This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp

Reviews of Jongomero Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

46 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jongomero Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jongomero Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

86% success

Eland

43% success

Spotted Hyena

17% success

Roan antelope

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 46
Duration
Arrival date
Chris
Germany

"Stylish and with a slightly colonial touch"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2024
"Jongomero Camp is situated in a remote, quiet location in the southern national park. The camp can be reached in 5 minutes via its own airstrip. If this airstrip is closed due to too much rain, the camp can be reached via road from the main airstrip (Msembe Airstrip). The drive takes about 2 hours (Jongomero Camp is also halfway to the recommended Usangu Camp).

The camp is slightly elevated in relation to the Jongomero River. The main area consists of a lounge and a dining room. The lounge area is furnished with sofas, armchairs, leather stools, coffee tables and carpets. There is also a bar and a small library. The dining area is separated from the lounge area by a corridor. There are individual tables for meals here. Further tables are located near the river and on different levels, slightly away from the main area. The tables are made of wood and could be renewed. They do not quite fit in with the otherwise positive impression of the camp. This also applies in part to the wicker chairs, i.e. the weave is coming loose. There is also a pool set into a raised platform as well as a fitness room (who needs it).

Canvas tents built on raised wooden platforms, each with an additional thatched roof for extra sun protection. Equipped with wooden furniture, double bed, bedside table, small desk and armchair. Electricity is unfortunately a little inconveniently positioned, i.e. to the side of the bed and almost at ground level. The bedside tables also cover the sockets. A private veranda with seating and lounging areas is located in front of the sleeping area. Directly behind the bed is a large en-suite bathroom, which is separated by a canvas wall. There is a double washbasin, a toilet (with a partition to the washbasins) and a large shower. There is hot and cold water and electricity available around the clock.

About the lighting: I personally find it a bit unfortunate, i.e. there are 10 or 11 lamps. They can only be switched on individually and are not very bright (and always on when i´m back).

The staff took good care of my well-being. All wishes were fulfilled without being intrusive. The food was on a par with the selection at other camps. Unfortunately, the preparation and quality was only average.

The guiding was mostly good. Unfortunately, a morning game drive was completely inappropriate. On the main route towards the main air strip, a stop was made at another camp (Asanja Ruaha) in the staff area. The tire pressure on all four tires was topped up there. I did not question this. It was also too late at this point. But I can ask myself whether the Jongomero Camp has no possibility to refill the tire pressure. After this stop, we returned to the main road with a short excursion on a side road. All in all, we drove a lot without really seeing any animals. In any case, the guide could have communicated better in advance.

I would generally recommend the camp to others. However, if you are looking for a camp so far away from most camps, I would prefer Usangu Camp to Jongomero Camp." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Holland

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Jongomero is an excellent camp and we loved staying there, it was our favourite place during our honeymoon.

When we arrived, all the staff came out to sing a song to welcome us to the camp and from then on, everything was top quality. The management team were excellent and explained everything when we arrived. There is loads of attention to detail, particularly with the housekeeping and the accommodation. Our tent was fantastic with wooden floor and bathroom, and a beautiful view onto the riverbed. The bed is absolutely huge and so comfortable!

We loved our guide Vincent and he was extremely knowledgable. We also did a walking safari with Giovanni, who was very experienced and friendly. We saw less animals compared with our second camp but the whole experience felt extremely special. We did see loads of different birds and it's a great place for bird-lovers. We would definitely come back to Jongomero.

The quality of the drinking water was excellent and is double filtered so tasted really fresh and nice. The food was excellent for bush breakfast and lunch. The only slight negative was some of the dinners weren't that great and the chicken was very tough." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

M & C
London

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2019
"A truly wild, but luxurious experience. The managers, Theo and Mike, made every visitor feel welcome and part of lodge.

Great location on the Jongo river, which was in full flow after recent rains (late December) - and also several storms while we were in Camp. Amazing bird life, and flocks of butterflies. Other game harder to see in the high grass, but sufficient to keep us satisfied. Some river crossings were inaccessible through high water, which limited the directioins of the game drives." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Maldon

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"The camp is situated next to a partly dried up river in a very remote part of Ruaha. The visitor is always aware of the wildlife that visits throughout the day and night. The night skies are also amazing.

