This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 37 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

83% success

Cheetah

15% success

Wild dog

16% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

80% success

Buffalo

74% success

Eland

71% success

Spotted Hyena

42% success

Roan antelope

23% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Striped Hyena

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2023
"By contrast we simply cannot speak highly enough of Ikuka; it was simply fabulous in every respect from start to finish - care, friendliness, expertise, pride in the camp, and the facilities that were provided.

This was almost certainly the best camp we have ever been in on safari. The managers, Tommy and Chevy, could not have done more to make our stay completely unforgettable. Everything was thought through in order to make the stay memorable. They and the staff were always there to see us off and to welcome us back, hot water bottles, hand warmers, water, drinks all provided as a matter of course.

Our guide Festo, equally, was fantastic both as a really knowledgeable and professional guide and also great company when out on game drives." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C.
Warwickshire

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2022
"I was more than a little disappointed by Ikuka. The camp is lovely as were the manager and camp staff and the food excellent.

The vehicle that I was in broke down 3 times, once in the morning when it didnt really impact on the drive. It was apparently repaired over lunch only to break down again twice in the afternoon. This did have a considerable impact on the afternoons drive and it also affected other guests as their vehicle was sent to push start my stricken vehicle. This was poor, the camp apologised for this.

The other problem I had was with my guide, Mashaka. I made it very clear that I did not want to be at a sighting with many other vehicles and that I was quite happy to see the small things as a consequence of this. This is not what a happened, he was also constantly on his phone, radio, text messages etc I am sure this was to other guides in the park finding where to go, there was a leopard sighting that we drove quite a distance to see and there were 10 vehicles already there jostling for position. This is not my idea of a good safari. I am sure he was knowlegable but he repeated the same facts to me everytime about any animal. I did not learn anything!

My biggest gripe with him was on my penultimate drive. We spotted a leopard on the ground, rather than putting the vehicle in a good place for me to see the leopard, he called and radioed other guides to tell them, this went for some 4 to 5 minutes with me asking several times to stop and to move the vehicle. He eventually did this and put me in a good position to see and photography the leopard.

Then almost immediately the other vehicles started arriving and he moved so I no longer had a sighting. I did express my great displeasure at this. I am an experienced safari goer and have never had a guide behave in this way, they have always ensured that I have the best possible view first, and after a short while ask if it is OK to call the sight in to others. I did not feel I was this guides priorty, the other guides where. I was so insenced by this that on return to camp I spoke to the manager, who apologised and agreed this was not how he should have behaved.

The above has left me with a very negative view of Ikuka." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P
Hertford

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Ikuka is a beautiful and well appointed camp set high on an escarpment with wonderful views down to the Mwagusi river and across the park. The managers and all the rest of the in-camp staff were extremely welcoming and capable. The food was exceptional and the communal dinners were great fun.

We spent four nights at Ikuka and we had an excellent time. The standard of guiding is generally very good and we saw plently of animals including lions several times and three leopard sightings.

The best of the latter being on our last morning, en route to the airport, which our guide personally tracked down having noticed footprints on the road." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

ludovicus
Canada

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"WoW…way above our expectation.

Wonderfull everything !" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2022
"That was the best camp on our journey. They have very good staff. Everyone was very friendly. In the morning the managers always say goodbye when you were leaving. They also waited for you by coming back and asked you about your day.
The rooms were very big and every room has a nice view from the top of the hill.
The decoration of the camp is marvellous.
The food was excellent. We didn't expect such a good chief in that camp. Every meal was really great and very nice decorated on the plate.
We loved the big common table." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms K.
United Kingdom

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2022
"Ikuka is spectacular. Its location overlooking the park is wonderful. We stayed in Hondo Hondo, which was breathtakingly beautiful. The attention to detail in the service was excellent, including things like hot water bottles provided on morning drives. The staff made our honeymoon so memorable in lots of ways, but especially with a last night candlelit dinner under the stars. The game in Ruaha is brilliant, and our guide, Mashaka, did a fantastic job." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
London

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2022
"Ikuka was unbelievably luxurious and a beautiful lodge. Couldn't fault. Stunning location with incredible views from private tent. Hosts Shevie, Tom and Mark were very attentive and welcoming.

Mark was an excellent guide for our walking safari- took the time to explain about insects, tracks and animals. Very knowledgeable and interesting.

We felt that the hosts had really thought about the guest experience and making sure we were comfortable throughout. Went the extra mile with 'romantic' gestures- two special private dinners, bottle of fizz etc.

Itinerary was well thought out with early starts and time in the pm to relax before evening drive. Breakfast and sundowners in the bush were a really nice touch!

Food was fantastic- beautiful presentation, great flavours, well-accommodated for as vegetarians and plentiful.

Not a criticism as such, but sometimes we felt a little overwhelmed by the degree of attentiveness and intensity of the hosts, e.g. group greeting and questions after each game drive sometimes felt a bit unnecessary after a long day." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dav & Kay
Manchester

"We felt like we had won the lottery!"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2022
"From the moment we were greeted at the airport we felt like we had won the lottery! Our guide did whatever paperwork was required whilst we made ourselves comfy with our chilled water bottles and biscuits! We couldn’t believe the animals we saw on our way from the airport to our lodge, our guide (Luca) took time to explain things along our journey so it felt like we were straight into it! It took about an hour to get to Ikuku but our arrival was lovely, Tommy and the staff were lined up waving to greet us with a drink and cool towel at the ready, it felt so nice to be met with such friendly smiling faces all waving.

Our lodge Ikuka was simply perfect, all the details in the room were beautiful, from the beaded lion on the table upstairs and a hippo stool to large tassels on the curtains and telescope waiting for us to view the night sky! The construction was interesting with sparkly granite stones packing out the walls for privacy. It was all absolutely beautiful and the view spectacular.

The bed was huge and it was so thoughtful of the staff to provide hot water bottles in the evening to take the chill off, although it was breezy in the evening, it really wasn’t cold.

The food was really tasty and colourful and left us feeling full, but not uncomfortable and seemed to be healthy whilst also being a feast for the eyes (presentation was beautiful), we enjoyed the feeling that the only decision we needed to make was what drink we wanted. Although you could choose to dine alone in your room, we enjoyed the camaraderie of dining together as a group in the evening comparing animal sightings from the day.

We did have our lunch one afternoon on our own so that we could enjoy the view and facilities in our own lodge as it was nice to not rush around and although we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts whilst out on our treks, we also enjoyed watching the sun come up from our bed and a leisurely breakfast on our last morning.

The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.

Our guide Habibu was just amazing. He was so considerate of both the animals and us that we felt very honoured, his knowledge of animals and the birds was outstanding. Habibu took care to take us to places where we would see the animals that we had mentioned, and we loved seeing the hippos and crocodiles at The Hidden lake. We didn’t pay extra for a private guide but by chance seemed to get one most mornings, however even when we went out in a group we were lucky to be with other couples who enhanced our trip. Sunset drinks and nibbles were enjoyable with others.

Overall, our experience was amazing, obviously you go out on the safari drives, twice a day, unfortunately you need to drive out to make the most of your visit because of the height of the lodge, but this gave spectacular views, so we were happy, although this might not suit everyone." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr R & Ms D
NL

"Ikuka review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2021
"Ikuka is located at a hilltop in the vast national park of Ruaha. The views are breathtaking and all the staff do really give you the feeling you are more than welcome.

We were very lucky to have the whole camp available for ourselves during our stay of four nights, a private safari experience for free! Thanks to Covid, but actually we didn't understand because going to Tanzania and filling in the forms, complying to a PCR-test and all the rest turned out to be very easy! So go now before the rest of the world finds out...

Anyway, life in the camp and the safari drives turned out to be more than excellent. We were very very lucky to be the first in almost a year to spot a whole pack of around 30 wild dogs! Including very young ones. It is estimated that only 2500 wild dogs may still exist in the world so everybody was really excited about this. But also the leopard we saw from close distance lying in the tree and the many other big and small animals we will not easy forget!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & MS L
Connecticut

"Luxurious with a great view - but one downsid"

4 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2019
"The camp accommodations are absolutely luxurious and the food was excellent. We enjoyed our guide very much and the service and hostess were wonderful.

The only downside to this camp is its location. Although in some ways the location is fantastic (sunrise over the plains from an elevated position), you are on a high escarpment. It's a long 20-minute drive just to get off the escarpment and into the game area - and that 20 minute drive is repeated 4 times a day." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 47
97%
47 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
41
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (130 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (109 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (45 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (3 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (3 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa