This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 44 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

79% success

Cheetah

18% success

Wild dog

24% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

98% success

Hippo

79% success

Buffalo

75% success

Eland

66% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

22% success

Sable antelope

15% success

Striped Hyena

7% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr N
Horsmonden

"Ikuka Safari Camp - November 2023"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2023
"Ikuka is a superb camp, and what a view across the Ruaha National Park!

My guide, Geoffrey, was excellent, and was particularly good in relation to the birds. He was also happy to stay out a bit longer than usual on my last day, so that we could try and see some new bird species.

We managed to find lions with cubs, five separate leopard sightings, and a couple of wild dog sightings. We also managed to spot some of the more unusual mammals such as bat-eared foxes, Grants gazelle, lesser kudu and klipspringer. In all we managed to find 22 different mammal species.

The Ruaha really is a special place, and probably my favourite place in the whole of Africa. Long may it remain as it is." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms R
Leicester

"Comfortable camp, great wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2023
"Ikuka is located in the busier northern part of Ruaha NP consequently the animals are completely habituated to trucks so getting close to them is not an issue. The guides have a local network to alert each other to interesting wildlife sightings; this can be advantageous (come and see this!) but means that sometimes there are a number of trucks near, for example, a pride of lions.

My guide, Geofrey, showed me the largest group of Wild Dog that I have ever seen (26 individuals) which was spectacular but also a jumble of rocks that was home to a group of Tree Hyrax and a family of Banded Mongoose, all happily co-existing.

The camp itself was very nice; the 'tents' were larger than usual with a lounge area as well as a terrace. The only downside was that the bathroom and toilet area was outside the zipped tent surrounding the bed which meant for slightly cumbersome night time visits to the bathroom. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive.

I enjoyed the fine dining although I skipped lunches." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mr P & Ms W
Herts

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2023
"High end camp with great attention to detail.

Beautiful views of the park from rooms high in the escarpment, with an affinity pool for relaxing afternoons. The rooms are very well designed and the 'open' bathrooms a nice touch. Sitting areas and balcony well thought out. Fantastic hosts and staff. The food was excellent.

Excellent guiding from Festo, and wildlife encounters were very good, both in terms of variety, animal densities, and closeness. Large numbers of lions, encountering 4 different groups and seeing them on all but one drive. Large healthy elephant populations. Small numbers of the more exotic antelope (Eland, Defassa waterbuck) with good numbers of greater and lesser kudu, dikdik, impala and zebra. Plenty of giraffe and smaller numbers of ostrich. Saw a large herd of circa 300 buffalo. Great viewing of a bat eared fox and 3 cubs.

Animals not skittish so encounters were close and prolonged. Fantastic to see wild dog right outside the camp. Leopard also present although we didn't see them. Camp visited at night by honey badgers, hyena and serval amongst others.

This was my children's first safari and a very good overall experience. The scenary is spectacular - particularly the large numbers of Baobabs. Sadly cheetah numbers have declined over the past 20 years since I last visited and sightings are now rare. Likewise with the 'flagship' Sable antelope. There are apparently Roan, though far from the central areas.

Overall a great destination for both a first time safari or a more seasoned traveller. You won't tick off everything but a broad variety with quality encounters" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Colorado

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2023
"The most amazing place we have ever been!

The team at Ikuka thought of every detail, always anticipating what you might need before you did. The food was fantastic, the accommodation was beautiful, and of course the safari was great.

We went to Ruaha as we wanted to see leopards and ended up with 6 sightings of them!

Every member of the staff from our guide, Luka, to Seif in the restaurant and Chavie and all the guys who helped us walk to and from the room were so friendly and welcoming (and knowledgable about the area and wildlife).

We definitely want to go back!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

JMKPBJ
USA

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2023
"Absolutely wonderful experience at Ikuka Safari Camp!

From the welcome as we entered the camp property to the community cocktail time and dinners to the incredibly delicious food to the dreamy accommodations! I found my dream bathroom overlooking the wilderness - listening to elephants munch on trees while brushing my teeth!

Habibu, our guide, was phenomenal with his wealth of knowledge, kind spirit, and sense of humor. Throughout a few precarious moments with up close lions and elephants, our safety was always in check thanks to his assuring words and calm.

Mark and Chevy and all the staff were so fun to get to know and learn of their personal stories related to the lodge, their journey to Tanzania, their homes and families, and their commitment to preserving and sharing the beauty of Ruaha.

The decor of the camp was impeccable and the service wonderfully consistent." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2023
"Ikuka is set on an escarpment overlooking the park. It is a superb camp in a fantastic setting.

The views are spectacular and the thatched rooms very spacious, well equipped and comfortable. It is really difficult to find anything to fault, food was great as was the service from the willing friendly team. If there is a downside, the location requires a 20 minute trip down to the park and back on every drive which is actually a fair chunk of evening drives in particular. This is very minor though.

The wildlife was excellent, both mammals and birds, and even though we stayed for five days, it was a wrench to move on. It was particularly good to catch the wild dogs. Unbeknownst to us the pack spent one night sleeping under the water tower in the camp!" See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ann
Pontesford

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2023
"The camp location was excellent, great vistas over the bush in the valley below. The accommodation was excellent. Loved the hot water bottles in the bed a night! All the staff were great and dining excellent. We were given the opportunity to dine just as a couple (which we did at lunch time) but everyone agreed to eat together in the evening which meant we could all share our experiences of the day.

At this camp we had our own driver/guide for all the four days. He was excellent, full of useful knowledge and tried really hard to proved sightings of all sorts of animals and birds, often going off the main routes and into the bush to follow fresh lion tracks or animal calls. With other camps in the area, guides did call each other when they spotted an animal. So when a pride of lions was found lunching on an Impala, our guide was able to take us there.

Likewise, when a leopard was spotted, our guide changed plans and headed off in that direction and we were lucky to have the leopard walk right by our vehicle. This is not to give the impression there were lots of vehicles converging at these spots all at once, there weren't. For most of the time we never encountered anyone else, so enjoyed the landscape and animal sightings in isolation and peace. Breakfasts and sundowners out in the wild were a great start and end to the day.

Loved every minute!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Mrs M
Cheshire

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2023
"By contrast we simply cannot speak highly enough of Ikuka; it was simply fabulous in every respect from start to finish - care, friendliness, expertise, pride in the camp, and the facilities that were provided.

This was almost certainly the best camp we have ever been in on safari. The managers, Tommy and Chevy, could not have done more to make our stay completely unforgettable. Everything was thought through in order to make the stay memorable. They and the staff were always there to see us off and to welcome us back, hot water bottles, hand warmers, water, drinks all provided as a matter of course.

Our guide Festo, equally, was fantastic both as a really knowledgeable and professional guide and also great company when out on game drives." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs C.
Warwickshire

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2022
"I was more than a little disappointed by Ikuka. The camp is lovely as were the manager and camp staff and the food excellent.

The vehicle that I was in broke down 3 times, once in the morning when it didnt really impact on the drive. It was apparently repaired over lunch only to break down again twice in the afternoon. This did have a considerable impact on the afternoons drive and it also affected other guests as their vehicle was sent to push start my stricken vehicle. This was poor, the camp apologised for this.

The other problem I had was with my guide, Mashaka. I made it very clear that I did not want to be at a sighting with many other vehicles and that I was quite happy to see the small things as a consequence of this. This is not what a happened, he was also constantly on his phone, radio, text messages etc I am sure this was to other guides in the park finding where to go, there was a leopard sighting that we drove quite a distance to see and there were 10 vehicles already there jostling for position. This is not my idea of a good safari. I am sure he was knowlegable but he repeated the same facts to me everytime about any animal. I did not learn anything!

My biggest gripe with him was on my penultimate drive. We spotted a leopard on the ground, rather than putting the vehicle in a good place for me to see the leopard, he called and radioed other guides to tell them, this went for some 4 to 5 minutes with me asking several times to stop and to move the vehicle. He eventually did this and put me in a good position to see and photography the leopard.

Then almost immediately the other vehicles started arriving and he moved so I no longer had a sighting. I did express my great displeasure at this. I am an experienced safari goer and have never had a guide behave in this way, they have always ensured that I have the best possible view first, and after a short while ask if it is OK to call the sight in to others. I did not feel I was this guides priorty, the other guides where. I was so insenced by this that on return to camp I spoke to the manager, who apologised and agreed this was not how he should have behaved.

The above has left me with a very negative view of Ikuka." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr P
Hertford

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Ikuka is a beautiful and well appointed camp set high on an escarpment with wonderful views down to the Mwagusi river and across the park. The managers and all the rest of the in-camp staff were extremely welcoming and capable. The food was exceptional and the communal dinners were great fun.

We spent four nights at Ikuka and we had an excellent time. The standard of guiding is generally very good and we saw plently of animals including lions several times and three leopard sightings.

The best of the latter being on our last morning, en route to the airport, which our guide personally tracked down having noticed footprints on the road." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 54
97%
54 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (131 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (111 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (45 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (33 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (4 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa