This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp

Reviews of Jongomero Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jongomero Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jongomero Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

40% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

20% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
M & C
London

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2019
"A truly wild, but luxurious experience. The managers, Theo and Mike, made every visitor feel welcome and part of lodge.

Great location on the Jongo river, which was in full flow after recent rains (late December) - and also several storms while we were in Camp. Amazing bird life, and flocks of butterflies. Other game harder to see in the high grass, but sufficient to keep us satisfied. Some river crossings were inaccessible through high water, which limited the directioins of the game drives." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
Maldon

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2019
"The camp is situated next to a partly dried up river in a very remote part of Ruaha. The visitor is always aware of the wildlife that visits throughout the day and night. The night skies are also amazing.

The service level was even better than Siwandu and the food was exceptional.

Our guide throughout was Apollo, who was knowledgeable and experienced. Again, we were fortunate to have Apollo for the entire stay. He was patient, and paced each safari trip. There was no feeling of being rushed or chasing after wildlife.

In addition to the survey we saw a family of Jackals and many Kudu.

The staff at the camp helped in the celebration of a special birthday making it memorable." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Family G
Newbury

"Amazing safari at Jongomero"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Staff were very good, but not quite as good as the staff at Siwandu.

Similarly, the food, although very good, was not quite as good as that at Siwandu.

The safari was different to Siwandu, but together made a good combination. The guides were very good, and a lot of fun." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs D
Worcs

"Wonderful location"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"This was a great camp. The location was great, and the wildlife sightings were numerous.

The staff were really friendly, and it was great that we had individual tables and were not forced to socialise. The camp was almost empty so we had our own private guide, which was an unexpected bonus." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs L.
London

"Fantastic experience at Jongomero Camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2019
"Our stay at Jongomero was brilliant.

The location is beautiful and remote. We saw no vehicles from other camps and had a genuine remote bush experience but with luxury tents.

Our guide, Giovanni, was brilliant with impressive tracking skills and was very informative. He was good humoured and fun with the kids. We saw large numbers of animals and especially elephants and enjoyed bush breakfasts by the river which was full of hippos.

A magical experience all round." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

W Party
Chorleywood

"Lovely remote camp."

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"An extremely well run camp; friendly and professional. Emiel, the manager, was extremely efficient and tailor made our safaris for us so that we set off early and came back for brunch. Our waiter, Christian couldn't have been more helpful but was never intrusive.

The location of the camp in Ruaha is fantastic: remote with beautiful scenery and plenty of water.

Our guide, Lambert, was a very good all-round naturalist, who took us to many different spots and was sensitive to when we wanted to stop for birds but managed to show us many animals as well.

The transfer to Kigelia was a great success with good viewing all the way and timed perfectly by Lambert." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
Northants

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"A beautiful secluded camp situated on the banks of a sand river up which elephants roamed every afternoon.Spotlessly clean and spacious accommodation. in canvas tents under thatch with lovely hard wood floors. Food very tasty and staff very ( perhaps a little over) attentive.

The managers Chris and Sam were very friendly and approachable but we felt that they could do more to integrate the guests. We still do not like separate dining and their way of keeping everyone apart is ridiculous when there are only a few people staying. We were given very little opportunity to talk to anyone else however we did know that this was their policy before we went so were prepared for it.

We were assigned our own guide, Allen, for the whole stay. He was good company very experienced and showed and taught us a lot but it reenforced the separation of guests.

Ruaha was beautiful and we had excellent sightings of lion, leopard, lesser Kudu and many new birds" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Bucks

"Professional but 'corporate' stay"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"We came to Jongomero following a fly camping experience that was second to none......so the expectation levels were high. That said, the desire for comfort, a shower and space to stretch out was higher!

We were not disappointed by the facilities on offer - a 'real' shower, a flushing toilet and space were very welcome.......the other guests (Tsetse flies) were less welcome, but I guess that's outside Jongo's control!

The rest of the stay was enjoyable with a good walking safari and game drive - the meals were good too.

Some of the elements felt a little stilted or formulaic, however - the chef announcing the dinner menu was a nice touch, but too formal for us. The focus on the 'bottom line' also felt too corporate and less relaxed than we'd have liked - we were charged for sun-downers, for example. Rather than a celebration of the day, it felt like an exercise in accounting. I don't mind paying (we consumed it after all) but don't recall every seeing a wine list or price list anywhere.........maybe I should have altered my expectations.

Jongomero had all the right components, but lacked some hard to define sense of warmth or 'family'." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs
New Jersey

"Best 60th birthday"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2016
"As the elephant herd came right up to the camp dining room wall to wish me a happy birthday how could I have anything but praise for Jongomero?

Our 4 day stay was packed with sightings by our very knowledgable guide Prosper. He gets my vote as best guide of our 14 day safari. The food was excellent and beautifully presented but I would have liked it to have a bit more African tilt.

The tent was spacious and comfortable and you could view game in or across the riverbed just by sitting on our deck. The park around Jongomero had a different vegetation (larger trees, more water) than the other places we stayed so I was happy to see the difference in animal/bird viewing.

Don't worry about the tsese flies. They don't eat much and hurt less than the ones on the Jersey shore." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hammersmit

"Beautiful camp, amazing food!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2016
"Much more luxurious than our previous camp, the rooms were amazing, hardly felt like you were in a tent! We had everything we could possibly want including wonderful views down the river. Again all our needs were met, hot water bottles, tetse fly swats, burning elephant dung to ward off flies! They had thought of everything.

The food was quite exceptional, we were seriously impressed with it, the chef is a genius!

Lovely pool where we were able to watch elephants and baboons on the opposite bank!

The guiding was good, but not excellent, our guide was very knowledgeable but sometimes seemed reluctant to give us more information about something we had seen. That said, we had some fantastic game drives, it is extraordinarily beautiful around Jongomero and the feeling that you are so far from anyone else and not seeing a single other car was really special.

We were very well looked after here." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 1-10 of 44
96%
44 reviews of Jongomero Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa