This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

113 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwagusi Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwagusi Safari Camp.
Lion

86% success

Leopard

71% success

Cheetah

20% success

Wild dog

20% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

83% success

Spotted Hyena

83% success

Eland

80% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 113
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R.
San Giuliano T.

"Fantastic location on the Mwagusi river"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"Fantastic, very comfortable banda with a view on the dry Mwagusi river bed where velvet monkeys and impalas scurried along . In the morning the sight of the red orange sun rising behind the baobab trees was stunning.

The manager was very friendly and helpful.

Our guide was really excellent not only in giving us all sort of information about the animals and their relationship with each other and the the plants but with his trying hard to make us see a leopard, which we eventually saw, quite unexpectedly on our way to the airstrip. The driver was equally excellent. A truly strong emotion." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr Geoff
Sunbury

"Brilliant camp, accommodation was superb"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2019
"The whole experience and camp was outstanding

Chris and Judie made me most welcome despite the camp being very quiet. We ate together at night around the camp fire and I felt very privileged

The room was fantastic, well located below a baboon nesting tree, cool, very clean and relaxing, only problem was having enough down time to enjoy it fully.

Bladon my guide was great, very knowledgeable about the wildlife, birds, flora and fauna and we saw everything I wanted to see excluding the elusive cheetah and black rhino. I would return here again

Only draw back to drives was that you couldn’t go off track but I understand why. Bladon also gave me a night sky Southern Hemisphere lesson" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2019
"We’re so accommodating to me... guides were excellent... only guests in camp on Valentines Day - made us a special private meal in a special place.... my favorite ( Michael) camp...." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mary
Cornwall

"Mwagusi Safari Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2018
"We enjoyed suppers in the dry riverbed meeting and sitting with other guests round a big bonfire. We missed planning the next day each evening with our guide as we had at Impala Camp and it was never suggested to us that we could do a whole days drive with breakfast and lunch out.

We got the impression that several of the workers were not happy with the tipping system as they only got their share every year. This put us in an awkward position. We feel the Guide, who spends hours each day with us, should be tipped separately, and the others should receive their share of the general tip at regular intervals.

It was wonderful to have the free laundry service and our houseboy, Kuno, tidied up beautifully each day.

We saw numerous sightings of animals including a beautiful female leopard asleep in a tree. Our guide spotted lizards or small birds as easily as elephants or giraffes!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D.
London

"Excellent location in the heart of the bush"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2018
"The camp is rather sprawling and a little confusing initially but once we moved into our Banda (chalet) we felt at home. Situated next to the Mwagusi river, each banda has an open balcony overlooking the riverbed below where giraffe, elephants, impala, baboons etc stroll by, giving it an intimate and immersive feel.

We really enjoyed our time here and we were very fortunate that Jimmy was our guide throughout our stay. His intimate knowledge of the bush and the wildlife at Ruaha made a huge contribution to our overall very positive experience in this exceptional wild and remote area." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Al & Jules
Australia

"Unique Mwagusi"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2018
"Upon your arrival, Mwagusi Camp has a special feel to it. We especially loved our huge banda with its thatched roof and local stone and timber fittings. I guess this unique feel is a reflection of its owner Chris Fox. Luckily we learnt more of the history of the camp from Chris himself during the day he spent with us.

Trudy, the camp manager had the personal touch that made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived - even took care of my wife on the afternoon she stayed back from our drive with a headache. All other staff were helpful to the point where on our last night we needed to be escorted back to our banda via a roundabout route when a bull elephant had blocked our normal path.

Our personal guide, Geoffrey, worked hard every day to find the animals we most wanted to encounter. He did manage to find the kill site where a leopard had disembowelled an impala, but not the leopard. I guess it saw us !" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dad
UK

"Mwagusi Safari Camp"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2018
"We loved this camp. We enjoyed the group dining and our group safari drives. Alex, the manager made us extremely welcome. In fact all her staff were great. The food was excellent. The chefs presenting the buffet seemed proud of their dishes. Our tented camp overlooking a dry river bed was very attractive and we loved the large verandah where we could retire to and our drives.

Our guide and driver were knowledgeable and good company.

Better lighting for reading in bed would be ideal, but we appreciate that camps in the bush are not known for great lighting and we did have our head torches." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Safari addict
UK

"The real bush, but with flush toilets"

4 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2018
"I chose Mwagusi as I wanted a more back to basics experience but without sacrificing too many creature comforts, and it met my expectations. The setting of the property is superb and you can sit on your own personal verandah watching whatever wildlife passes by (or in the case of baboons, through, your banda). There are no fences so I was not too suprised to hear an elephant outside my bedroom, and to be woken by the roar of a lion. Food is good, particularly given it is cooked over wood, and plentiful. The staff work as a team and have a great sense of humour. The attention of the management and their hospitality (particularly for me as a solo traveller) was excellent.

The highlight of my stay was seeing so many elephants, including a number of newborns. Given that elephants can be rather touchy when protecting their young, my guide was very skilled in judging how to manage our encounters so that we could get close to these animals in safety.

Personally I have to confess I found the situation a little too basic for me, which is not a criticism of Mwagusi as that is what they are offering. I chose to go in the hot season and I found the lack of a fan in the room made it a bit difficult to sleep - as largely only solar energy is used appliances beyond a electric light are not possible. I imagine this would not be a problem in other seasons . Given the quantity of biting insects at this time of year I was glad that the mesh sides of the tent kept them at bay.

Perhaps not my business but I was concerned about a couple of staff issues. Unlike any other camp I have stayed, the staff are required to be away from their families for extended periods. Tips are entirely communal and disbursed once a year - I prefer to reward my guide/driver personally and make a communal tip to the other staff." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms B
Seattle

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"Amazing place, has a historic feel. Great location on the river bed. Larger camp than some others in the area, and so had a less personal feel. I found the guides a little less knowledgeable, but very nice. The food was just excellent. My one comment is that the manager's style is one that was a little off-putting for me. Quite gossip-y and altho she may have great relationships with the local staff, to an outsider, her casualness with them came across as disrespectful and demeaning.
For the price of the accommodations, it seems odd to charge for all drinks - including soft drinks during safari.
It was very hot while we were there, so the afternoon were quite uncomfortable. Putting fans in the rooms would help a lot." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
france

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"Stunning location, comfortable and well appointed accommodation, but tent and bathroom looking a little tired, could do with an update.

Staff very friendly. For two out of our four nights, we were the only guests in the camp, and as mealtimes were communal, this meant it was just us and the manager Alex eating together, which was ok as she was nice, but it felt a bit strange and we really welcomed some new arrivals on our last night!! Food was a bit eclectic, both lunch and dinner were buffet style, with too many competing flavours between the dishes.

The staff were helpful, but we felt they were lacking some training.

The guide and driver were great!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 113
96%
113 reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa