This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Cheshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Overall an excellent trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 19 Sep 2013 and 2 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We love Ruaha and will doubtless go back in the future, Having been twice we will probably not return to Zanzibar although it is convenient for the beach following a week in the Tanzanian Parks. The atmosphere in Z is not great and I have a strong suspicion that a lot of people resent tourists.

I would not recommend transit through Nairobi try to fly direct to Dar.

Congratulations to Fox who held the flight (KA were late) so that we could connect to Jongomero.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No. I will use you again."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

"Very comfortable camp in quiet part of ruaha"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"The camp is ideal for a few nights straight off the plane. It is very comfortable, friendly and low pressure. The food is excellent as was our guide. There is plenty of game but the bush is fairly thick so you need good eyes.

It was an ideal start to the trip for us and if you are going on to another part of the park it is very different and sets the scene nicely."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"great location but just a bit too big"

3 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"Brilliant guides, great viewing, luxury accommodation, good food, excellent staff and management but just too big for us."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kilindi

Kilindi

"Perfect location opportunity to deliver more"

6 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"Great location, brilliant rooms and facilities. New management is looking to raise standards and deliver more.

We thought the food was average and did not like the personal butler system."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

2 weeks in Tanzania

Tanzania and 1 other country between 26 Sep 2010 and 10 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"In general the trip was brilliant. All went to plan so well done Expert Africa.

We do this sort of thing every 2 to 3 years so we will be in touch next time.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I could not fault anything. The wrong place in Stone Town was my fault for turning down the Serena Inn."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Safari at Sand Rivers"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"We arrived with some other Expert Africa customers and were paired with them during our stay although we had very little in common. This would not have been a problem if the guide had decided on each days activities but he tended to ask the guests and as one of the other couple was significantly incapacitated we tended to go along with their suggestions.

Game was plentiful but it was difficult to get close as the animals were extremely skittish which we were told may have been caused by an increase in poaching."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Brilliant 3 days at Kwihala"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"Absolutely brilliant 3 days with Pietro Luraschi. If there's a more empathic guide in Tanzania I would like to meet him.

Great game viewing, great location and luckily other like minded guests. No safari snobs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"A week on the beach at Matemwe"

7 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"Great staff, great food, comfortable accommodation all in a lovely spot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"One night at Beyt al Chai"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"Should have stayed at the Serena Inn!"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team