This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp
Ikuka Safari Camp

Reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ikuka Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 48 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ikuka Safari Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

81% success

Cheetah

18% success

Wild dog

29% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

98% success

Hippo

80% success

Buffalo

77% success

Eland

69% success

Spotted Hyena

51% success

Roan antelope

28% success

Sable antelope

17% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr. and Mrs. S
USA

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2024
"Really nice camp with an excellent view and a welcomed breeze.

Great hosting from Chevy, Tommy, and Mark. Wonderful fellow guests. Food is high quality and staff is very good.

Great vehicle guiding form Luka and a nice bush walk with Mustapha.

Nice to be up on the escarpment, camps in the Mwagusi area do a pretty job of working together with minimal overcrowding at sightings. Stunning landscape and vegetation with animals that are quite relaxed around vehicles.

Excellent area to start one's visit to Ruaha and a nice complement to Kitchaka Zumbua.

The new "airstrip" near the park HQ is a strange development; hopefully, the wild nature of this core area with Ruaha remains intact." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

S&S
Brighton

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2024
"Managed by Tommy and fantastic force-of-nature Chevvy so seamlessly that they don't seem to be managing it at all, Ikuka has such spectacular views that you almost don't want to go out on any drives. But do, because the wildlife is great - though at this time of year tall grasses make some of it elusive.

Still, five leopard sightings in four days is not to be sniffed at, and many of the usual suspects were also spotted. Our guide was Luca, whose depth of knowledge, eagle eyes and ability to make a mean sundowner were incomparable.

Food was mostly locally grown and would not have been out of place in a high-end restaurant. We really don't know how they do it.

The setting, many little touches, amazing efficiency and friendly service, all made this a stay we won't forget.

Thanks to everyone involved - not least our fabulous fellow guests." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr R.
Eardisley

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2024
"wow what can i say, accommodation just brilliant as were the facilities, staff so helpful and friendly, food was delicious, management were great as well fully interactive, great to go halfway around the world just to find the manager comes from 10 miles from where we live" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

6 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

LJ and DJ
GJ

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2024
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr N
Horsmonden

"Ikuka Safari Camp - November 2023"

4 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2023
"Ikuka is a superb camp, and what a view across the Ruaha National Park!

My guide, Geoffrey, was excellent, and was particularly good in relation to the birds. He was also happy to stay out a bit longer than usual on my last day, so that we could try and see some new bird species.

We managed to find lions with cubs, five separate leopard sightings, and a couple of wild dog sightings. We also managed to spot some of the more unusual mammals such as bat-eared foxes, Grants gazelle, lesser kudu and klipspringer. In all we managed to find 22 different mammal species.

The Ruaha really is a special place, and probably my favourite place in the whole of Africa. Long may it remain as it is." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms R
Leicester

"Comfortable camp, great wildlife"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2023
"Ikuka is located in the busier northern part of Ruaha NP consequently the animals are completely habituated to trucks so getting close to them is not an issue. The guides have a local network to alert each other to interesting wildlife sightings; this can be advantageous (come and see this!) but means that sometimes there are a number of trucks near, for example, a pride of lions.

My guide, Geofrey, showed me the largest group of Wild Dog that I have ever seen (26 individuals) which was spectacular but also a jumble of rocks that was home to a group of Tree Hyrax and a family of Banded Mongoose, all happily co-existing.

The camp itself was very nice; the 'tents' were larger than usual with a lounge area as well as a terrace. The only downside was that the bathroom and toilet area was outside the zipped tent surrounding the bed which meant for slightly cumbersome night time visits to the bathroom. The staff were very attentive without being intrusive.

I enjoyed the fine dining although I skipped lunches." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mr P & Ms W
Herts

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2023
"High end camp with great attention to detail.

Beautiful views of the park from rooms high in the escarpment, with an affinity pool for relaxing afternoons. The rooms are very well designed and the 'open' bathrooms a nice touch. Sitting areas and balcony well thought out. Fantastic hosts and staff. The food was excellent.

Excellent guiding from Festo, and wildlife encounters were very good, both in terms of variety, animal densities, and closeness. Large numbers of lions, encountering 4 different groups and seeing them on all but one drive. Large healthy elephant populations. Small numbers of the more exotic antelope (Eland, Defassa waterbuck) with good numbers of greater and lesser kudu, dikdik, impala and zebra. Plenty of giraffe and smaller numbers of ostrich. Saw a large herd of circa 300 buffalo. Great viewing of a bat eared fox and 3 cubs.

Animals not skittish so encounters were close and prolonged. Fantastic to see wild dog right outside the camp. Leopard also present although we didn't see them. Camp visited at night by honey badgers, hyena and serval amongst others.

This was my children's first safari and a very good overall experience. The scenary is spectacular - particularly the large numbers of Baobabs. Sadly cheetah numbers have declined over the past 20 years since I last visited and sightings are now rare. Likewise with the 'flagship' Sable antelope. There are apparently Roan, though far from the central areas.

Overall a great destination for both a first time safari or a more seasoned traveller. You won't tick off everything but a broad variety with quality encounters" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Colorado

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2023
"The most amazing place we have ever been!

The team at Ikuka thought of every detail, always anticipating what you might need before you did. The food was fantastic, the accommodation was beautiful, and of course the safari was great.

We went to Ruaha as we wanted to see leopards and ended up with 6 sightings of them!

Every member of the staff from our guide, Luka, to Seif in the restaurant and Chavie and all the guys who helped us walk to and from the room were so friendly and welcoming (and knowledgable about the area and wildlife).

We definitely want to go back!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

6 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

JMKPBJ
USA

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2023
"Absolutely wonderful experience at Ikuka Safari Camp!

From the welcome as we entered the camp property to the community cocktail time and dinners to the incredibly delicious food to the dreamy accommodations! I found my dream bathroom overlooking the wilderness - listening to elephants munch on trees while brushing my teeth!

Habibu, our guide, was phenomenal with his wealth of knowledge, kind spirit, and sense of humor. Throughout a few precarious moments with up close lions and elephants, our safety was always in check thanks to his assuring words and calm.

Mark and Chevy and all the staff were so fun to get to know and learn of their personal stories related to the lodge, their journey to Tanzania, their homes and families, and their commitment to preserving and sharing the beauty of Ruaha.

The decor of the camp was impeccable and the service wonderfully consistent." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Ikuka Safari Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2023
"Ikuka is set on an escarpment overlooking the park. It is a superb camp in a fantastic setting.

The views are spectacular and the thatched rooms very spacious, well equipped and comfortable. It is really difficult to find anything to fault, food was great as was the service from the willing friendly team. If there is a downside, the location requires a 20 minute trip down to the park and back on every drive which is actually a fair chunk of evening drives in particular. This is very minor though.

The wildlife was excellent, both mammals and birds, and even though we stayed for five days, it was a wrench to move on. It was particularly good to catch the wild dogs. Unbeknownst to us the pack spent one night sleeping under the water tower in the camp!" See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 58
98%
58 reviews of Ikuka Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
5
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Designed with simplicity in mind, Mdonya River Camp focuses on a great wilderness experience rather than creature comforts.


92% (133 reviews)
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi is a long-established, permanent, tented safari camp, on an attractive bend of the seasonal Mwagusi River.


96% (115 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (111 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


96% (46 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


96% (34 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (25 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua

Kichaka Zumbua is a small, luxurious camp offering on outstanding walking safaris in a remote area of Ruaha.


100% (5 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


96% (5 reviews)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (2 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa