This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp

Reviews of Jongomero Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jongomero Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jongomero Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

40% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

20% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Ms P
London

"Superb camp in remote Ruaha"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2012
"Jongomero is a superb camp in a remote corner of already remote Ruaha - there are no other camps nearby, so you really feel as though you have the world to yourself. The camp itself is stunning, set on the banks of the Jongomero river (which was dry when I was there): the tents, on raised platforms and with thatched roofs, are huge and extremely comfortable; the balcony, with a luxurious day bed, was the perfect spot to start the day with a cup of tea watching the sky light up.

The food was excellent; I especially enjoyed lunches, which always featured lots of fresh salads. A real highlight are the people: not just Noelle and Molly, the camp's exuberant managers, and Kim, my delightful guide, but every single person providing exceptional service - there is a real sense of commitment and continuity there. Do go on a walking safari with Molly if you can (I never thought I would say this about a safari holiday, but learning about termite mounds was a highlight).

Overall, one of the best safari lodges I have stayed at in Africa." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs TD
SW London

"Luxury wilderness at Jongomero"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2012
"Jongomero is a kind of paradise: remote by design and beautifully crafted into the surrounding river bed and bush it's impossible not be captivated by the place. The accommodation is stunning and that word runs through every aspect of this magical spot. 60km from the nearest camp and separated by the small mountains that run through the Ruaha National Park, it feels here that you're privileged to experience a piece of Africa as rare as it is special. Never have we been so happy to get a morning wake up call, never have we been so satisfied at being a few steps removed from the outside world. Just perfect.

But paradise isn't just about the place, it's about the people and Molly, Noel and their team offer all the easy company and charm you could want to bring the experience alive. Indeed their infectious enthusiasm for Jongomero and the surrounding bush is exactly that - infectious. And they work tirelessly to ensure every aspect of your time with them builds towards an experience you'll never forget. I wont go into the little details and surprises, suffice to say that you wont ever want to leave.

A couple of specifics worthy of note though. Firstly, the menus that Noel works with the catering team to develop are inspired. We loved every meal and left wishing we could take the recipes with us (not that we'd have the expertise to deliver them with anything like the panache of the outstanding chefs). Secondly, Molly is a font of knowledge and, at the risk of repeating every review on Trip Advisor and probably Expert Africa too, a walking safari with him is a must - he'll unearth a whole world of detail, richness and colour in the bush that you otherwise wouldn't know existed.

My wife and I have travelled pretty extensively over the last decade and in just two and half days, Jongomero acquired a very special place among our travelling memories. The place can't help but get under your skin and you can't help but be delighted when it has." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2012
"The tents were well equipped. Food was excellent, served to individual tables in different locations each night.

Our guides (Kim and Modest) were very good and the games drives well organised and well driven. The drives started at 8.00 am. We appreciated the anti tsetse fly device. Amongst other animals we saw a honey badger, lion cubs on a kill, kudu, ostriches, hippo, jackal, a little owl, and many elephants digging in the sand river. There were lions, elephant and hyenas in the camp at night.

Molly and Noelle were very good and informative hosts, and we enjoyed the 'showing of the book'." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms J
N London

"Great place for safari away from crowds"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2012
"One thing we wanted from our safari was to feel out in the wild and away from everything. We chose to go somewhere without many other camps around, so that we weren't surrounded by lots of other jeeps. Jongomero was perfect for this, it did mean a slightly longer plane journey from Dar-es-Salaam but I think it was worth it. Most days we only ever came across one other jeep which meant it didn't feel too touristy...

The camp was really nice especially the decor of the main lodge and the staff were great in terms of service, but also very interesting and fun people who made the experience all the more enjoyable. There was a lovely feel to the place.

The nights were quite cold, but the extra touch of hot water bottles in the beds meant it was fine to get a good nights sleep.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs H
Berks

"Jongomero Camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2012
"Camp is very well run - tents are spacious and comfortable with great views. Food excellent - location rather remote so you feel you have Ruaha to yourself - which is both good and bad - as animals are not so used to the vehicles and tend to run away and there is not the bush telegraph between giudes to share sightings of animals.

Guiding was OK but we did repeat the route twice and heard the same information several times." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Cheshire

"Jongomero Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2012
"Arriving at the camp to the staff lined up singing a welcome greeting and providing cool towels and a little tipple was absolutely fantastic!!

The view over the river bed from the reception area was breathtaking and I'm sure we will find it hard to ever see anything like it elsewhere.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean and tidy with spectacular views over the river and surrounding bush. There is nothing nicer than watching monkey's playing in the trees from bed with an early morning cuppa.

The food here really was something special. It was very much appreciated that efforts were made to provide an alternative choice after having an upset stomch over one night. Molly was an excellent host which gave this camp a generally more relaxed feel compared to Selous.

Sadly we were unable to do a walking safari with Molly due to the bush being very dense after the rains, however the jeep safaris were fantastic. It was nice to do a long day trip to see the slightly different landscape of the plains were it was generally easier to spot the wildlife than closer to the camp.

We felt that the animals here were less skittish than at Selous and we were able to have some close encounters with lion and elephant. The river scenery was lovely and a change to what we saw at Selous. Tetse flies were around, but burinng elephant poo on the back of the jeep appeared to help to keep them at bay.

A highlight was finding a leopard sleeping in the bough of a Baobab tree, thanks to the keen eyes of our guide Kim. Kim made our jeep drives something to treasure with his extensive knowledge and experience with the wildlife!

Overall this camp was extremely relaxing a nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We really felt the sense of being away from the outside world and it was well worth making the journey from Selous! Congratulations to Molly and the team!
" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H & Mr S
UK

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2011
"We had a wonderful four nights at Jongomero. It is a luxurious camp in a beautiful remote, wild setting and yet we wanted for nothing. The view from the tent across the river (dry in August) was amazing and we could sit on the veranda watching elephants.

The extra touches at this camp made for a special ending to our trip to Tanzania - the hot water bottles in bed at night, the welcome notes left on pillows and the Swahili proverb of the day were a delightful touch. We had a great guide/driver in Modest whose knowledge was exceptional as was his communication in English and we had a lot of fun. Watching a family of elephants bathe in the river was a fabulous experience as was hearing lions roaring in the camp at night!

Perhaps the best moment was walking for four hours in the bush with Molly, the camp manager and having our eyes opened to a whole new world completely free from man's influence." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Jongomero Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2011
"The overall experience was so good that the tetse fly became insignificant a wonderful experience" See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Streatham

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"Jongomero is in a super league of its own and it was a truly wonderful experience to have been there. The accommodation, food, atmosphere and service are fantastic; it's almost as intimate as staying over with friends for a few days.

Molly and Noelle, run it like 'a family', and clearly command affection and respect from their staff, which is lovely to see and we experienced the benefits.

There are so many nice little touches from all the staff - you are being looked after by people passionate about their work (they even sing you a welcome in Swahili) As a guide Molly is just amazing, so knowledgeable, informative and friendly - he is inspirational! If you could only recommend one lodge, it should be this one!
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Streatham

"Absolutely brilliant stay at Jongomero"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"We had a great stay at Jongomero, its remote location was the main attraction to us. You only saw the odd safari wagon from the same camp, there was no one else around.

The camp Manager Molly was absolutely brilliant, as was his partner Noelle.

Molly had the greatest knowledge of wildlife that we have ever met, and this was our sixth safari." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 44
96%
44 reviews of Jongomero Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa