This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms P. from Minneapolis

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

2

My Oct 2018 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 25 Oct 2018 and 12 Nov 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"My daughter and I absolutely loved our safari and bush experiences. The bush camp staff were exceptionally committed, knowledgeable, and hospitable.

Unfortunately, we were terribly disappointed with the last part of the trip in Zanzibar."

Feedback response

We are really glad to hear that these clients had a wonderful time on safari, and enjoyed their stay at each of camps. We are sorry to hear that they were disappointed by Zanzibar, and felt that this did not match up to their time on safari. Time spent on the beach is typically much more affordable than time on safari, and the drop in quality is often very noticeable when following a luxurious safari with highly attentive staff. Whilst all the beach lodges we feature are different, we feel that they all provide a good standard of comfort. We are sorry that Zanzibar did not live up to their expectations on this occasion.

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Oliver's Camp

Oliver's Camp

"Oliver's Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2018
"This was our first orientation to both safari and Asilia and both were excellent! Our terrific guide Nathoo gave us the best introduction to the geography and culture. He was very informative about the bush and wildlife. On a personal note, he was very polite and solicitous of our needs and interests. We loved the Tarangire.

The camp manager Levi was a very hospitable host. The food was remarkably delicious (I asked for a few recipes)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Gibb's Farm

Gibb's Farm

"Gibb's Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2018
"We absolutely loved Gibbs Farm! Every part of the property, accommodations and service were absolutely perfect. The location was fantastic - on the crater rim but outside Ngorogoro. We could have used another day here to rest and relax and adjust to the time change and rigorous schedule."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Safari in Lake Manyara National Park review"

29 Oct 2018 • All-day excursion

This was a busy and crowded park, notable for baboons and elephants. While we enjoyed seeing the wildlife, we could have skipped this park and gone directly to Gibbs Farm for rest and relaxation.
Average
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"Safari in Ngorongoro Crater review"

30 Oct 2018 • All-day excursion

I'm glad we visited the crater because of its geological features. The trip into and out of the crater was rather intense - steep and rocky (which describes most of our drives). We did not see as much wildlife.
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2018
"Another of our favorite camps and parks! Our guide Khahil was terrific and the wildlife sightings were fantastic.

We really enjoyed the camp manager Diana and the rest of the staff. Again, the food was so delicious.

We had developed colds and had to share a jeep with a loud talkative couple, so on our last afternoon we decided to slow down, get out of the jeep, and take a walking safari. It was such a good experience, finished by gin and tonics with the rest of the guests in the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ikuka

Ikuka

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2018
"Another remarkable property in an unbelievable location. We loved our guide Reuben, who went out of his way to show us different parts of the park and the wonders of wildlife.

I still had a cold so I stayed at the camp one morning. The staff was quite kind and solicitous.

This was the perfect place to finish our safari adventure."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Matemwe Lodge

Matemwe Lodge

"Matemwe Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2018
"This was suppose to be the relaxation part of our safari, but we found the whole transition very jarring and unpleasant. The contrast to the bush was so stark and discombobulating. I would not recommend this facility for the transition out of the bush - in fact, we wish we had gone straight home and had avoided this experience altogether..

It is located quite far from the airport on a very rough and rocky road - we probably expected a smooth and gentle transfer. The resort was enclosed by a high wall separating it from the village -- completely the opposite of Gibbs Farm where the village life was incorporated into the camp.

The facility was not at the level of our bush camps and we were immediately disappointed. It felt desolate, isolated (in a very different way from being far distances in the bush). It was not remotely as comfortable as the bush camps, and the food was sorely disappointing too. This did not seem up to Asilia standards whatsoever.

The manager was cordial but not as warm and welcoming as our previous hosts. She didn't understand our disconnect with the place and kept saying odd things like "the village children are well fed" and "the village people are very happy with their lifestyle." Our concern was not with the village but rather the entire experience. She tried to make our stay a bit more pleasant with a water trip to a nearby island and we really enjoyed that outing.

Another disappointment is that where other camps were all-inclusive, this facility was not - drinks, laundry, and excursions were all extra.

This was such a terrible disconnect with our bush experience. We left a day early, which was a mistake, because we really hated - using this strong work intentionally - our room in Stone Town."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"Jafferji House review"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2018
"This was a huge mistake - it was not the magical place depicted in the literature. The manager was unfriendly, the room was stuffy to the point of suffocating, and the days seemed interminable waiting to leave - completely opposite of our lovely and wondrous days in the bush, which flew by.

We decided to spend as much time as possible out of our room, so we made our own itinerary - visit to a spice plantation, prison island, walk around the area, visit local coffee shops."
Terrible
Location
Average
Service
Terrible
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team