The service level was even better than Siwandu and the food was exceptional.

Our guide throughout was Apollo, who was knowledgeable and experienced. Again, we were fortunate to have Apollo for the entire stay. He was patient, and paced each safari trip. There was no feeling of being rushed or chasing after wildlife.

In addition to the survey we saw a family of Jackals and many Kudu.

The staff at the camp helped in the celebration of a special birthday making it memorable." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Family G
Newbury

"Amazing safari at Jongomero"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Staff were very good, but not quite as good as the staff at Siwandu.

Similarly, the food, although very good, was not quite as good as that at Siwandu.

The safari was different to Siwandu, but together made a good combination. The guides were very good, and a lot of fun." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D
Worcs

"Wonderful location"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"This was a great camp. The location was great, and the wildlife sightings were numerous.

The staff were really friendly, and it was great that we had individual tables and were not forced to socialise. The camp was almost empty so we had our own private guide, which was an unexpected bonus." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs L.
London

"Fantastic experience at Jongomero Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"Our stay at Jongomero was brilliant.

The location is beautiful and remote. We saw no vehicles from other camps and had a genuine remote bush experience but with luxury tents.

Our guide, Giovanni, was brilliant with impressive tracking skills and was very informative. He was good humoured and fun with the kids. We saw large numbers of animals and especially elephants and enjoyed bush breakfasts by the river which was full of hippos.

A magical experience all round." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

W Party
Chorleywood

"Lovely remote camp."

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"An extremely well run camp; friendly and professional. Emiel, the manager, was extremely efficient and tailor made our safaris for us so that we set off early and came back for brunch. Our waiter, Christian couldn't have been more helpful but was never intrusive.

The location of the camp in Ruaha is fantastic: remote with beautiful scenery and plenty of water.

Our guide, Lambert, was a very good all-round naturalist, who took us to many different spots and was sensitive to when we wanted to stop for birds but managed to show us many animals as well.

The transfer to Kigelia was a great success with good viewing all the way and timed perfectly by Lambert." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"A beautiful secluded camp situated on the banks of a sand river up which elephants roamed every afternoon.Spotlessly clean and spacious accommodation. in canvas tents under thatch with lovely hard wood floors. Food very tasty and staff very ( perhaps a little over) attentive.

The managers Chris and Sam were very friendly and approachable but we felt that they could do more to integrate the guests. We still do not like separate dining and their way of keeping everyone apart is ridiculous when there are only a few people staying. We were given very little opportunity to talk to anyone else however we did know that this was their policy before we went so were prepared for it.

We were assigned our own guide, Allen, for the whole stay. He was good company very experienced and showed and taught us a lot but it reenforced the separation of guests.

Ruaha was beautiful and we had excellent sightings of lion, leopard, lesser Kudu and many new birds" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Bucks

"Professional but 'corporate' stay"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"We came to Jongomero following a fly camping experience that was second to none......so the expectation levels were high. That said, the desire for comfort, a shower and space to stretch out was higher!

We were not disappointed by the facilities on offer - a 'real' shower, a flushing toilet and space were very welcome.......the other guests (Tsetse flies) were less welcome, but I guess that's outside Jongo's control!

The rest of the stay was enjoyable with a good walking safari and game drive - the meals were good too.

Some of the elements felt a little stilted or formulaic, however - the chef announcing the dinner menu was a nice touch, but too formal for us. The focus on the 'bottom line' also felt too corporate and less relaxed than we'd have liked - we were charged for sun-downers, for example. Rather than a celebration of the day, it felt like an exercise in accounting. I don't mind paying (we consumed it after all) but don't recall every seeing a wine list or price list anywhere.........maybe I should have altered my expectations.

Jongomero had all the right components, but lacked some hard to define sense of warmth or 'family'." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 46
96%
46 reviews of Jongomero Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
38
7
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (132 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (111 reviews)
Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka Safari Camp

Upmarket and stylish, Ikuka Safari Camp is set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (55 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (33 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (25 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


96% (5 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa