This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge
Matemwe Lodge

Reviews of Matemwe Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Matemwe Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Barcelona

"Everything was wonderful at Matemwe."

7 nights Arrived 28 Feb 2020
"Everything was wonderful at Matemwe. The only thing that was slightly dissapointing was the fact that swimming was not very comfortable because of the sea urchins. One can only swim at high tide which changes its timetable constantly... However, the island in front of the hotel was amazing for swimming.

3 days ago, I sent them an email saying we had lost some prescription glasses during our visit. They haven't answered yet....I offered to pay shipping expenses, if they happen to find them, but no news" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
London

"Matemwe Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"Perched on the beach cliffs on the eastern side of the island, you won't get closer to the sea than Matemwe.

The lodge is perfectly located for snorkelling at Mnemba Island which is the best we've ever experienced and an absolute must! They also offer reef walks and a visit to the local fish market, which is so much fun to see especially if you've watched all the fisherman motoring back with their daily catch.

Other benefits: great food, friendly and helpful staff, two different pools, and a nice bar area where the bush babies will come to visit for their breakfast at sundown every evening.

One thing to consider: because of the lodge's proximity to the ocean and the strength of the tidal surf, there is the feeling that everything in your room is just a little damp all the time." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Matemwe Lodge"

5 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2019
"We were met at Zanzibar Airport by charming driver and were very glad to be so safely driven in air conditioned car as the heat and humidity was dreadful. We were both shocked by the final 20 minutes of the journey through abject very poverty stricken village scattered with litter and plastic on an extremely rough narrow track which seemed to go on and on. Not what we had imagined at all.

We were shown around by Marco and our chalet which was No 7 situated quite a distance from the main dining area and pool. The door was fastened by a massive padlock which needed to be unlocked every time we entered. We were aware of tall security cameras although Ross insisted there was no problem.Two fans battled to keep pace with the heat. Thank heavens for the sea breeze or I would have expired.

We both felt very marooned at the end of that track and would have returned home early but for the extra cost, as detailed in our email to yourselves dated 13 March. There was great disappointment when we discovered that even at high tide the sea was really not deep enough for swimming. The sea and the shoreline was not clean. The further away from the Lodge the dirtier the beach became and the more we were hassled by persistent locals trying to sell us things. Not enjoyable. We saw small boys doing poos on the shoreline...

The trips on offer were expensive. $200 to visit Stone Town which had very little of interest or beauty to look at and was unbearably hot. The Lodge driver took us and lost us for an irritating 10 minutes. We do believe that Ross and Gina are doing great work in the community and wish them well but we would certainly never return. It was a disappointing end to our otherwise great trip. The food though was very good and the kitchen and dining staff very nice." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Safari addict
UK

"Ideal location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Quite a long trip through the traffic to get to the lodge's remote location but definately worth it. The sea was literally lapping at the front of the room. The property is very well managed and the staff were excellent - could not have been more helpful.

When we booked Expert Africa did alert the hotel to my wife's mobility issues and we were told there would just be a few steps up to the room, however, as one of the staff commented, there are "quite a lot of steps on the property". The staff were really helpful so my wife did just about manage." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Matemwe Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2018
"This was suppose to be the relaxation part of our safari, but we found the whole transition very jarring and unpleasant. The contrast to the bush was so stark and discombobulating. I would not recommend this facility for the transition out of the bush - in fact, we wish we had gone straight home and had avoided this experience altogether..

It is located quite far from the airport on a very rough and rocky road - we probably expected a smooth and gentle transfer. The resort was enclosed by a high wall separating it from the village -- completely the opposite of Gibbs Farm where the village life was incorporated into the camp.

The facility was not at the level of our bush camps and we were immediately disappointed. It felt desolate, isolated (in a very different way from being far distances in the bush). It was not remotely as comfortable as the bush camps, and the food was sorely disappointing too. This did not seem up to Asilia standards whatsoever.

The manager was cordial but not as warm and welcoming as our previous hosts. She didn't understand our disconnect with the place and kept saying odd things like "the village children are well fed" and "the village people are very happy with their lifestyle." Our concern was not with the village but rather the entire experience. She tried to make our stay a bit more pleasant with a water trip to a nearby island and we really enjoyed that outing.

Another disappointment is that where other camps were all-inclusive, this facility was not - drinks, laundry, and excursions were all extra.

This was such a terrible disconnect with our bush experience. We left a day early, which was a mistake, because we really hated - using this strong work intentionally - our room in Stone Town." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs P.S.
Baldock

"perfect place to relax"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"A truly beautiful place to relax and unwind.

Lodges were fabulous set on the edge of the sea so you could be quite private or go to one of the several communal areas which were tastefully arranged throughout the lush gardens. It was small enough to get around easily yet big enough to provide a variety of spots to read or sunbathe. Staff were delightful and there was a good number of activities on offer.

The beach is public but there was hardly anyone else on it. There is a lot of seaweed but you soon get used to it.

When the tide comes in at night the crashing waves are very loud!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R & J
Richmond Hill

"Matemwe Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Very relaxing and secluded location. If you want to just "re-charge" then this is the place. Horrible roads for the last 20 minutes to get there. Don't expect much activity but the management are very good and the meals were excellent." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dad
UK

"Matemwe Lodge Review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2018
"We loved this hotel. It was a super place to spend our last 3 nights in Africa. Initially we were assigned Room 12, which was a long way from the restaurant and swimming pool, so the manager kindly us transferred us after the first night to Room 1, which was ideal. The pool area and dining areas were beautiful overlooking the ocean. We made us of the facilities, taking a snorkelling trip and a Reef walk.

We enjoyed having the hotel so near a vibrant village. Fishing boats passed by all the time and we went to watch the fish auction in the village. The staff were very helpful and there were plenty of dry towels available.

The choice of food was excellent. Lunches were particularly good. The safari lodges were able to provide chilled water in flasks which was much appreciated. We suggested to Ross, the manager, that it might be a good idea to also provide chilled water, as warm water is not nice to drink." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
CambridgeHeath

"On the edge of the sea"

5 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2018
"This had a very different feel to other Asilia camps.
The staff certainly weren't as friendly, but still very nice.
Rooms were again excellent, with a very enjoyable double hammock to relax on , looking over the sea.
Food not good at the weekend but improved dramatically from the Monday. A special Valentines dinner was set up on the beach, with seafood.
They had bikes but charged $20 to rent which we thought was wrong.
We did enjoy the kayaking. Snorkelling can only be done with a boat ride which they charged US$35 each. Not as impressive as I had thought it'd be.
Overall a very relaxing 5 days in very comfortable accommodation." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W
Kenora

"A beautiful retreat, fabulous staff & food!"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2017
"After spending time in two different safari tent camps it was absolutely fantastic to arrive at this incredible beach front resort for a little indulgence. The grounds were immaculate and the well tended gardens spectacular. The staff greeted us with welcoming smiles on our arrival, refreshing drinks and hand cloths which were truly appreciated. We arrived towards the end of lunchtime but were accommodated with a perfect lunch to tie us over until dinner. Our bungalow overlooked the reef and the vast Indian Ocean beyond. The perfect setting and we had a fully furnished private deck for lounging and enjoying the sea breeze.

Our bungalow was perfect inside as well with a high thatched ceiling, two comfortable double beds with quality linens, one on the main floor and one upstairs both with well placed.fans. The bathroom was huge, with a beautiful tub and great walk in shower, and a separate toilet. we were so happy we were staying 4 nights!

The meals were fantastic in their presentation, variety and taste. The dining room was well situated overlooking the water as was the infinity pool. A second pool was closer to the bar lounge area and was equally as nice with a small waterfall.

We utilized the sports centre for assisting us with an afternoon kayaking out to the reef, a wonderful boat ride and snorkelling outing to a distant reef and a swim with the dolphins and a walk to the fish market and a village tour. The staff at the centre were very helpful and friendly.

Overall the front desk staff, the bar and wait staff were all excellent and attentive. i also really enjoyed my massage treatment. This resort and the staff put on a fantastic and swahili dinner and entertainment fun night which all the guests really seem to enjoy and learned a few new dance moves! I highly recommend this resort as a great place to unwind and relax." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 44
89%
44 reviews of Matemwe Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
15
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in East Coast Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel is comfortable, good-value, family-friendly beach lodge, with a lovely pool, secluded beach and good food.


95% (87 reviews)
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge has a friendly atmosphere and a beautiful infinity pool, sitting above a stunning stretch of beach on Zanzibar's east coast.


88% (30 reviews)
Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba Island Lodge

Mnemba is a private island resort with 11 chalets, fringed by some of the best coral reefs in the Zanzibar area.


96% (10 reviews)
Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat

Matemwe Retreat is one of the most exclusive lodges on Zanzibar, with four split-level villas each with their own veranda, sun terrace, plunge pool.


89% (9 reviews)
Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine Lodge

Sunshine Marine (sister of Sunshine Hotel) is located in a secluded part of the east coast, with a first-rate, in-house dive centre.


90% (6 reviews)
Sunshine Hotel

Sunshine Hotel

Located right on the beach, with bright rooms and a colourful garden, the Sunshine has a lively, relaxed atmosphere.


85% (4 reviews)
Green and Blue

Green & Blue

The pretty Green and Blue hotel has a picture-postcard setting on a sweep white sand in the Matemwe area of Zanzibar’s north-east coast.


80% (2 reviews)
Matemwe Beach House

Matemwe Beach House

Located on Zanzibar's stunning east coast, Matemwe Beach House offers private accommodation for friends or families travelling together.


No reviews yet
Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar

Melia Zanzibar is a very large resort hotel on Zanzibar’s east coast and is well equipped for business and leisure trips.


No reviews yet
Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibar

Tulia Zanzibibar Beach Resort is a 16-room boutique beach hotel that opened in 2016 on Zanzibar's east coast.


No reviews yet
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel

Zanzibar Pearl

Formally known as Matemwe Beach Village, Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel is one of the newest properties on the island


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa