This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mopane squirrels from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2017 trip

Tanzania between 18 Jun 2017 and 28 Jun 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"As previously stated"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2017
"Everything about this camp was excellent. Alex the camp manager was a perfect host and clearly an extremely competent manager. The setting of the camp and the Bandas was fantastic. So very comfortable with amazing views of the dry river bed.

The service was attentive and friendly. There was a magic about the place which could not have been created without the management and motivation of the staff.
The quality of the food was incredible given the difficulties of cooking in the bush. All meals were imaginative and delicious and served in a variety of amazing locations, eg riverbed and bush. Meal times were a sociable and enjoyable experience which enhanced the safari experience for us.

We particularly liked the fact that we had a driver and guide which enabled the guide to give more attention to the guests. We appreciated the fact that radios were not used which made sightings more private. Our guide Jeme and driver Vincent were sensitive to needs and were extremely knowledgable and shared that with us. We are experienced safari travellers but we still learnt a lot from them.

In conclusion, a memorable and fantastic four days."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2013 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 5 Oct 2013 and 18 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a great trip. We enjoyed it all. Although there was some negative observations about Impala we nevertheless enjoyed it . I do not think we would again travel to east Africa as late in the year as on this occasion. It was extremely hot and certainly in the Selous the rains came early. Rains were also expected in the Ruaha the day we left, again early for that region. Weather predictions as unstable in this region now as they are in the rest of the world.

Our itinerary was perfect and everything went like clockwork.

I believe this is our third African trip with you. Your company is very reliable with knowledgeable advisors offering trips that are competitively priced. We would not hesitate to travel with you to Africa a fourth time."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"We first went to Impala in 2009 and had excellent guiding. This time, because of the early rains predators and prey were not concentrated and as a consequence we experienced fewer sightings. We did not feel the guiding was quite as good this time and felt our guide did not engage with us as much as we would have wished during those times of sparse game viewing.

However, Impala is a fabulous camp, well run and in a great location, with excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"An amazing experience"

5 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"We had the best game viewing experience we have ever had. Our guide Marius was sensitive, attentive, extremely knowledgeable and as keen as us to take things slowly and really observe animal behaviour. He was a perfect match for us. We loved the harsh beauty of the terrain. We enjoyed stunning sunrises and sunsets. Daudi, the assistant guide with such an engaging personality really helped to make this such a memorable experience

The food and wine was really excellent. That all guests and guides ate at one long table set outside each night sharing the days experiences added to the enjoyment of the camp.

This camp is not for the faint hearted with game drives totalling 9-11 hours some days, with very little down time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"Back to Robinson Crusoe"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2013
"A unique experience. Like your very own coral island staying in a banda that Crusoe and Man Friday could have made. Only reservation was the closeness of the long drop toilet to the wash basin and shower. Delicious food. Happy,friendly staff who seemed to enjoy making our stay special.

The snorkelling was the best I have ever experienced."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"A Riad in Stonetown"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2013
"A comfortable stylish oasis in Zanzibar's answer to Marrakesh. Helpful, considerate staff. Lovely rooms and really good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

My Jul 2009 trip

Tanzania between 22 Jul 2009 and 4 Aug 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"A fabulous trip with no problems. As stated we particularly enjoyed the diversity the Selous offers. An expensive area to visit but a very satisfying safari.

Suggestions for improvements:

No, very satisfied with the service. Thank you"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2009
"This camp was well described by Claire [Ed: of Expert Africa!] and as expected. A lovely setting with diverse terrain and very good for game viewing. The quality of the guiding was not as good as Impala but the guides were friendly, fun to be with and did their best to please. We got on really well together. We enjoyed the communal dining but on the one night the camp was full staff struggled to cope.

Liked the fact the camp was open and enjoyed regular visits from elephants. Good value for money."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2009
"There is no doubt this is a very good camp with excellent guiding. Our guide, Pietro, an Italian, was an excellent communicator. We are split on Impala. Juliet did not feel the camp was in as good a location as Manze although the view from the dining area was fantastic. The camp we agreed was more luxurious than Manze but we missed the communal dining.

We think this important, to eat with other guests and guides, even if only for an occasional meal. Saw lots more birds but less game here, although we did see leopards from both camps. Again an open camp with daily visits

This camp was accurately described by Claire [Ed: of Expert Africa!]. We really enjoyed the diversity of activity. We particularly appreciated for the first time ever for us on safari, (we always go July/August) seeing green by the lakes and rivers which gave us and indication as to what the landscape in East Africa would be like in their summer months."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2009
"We have had difficulty grading this.

It was as described but we would have preferred a more authentic experience, perhaps cooking and eating around a fire rather than served food at a table formally set. Although we ate with the guides it gave the feeling of living in the bush in colonial times.

We really enjoyed walking in the bush particularly the long walk back to Impala. A great experience we would not have missed."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"Real barefoot luxury. Having been before we were a little apprehensive that it would be so good but it was actually better. This may have been due in part to the weather,which was hot and sunny,but the lodge seemed fresher.

The service was really excellent and everything came with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. We were so lucky to see turtles hatch on the beach and head for the sea."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2007 trip

Zambia between 20 Aug 2007 and 30 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall we had a wonderful trip.

However we booked this trip because the emphasis was on it being a walking safari. We felt we had to persuade to walk at times, which was disappointing for us. It seemed that some other guests had not been sold it in the same way and were happy to drive.

We have friends who did an almost identical trip through you last year and this was not their experience. Despite the one unfortunate drive we had a really memorable time, and were impressed with the efficiency and smoothness of organisation. Thank you."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"A relaxing introduction"

1 night Arrived 21 Aug 2007
"Only there one night. Lucky enough to have Abraham. Great drive.

Really enjoyed our trip to Kawasi village and school on the way."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Fantastic location"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2007
"Our chalet was beautiful in a perfect setting. John, who had collected us from the airport was an excellent guide.

We were disappointed that the other guests at the lodge were more inclined to drive than walk. We felt uncomfortable having to ask to do a short walk on our first afternoon. We did feel we had to 'persuade' with regard to safari walking but did have a great walk with John the following day on our own.

Got on really well with John and the 'guy with the gun'. Lucinda the deputy manager was very friendly but preferred socialising to organising. Highlights were lion cubs, hippo lullaby and relationship with guide and tracker."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"The perfect lodge for us"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2007
"Great walk from Mchenga to Nsolo. Met by Natasha who was the perfect hostess. Couldn't rate her highly enough.

This was a new camp in an lovely position. Perfect chalet. Ratio of walking to driving was good. This is what we felt we had come to Zambia for. Tracked lion on foot.

Shaddy, manager and guide obviously very experienced. Bartwell, the 'man with the gun' we will remember for his kindness, interesting conversation and expertise.

Highlights were elephant under our chalet at night, buffalo by water hole whilst dining on the river bed and the bush walks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"A ideal hotel"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2007
"This was an ideal hotel for a short trip to the falls. The location was excellent.

Food and service very good, although rooms a bit tired."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team