This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

113 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwagusi Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwagusi Safari Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Eland

83% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 113
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
London

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"Excellent camp, we absolutely loved the décor and the feel of it...luxurious, very comfortable but still a traditional authentic safari experience. Very good guiding, excellent food , excellent service and excellent management.

Mwagusi lies and operates is the heart of Ruaha, which means excellent and abundant wildlife...in three days there we saw, lions, elephants, buffaloes, a leopard and a family of cheetahs...in addition to many other common and some not so common wildlife.

As a traditional (high end) safari camp goes I cannot see how Mwagusi can be beaten: highly-highly recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr +Mrs K
South Brent

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2017
"Mwagusi camp is a magnificent example of the best a safari camp can offer. Situated in the Wonderful Ruaha, it makes maximum use of its situation on the banks of the Mwagusi river. The banda are like suites, with the outside area under thatch superb for afternoon siesta and animal or bird watching. The tent behind can be zipped up to protect from animals and insects while the bathroom area is also under thatch but open to the outside.

As an owner run camp, it has unique features which makes it special. The river bed is used to maximum effect, for example the dining locations. Where else would you be called from your dinner table to see a leopard? The quality of guiding is outstanding. For example, we saw lions from different prides on 7 of our 8 game drives. The wildness of Ruaha and its unique scenery would make game drives a pleasure even without the game, but we saw plenty of everything, including some of the rare antelopes such as Oribi and many, many birds. A big thank you to Isaac and Isaiah.

Tent service is exemplary and for all the staff, nothing was too much trouble. For example, one of us struggled to get down the slope to dinner. When this was raised, the next 3 nights there were 2 members of staff to help.

Quality of food was mixed. The buffet salads for lunch were excellent and varied. Bush breakfasts were perfectly adequate. Food for the evening meals was quite variable with much of the meat tough and many vegetables over cooked but not warm enough. While the location of the dining tables down on the river bed under the stars is very attractive, it does make it more difficult to serve high quality food. I would like to rate food average plus or good minus for these reasons.

We think it is worth mentioning in your literature that guests are expected to descend steep sandy banks to the river in the dark, as this is a problem for older, less mobile guests. We also found at times that we were over regimented and walking in crocodiles behind one torch. Finally, a swimming pool would be a great addition.

These are minor criticisms and overall, this is a wonderful place to stay and experience the delights of Ruaha. Thank you to Chris Fox and all the staff for the magical place they have created." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mopane squirrels
UK

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2017
"Everything about this camp was excellent. Alex the camp manager was a perfect host and clearly an extremely competent manager. The setting of the camp and the Bandas was fantastic. So very comfortable with amazing views of the dry river bed.

The service was attentive and friendly. There was a magic about the place which could not have been created without the management and motivation of the staff.
The quality of the food was incredible given the difficulties of cooking in the bush. All meals were imaginative and delicious and served in a variety of amazing locations, eg riverbed and bush. Meal times were a sociable and enjoyable experience which enhanced the safari experience for us.

We particularly liked the fact that we had a driver and guide which enabled the guide to give more attention to the guests. We appreciated the fact that radios were not used which made sightings more private. Our guide Jeme and driver Vincent were sensitive to needs and were extremely knowledgable and shared that with us. We are experienced safari travellers but we still learnt a lot from them.

In conclusion, a memorable and fantastic four days." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Marlow

"Loved the bandas..."

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"The camp is comprised of tents within straw huts, called bandas, which are much cooler than the double roofed tents.... it is situated alongside a river bed, which was dry when we were there....  it is an unfenced camp with many visiting animals, including hyenas, which did cause some damage while we were visiting!

We had banda 5 which had the giraffe neck bones built into the wall, brilliant idea but anatomically incorrect!! There were only 6 cervical bones... hey ho! Later found one on the desk!

The lunches and dinners were buffet style and the food was plentiful and interesting, if occasionally bizarre...  Beer, wine, spirits and some fruit juices were not included. The bush breakfasts were a little dull compared to other camps and always the same...

We were lucky to see a leopard on our second game drive and enjoyed 2 bush walks with the guide trainees....  In the National Park there were so many elephants that we almost ceased to remark on them!  On Day 3 we saw 6 wild dogs, which was fairly special.  They were more attractive with better markings than those that we have seen in Laikipia, Kenya, but harder to find.  We saw another leopard in a sausage tree, on the way to the airstrip...

The one downside was the vehicles, which were not well appointed and would have benefitted from side bars, foot bars and better visibility for all seats...  the first guide and driver chatted a lot and were not as attentive are we would have expected... however, after the first day we changed guides which was a great improvement.

The management were reactive... but some aspects of staff motivation/training were lacking...

Overall, this was not my favourite Camp of the 5 that we visited; I would recommend it with some reservations...

OTHER COMMENTS

1. We left on a 2 hour, 11.45am flight - a small packed lunch would have been good, as we were starving by the time we reached Dar...  I am sure they would have provided something if we had asked, but we didn't think...
2. There was no WiFi for guests, although it was available in the office, however they did help us
to check in for our Kenya  Airways flight from Dar to Nairobi and to send a couple of emails to family....
3. The beds were rather hard for old bones....
4. Fans in the Banda would be good for the very hot days...  as in Impala Camp.
5. The buffet food was often left uncovered for long periods of time, not great with the number of flies...
6. This was the only camp which sprayed the tent with insecticide every evening when we went to dinner...
7. Provision of cold water in a vacuum flask would have been appreciated in the high temperatures.  We did request ice but they had some problems producing it....
8. Solar hot water was always available...." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Amazing game"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"The game in Ruaha was truly amazing and the guides at Mwugasi (particularly ours: Geoffrey) were really good. Our banda was good, although a bit shabby in places and not everything worked too well (but it did have a lovely hammock!). We have rated it as 'excellent' as minor weaknesses in some areas are more than made up for by the enthusiasm, friendliness and skill of the guides and the location and game to see.

We felt that the staff (apart from the guides) were embarrassingly deferential to the guests, behaving like servants (in complete contrast to the more relaxed and ‘family’ atmosphere at Siwandu). The organisational timings were not ideal. However we understand that this is being reviewed, and while we were there the more experienced guides worked round them and set their own timings for drives. One day Geoffrey took us off for a whole day, with a packed lunch. We saw an amazing amount of animals that day! It all worked fine for us, because Geoffrey organised a very good timetable for us, and everyone tried to make it work for the guests. We were offered a game drive to the airstrip on our last day, with an early start and breakfast on the way. This was great, we had an amazing breakfast, but the highlight was seeing a leopard sleeping in a tree.

The food was fine, but nothing to write home about (apart from the delicious cinnamon bread!).

What was really great were the animals. We saw leopards up close twice, an amazing buffalo hunt by a pride of lions, then two hours later, the eating of the kill (we missed the actual kill as we had to go back for lunch). We saw more lions, including lots of cubs, doing more things, than we thought was possible. We also saw just about all the different antelopes (except Eland) and a plethora of other animals. We saw lots of hyena and a variety of raptors. We almost saw wild dogs (we got within about 10 minutes of them, from the fresh dung and the overlay of the paw prints on the previous tyre tracks). We saw a massive herd of buffalo (Geffrey estimated about 1,300), and lots of giraffe and elephants. After a day or so the elephants and giraffe became so familiar they were, like the impala, part of the scenery. We saw so much, and had such a great time, that is barely credible that it all happened in only four days!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mrs N
Darlington

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"Firstly do not be misled by our comments which are not intended as negative but honesty was requested and here it is for the sake of keeping standards high and improving the whole experience for future guests.

We really enjoyed our stay and these are more personnel points and minor at that; We were lucky to have a vehicle to ourselves at our first camp and so were a little disappointed at having six in each vehicle, we got on famously with our other guests but if you don't it really would have a negative effect on your Safari. The old Landcruisers are reliable old things but passed their best, rear seats having no floor felt odd and not ideal comfort or saftey wise.

Compared to previous camps there was a distinct element of more a dictation of what the following days itinery was to be rather than being offered a choice, and our guide although superbly knowledgable had a lack of people skills when it came to picking up on what his customers wanted," See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The HBs
London

"Second safari experience at Mwagusi"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"The size, layout and location of the Banda in which we stayed was excellent, overlooking the dry river bed with a variety of wildlife wandering around.

The creative dining arrangements whereby different locations away from the main dining area were used each evening (in the river bed and in the bush) is a brilliant initiative and very atmospheric.

All staff were both friendly and helpful and we liked the initiative whereby staff rotate through several of the front and back of house functions whilst training to be safari guides.

Laundry service was outstanding - very helpful to have and turnaround was extremely quick.

No hot water in the sink although plenty for showers. We understand that the solar power may not be able to cope with the provision of extra hot water to the sinks but it did make shaving slightly less pleasant." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Drs
New Jersey

"Fun at Mwagusi"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"We had a superb time at Mwagusi. It was partially because of all the wildlife we saw and partially because of the hospitality of the management and staff of Mwagusi.

This camp had really great communal meals with a more African flare. I was always going back for seconds at lunch.

There was one guest during our visit though that was a chronic complainer. She should have never gone on safari. Her expectations were all wrong so if you read any degrading comments about this wonderful camp disregard them.

We saw 3 different prides of lions and fortunately (for me) missed the actual giraffe kill but saw the hunt and subsequent feast. All in all this camp was one of my favorite of the 6 times I've been to the African continent." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Matt & Barbara
London

"The Place to be in Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2016
"There is something about the location of Mwagusi on the riverbank of the Mwagusi river because, in the time we were there, it was an absolute magnet for game! From our banda we saw elephant, zebra, impala, baboon and hyena, but around the camp we saw a pack of Wild Dog on two different days and also two prides of lions walked past while we were having dinner in the bush!! Not bad going...

We stayed at Mwagusi for the second leg of the Southern CIrcuit for our honeymoon and had an absolutely brilliant time. When you enter you can really feel that the camp is geared towards giving you a true experience of Ruaha. The camp is elegently rustic, stretching along the side of the river to give the best views of any marauding animals as they go down to drink. The bandas are semi-stone with an inner tent and a very comfortable hammock with views over the riverbed. The food is very good and buffet style, we definitely didn't go hungry! Dinner is served by the brilliant staff in different locations around the camp, which certainly adds to the experience!

On the drives the guides were incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. Mwagusi uses a set up where each car has both a driver and a guide. This means that you have the guide's 100% attention and two pairs of eyes to spot the things we could not!

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Mwagusi. It is a true wildlife lover's experience and will certainly not disappoint for anyone who wants to make the most of Ruaha!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms R
Peterborough

"Incredible Experience, enjoyed every second."

5 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2016
"Huge heart felt thanks to James and his team, excellent service from start to finish. Good to also meet a member of Expert Africa team (Lyndsey) on site, purely by chance.

Chris Fox who owns the camp made us feel very welcome, and was an excellent host, with lots of tales to tell around the camp fire at night.

The food was outstanding, and plenty of choice, all beautifully cooked and presented. Two guests had an anniversary during their visit and a special cake and singing was done as a surprise by all the staff. Baldun's singing was superb.

All the staff were extremely friendly, polite and did everything they could to make the stay a real home from home. I cannot praise Jimmy and Abdullah enough, with their keen eyes and driving skills we saw many, many animals. Wild dogs, which we were very lucky to see as so very rare, a lion hunting, hyena, leopard, elephants, giraffe, crocodile, hippo, to name just some of them, and most of these each day of our four day stay.

We both now have the Africa bug and would love one day to return.

Erica, the site manager was very kind, and accommodating in helping us with anything we wished to know. A very genuine experience, where we felt like family members rather than guests.

Mwaguis is not a holiday, its a experience, and one that will stay with you for life. Please go." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 113
96%
113 reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa