This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp
Jongomero Camp

Reviews of Jongomero Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jongomero Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2019, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Jongomero Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

40% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

80% success

Eland

20% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Sweden

"A wonderful safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"Loved Jongomero! Staff and guides were friendly, helpful and the service was excellent. The safari drives were fantastic and very educational. I learnt a lot as well as seeing so many fantastic animals, birds, trees and plants.

Excellent food and relaxed atmosphere." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Devon

"Jongomero"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2013
"From the moment of our arrival, when we were greeted by Brian and all the staff singing what we presume was an African greeting, and having cool face towels and an drink to wash away the dust, was a great start.

Our "tent" was exceptional, with the veranda overlooking the dry river bed, exceeded our expectations.

Kim, who was our guide and driver during our stay was excellent, gentle, with a deep knowledge of birds animals and plants.

Everything about the camp was great, including the unexpected presentation of a cake to celebrate our golden wedding." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs E
Dorset

"Amazing location"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"Amazing location with excellent facilities in camp and on the drives.

Outstanding guide, Frank, who made every effort to interact with us and respond accordingly.

Brian was an excellent host very aware of the characteristics and demands of his guests.

He also clearly had a very good knowledge of the wildlife, not simply the 'big' mammals." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"We very much enjoyed our stay here. Brian and his staff were particularly welcoming and all the staff were excellent. The game seen was less in number (other than elephant) and in variety than all the other camps, but we saw very few other tourists while there and on two days, nobody else. We chose Selous and Ruaha rather than, say, Kenya, particularly for this reason.

Our guide Kim was pleasant, humorous and very informative.

The tent was the largest of all we had on the holiday, well laid out and to a high standard.

The food was very good, as was the service generally." See all these reviews: 19n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Very comfortable camp in quiet part of ruaha"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"The camp is ideal for a few nights straight off the plane. It is very comfortable, friendly and low pressure. The food is excellent as was our guide. There is plenty of game but the bush is fairly thick so you need good eyes.

It was an ideal start to the trip for us and if you are going on to another part of the park it is very different and sets the scene nicely." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The S family
Drayton

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Good location, though Jongomero River dried up at this time of year so no boat safaris, only drives
Luxurious tents
Loved the welcome song from the camp choir
Manager very attentive and helpful
Good staff
Liked the sundowners on the afternoon trips
Excellent food served at tables in the riverbed, underneath the Milky Way" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2013
"This was our second year in Jongomero which had a new manager Brian. However everything seemed as lovely as ever with very few changes and very good staff. Our tent No 4 was beautiful with some of the most comfortable beds we have experienced on safari. The food was as excellent as ever, we all sat together for the lunches and at separate tables(sometimes in the sand river) for dinner.

We did game drives twice a day sometimes alone or sometimes with one other couple, with our excellent driver Frank. Although it is harder to find game here, Frank made sure we saw almost as much game as in our first camp in the Selous, and a good variety of birds (the birdsong in camp is lovely). The thing that stands out are the Elephants, the large numbers of them in the beautiful woodland and drinking in the sand river. We missed the resident elephant family, Mother, Teresa and Benedict but the male elephant Bob still travelled through camp, drinking at the pool, causing some excitement.

We also saw quite a number of lions, and we could tell from the roars and footprints that there had been a lion visit during our last night in camp. The only drawback is the camp's sand paths which make walking in sandals uncomfortable - we should have had better walking shoes." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 3n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Hong Kong

"Jongomero Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"Perched overlooking the Jongomero river, the camp is in an idyllic spot where elephants freely roam throughout the camp and where a Masai guide with a gun is non-negotiable to get to your room -- here you are really truly in the heart of the bush. Although lacking the Siwandu lake and the water ecosystem that it nurtures, Jongomero does have the Ruaha river which teams with hippos, crocs, baboons, elephants, and giraffe.

Bryan and his team also run a tight ship -- the camp also logistically and chronologically works very well. The service and commitment to guest happiness was impeccable -- for example, when they realized they did not stock my favorite Irish Whiskey (Jameson) -- they literally got a shipment flown in from Dar expecially for me the next day: WOW!!

The hot water under the duvet in your bed waiting for you upon arrival at your tent was FANTASTIC....as it gets chilly in evening and morning during the dry season. The caliber of the guides at Jongo was superior than Siwandu: better Englsih and more engaging/knowledgable.

The food at Jongomero was the opposite of Siwandu: these guys got it right: grilled meats, salads, whole grains....definitely healthy eating: very impressive." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Volcano

"Great camp"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2013
"Beautiful and spacious rooms with fantastic furnishings made from old dhow wood.. New manager, Bryan, is working very hard to ensure that guests have a wonderful experience.

Game viewing was average, and way more skittish than what we experienced at the other end of Ruaha (Mwagusi River area). Roads available for game viewing were a bit limited, hence routes were often repeated. Elephants very vehicle-shy as were impala." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & Mrs W
Oxford

"Homely isolation"

3 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2012
"it has a lovely atmosphere and very quiet and special feel next to the river. The safari trips are tricky as the vegetation is very thick and u drive a lot to see a little. Two families at the camp were quite bored I would say not a camp for kids at all.

The staff were exceptional and ur guide so lovely. You may wish to know that Molly who runs the camp is leaving and that will be a blow to the set up

We were disappointed that walking with Molly was off as the vegetation was too thick. In fact in this area hardly ever does walking at this time of year

3 days was enough here but we did really enjoy it" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 44
96%
44 reviews of Jongomero Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
6
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (117 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa