room (Adnan Suite) was unusual and looked better in the photograph than in the flesh. It had no windows with a view (the only two were very small and looked out on untidy roofs/condenser units &etc). The room was therefore gloomy and depended on its air conditioning.

Breakfast was good and the one evening meal we had was adequate. The general staff were very willing, but their understanding of English was not good and we had some minor problems in getting what we wanted sent to the room. By contrast, the reception staff were excellent.

The hotel was less than full and the dining room mostly had only one other table occupied while we were there and the atmosphere was flat.

We had the other evening meal out at the Emerson Spice Roof Restaurant which was outstanding."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team