This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

113 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwagusi Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwagusi Safari Camp.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

75% success

Cheetah

33% success

Wild dog

33% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

86% success

Spotted Hyena

86% success

Eland

83% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 113
Duration
Arrival date
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Magical Mwagusi!"

4 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2016
"This is one of our favourite camps in Africa - the only one we have visited 3 times!

Why do we like it? It's kept its integrity over the years. It feels simple and comfortable (very comfortable) and you really do feel you are in the bush - no swimming pools or spas here! It also has the very best guiding. This all stems from the vision and commitment of the camp's owner, Chris Fox, who has created a very special feel here on the banks of the dry Mwagusi riverbed.

Huge thatched rooms with curved verandas overlooking the river, only solar power, and a bedroom area that zips into a tent at night to keep out curious mosquitos. The team here are fantastic - many of them have been here a long time as there is a real training programme for staff, many of whom are from the local area. The food is great and there are many surprises as the location for dinner changes every night.

The guiding is terrific - the staff really go the distance for you. We saw wild dog, lion, hyena, giraffe, zebra, and loads of elephants including many babies - and this was at the very beginning of the dry season when the game is a bit harder to spot.

Definitely a camp with an individual feel - something to be treasured." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Canada

"Mwagusi Safari Camp - an awsome experience!"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"I arrived at Mwagusi Safari camp as a female solo traveller on June 8th, 2016 and what can I say, I fell in love! This was my first safari experience and I could not have chosen better. I arrived very early in the season and for a couple of days I had the good fortune of having the camp to myself, which was a lot of fun!

The camp itself is located on a beautiful riverbed and every tent overlooks the river. The tent itself is amazing, super comfortable and has an adjoining bathroom in the back of the tent. The décor is very nice, very traditional and all made from natural elements. The camp is located in Ruaha National Park, which is also incredibly beautiful, with many boabab trees dotting the landscape and many wild animals and beautiful species of birds roaming the park.

Asides from the beauty of the camp and park, the staff at Mwagusi was incredible. Erica made sure that I was well taken care of and made me feel like part of the family. Kanu, who came to wake me up in the morning for my early morning drives, brought me coffee and the most amazing biscuits I have ever had. He also made sure all my laundry was perfectly folded and my tent was in perfect order. My guide Jimmy and my driver Dula, who I spent almost five days with, made my stay at Mwagusi one of the most special times of my life. Jimmy was always kind and attentive and his knowledge of wildlife in Ruaha is amazing. He explained animal and bird behaviour to me in such great detail I would have to read many books to learn what I learnt from him.The rest of the staff at Mwagusi was also super nice and always had a smile for me. The food was great too.

I would highly recommend going early in the season like I did. I had been told you do not see as many animals as later in the season but I had some amazing sightings (including wildogs and a leopard). The weather is not as hot during the day (it is quite cool in the morning), there is less dust, and we rarely saw any other cars within the park.

Five star review - I would go back in a minute!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Huntingdon

"Mwagusi"

5 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2016
"An excellent stay, particularly after the flash floods which hit the camp only a week before we got there." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"Tanzania in the (very) Wet Season"

5 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2016
"We had not planned to visit Mwagusi Safari Camp ( had been there on two previous occasions and had been very slightly disappointed on our second visit ) but the unusually heavy rains had caused our chosen camp to close. Mwagusi was back to the original fantastic camp that we had visited the first time. Could it really be that one member ( now departed) of the management team had made such a difference.?

The bandas are fantastic set along a river bank with some good game viewing from the comfort of a well appointed sitting area.The sleeping area is tented so that there is no need for mosquito nets which is nice and there is a really spacious dressing area and en suite bathroom with all the hot water you could need. The whole unit is enclosed within reed and thatch.

On this visit we were lulled to sleep by the raging waters of the Mwagusi River which at less wet times is a sand river.

The food, as always ,was very good with loads of different vegetable dishes available which made another guest very happy as she was a vegetarian!!

The awful weather recently experienced in the area has taken a serious toll on the roads and as Ruaha is a National Park off roading is not an option this meant that on a number of occasions vehicles got stuck in mud and had to be towed or dug out - all part of the adventure but not one that you would normally experience in Ruaha!! Geofrey, our guide, and Isyaaah ,our driver did
sterling job

Geofrey's guiding was as good as it was the last time he guided us even with the challenging conditions of poor tracks, tall grasses and very thick foliage. He even managed to find us leopard on two occasions though the first sighting was very brief but he made up for that by finding us not one but two leopard on the second sighting and we were able to observe them for quite sometime.

Our stay was enhanced even more by the fact that Chris Fox was at the camp - his enthusiasm and passion for the wildlife, the Ruaha and the people is amazing and infectious and this is reflected in all the staff at the camp who are all helpful and charming and even those with only a little English wanted to share their knowledge with the guests. You cannot fail to enjoy your experiences in Ruaha after talking with Chris and his staff.

Having had a slight reservation about visiting Mwagusi for a third time we now cannot wait to visit for a fourth time and would not hesitate it recommending it." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Farrier
UK

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2016
"The camp had been flooded just days prior to our arrival, but due to the hard work of the staff you would never have known.

We have rarely encountered such good guiding ( Geoffrey) and the staff were so very friendly and helpful, Food excellent and we would certainly like to revisit this camp again" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"A perfect safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"Mwagusi is a fantastic safari camp. It is very authentic, relaxed and has a great athmosphere. Very comfortable tents which blend perfectly in the environment. Very good beds with all types of cushions.

The food is excellent, a lot of vegetables and salads. The buffet way of presenting is a great surplus value. The communal dining at different outdoor locations (the riverbed f.e.) is one of our best memories. Breakfast with the legendary cinnamon rolls is also excellent.

But the best in Mwagusi are the activities. Ruaha is a hidden gem, with it's dramatic scenery and a lot of game which isn't shy at all. We even saw leopard twice. The guiding was very informative, Isaac pointed out animals we would have easily missed.

We did the walking safari along the Ruaha river, which I would highly recommend." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hampstead

"Real African bush feel. Good trips"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Although not as luxurious as Beho Beho, Mwagusi Camp somehow felt more authentic - probably because we were right on a river bed and in a tent (albeit a very sophisticated one!). The drives were excellent and we were privileged to meet a female Cheetah and a young Leopard. The nightly camp fire before supper was an inspiration. As John and I were 'peopled' out, we asked if we could eat together. No-one seemed to mind and we became known as the 'honeymooners'!

Food was excellent - a combination of African and Asian - as was the management team and guides.

Our tent (think they all did) overlooked the river bed and we spent many a happy hour watching animals and birds finding water beneath the sand.

Would have appreciated a better stocked library." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr DW
Surrey

"Mwagusi Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2015
"Fantastic would recommend to anyone" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
Suffolk

"Fantastic safari at Mwagusi,"

4 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2015
"Our second visit to this laid back but efficient camp. We weren't disappointed. Met at the airstrip by Geofrey - who was our guide 7 years ago and guided us again. We were met at camp by Yvonne the camp manager, who immediately made us feel like family (and she didnt know it was a second visit for us). All the staff were exceptional and worked hard to maintain the feeling of relaxed efficiency. The who team were helpful, kind and couldn't do enough for us.

Food at Mwagusi if fantastic. Breakfasts for us were all in the bush and were very yummy, particularly the cinnamon bread. Lunches buffet style - a meat dish, veggie dish and various salads. Different each day and always good. Dinners - taken in and around the camp. Drinks around the fire and then starter, buffet style dinner served from pots sitting in hot embers from the fire. Every dinner we had was excellent. Puddings finished off the evening. The bush dinners are a feature at Mwagusi and can not fail to please.

Wild life in Ruaha is very relaxed as the animals have absolutely no fear of humans. This means you can get very close to them to spend time watching their behaviour. We had an amazing encounter with a young leopard who used our truck as cover whilst staking out his prey! To make the trip even more memorable we also spotted a cheetah. How luck we were in the number of animals spotted - too many to mention.

What a wonderful camp in a great location this is!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr N
Devon

"Magical wildlife experiences"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2015
"Where to start? An amazing 4 day stay for the 4 of us (including children aged 7 and 11). The game drives were incredible, 5 separate Lion prides (cubs playing, adults on a giraffe kill, mating, fighting, roaring and of course sleeping), 2 leopards, a cheetah and numerous other unbelieveable experiences.

Our 2 boys were spending 7+ hours a day on game drives, but always came back looking forward to the next experience.

The staff were very good, making us feel incredibly special. Our 7 year old was taken on his own lizard hunt, our guide Jeme started a game drive an hour earlier than planned as a Cheetah had been spotted and the catering team were incredibly flexible dealing with our various dietary requirements.

I was unsure about group dinners, but they were each great experience with stunning locations and very amiable hosts in Yvonne and Simon.

We had one night without water in our Banda, but what can you do when an elephant decides to pull apart the plumbing!

We would love to go back again." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 113
96%
113 reviews of Mwagusi Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
20
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Ruaha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp was designed with simplicity in mind – don't come for creature comforts – but offers a great wilderness experience.


92% (126 reviews)
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala is a permanent tented camp in Ruaha National Park, offering a high level of comfort and guiding in a natural setting.


99% (107 reviews)
Jongomero Camp

Jongomero Camp

A stylish and luxurious camp in a remote part of Ruaha, Jongomero offers excellent guiding and service in a remote, wilderness area.


97% (46 reviews)
Ikuka

Ikuka Safari Camp

Ikuka is a stylish lodge-style safari camp set high on an escarpment with spectacular panoramic views over Ruaha National Park.


97% (39 reviews)
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

Kigelia is a stylish tented camp, set amid a grove of sausage trees, and combining a simple set-up with comforts and luxury.


97% (29 reviews)
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

In a remote corner of Ruaha, Kichaka is a private mobile camp focusing on superbly guided walking safaris.


98% (23 reviews)
Ruaha River Lodge

Ruaha River Lodge

In a lovely location beside a rocky river, the unpretentious Ruaha River Lodge is the largest and most economical camp in Ruaha National Park.


92% (12 reviews)
Jongomero Walking Safaris

Jongomero Walking

Fly-camping and walking safaris from Jongomero Camp give you the chance to explore remote safari areas in Ruaha National Park.


80% (2 reviews)
Jabali Ridge

Jabali Ridge

One of Ruaha's most luxurious camps, Jabali Ridge nestles among kopjes and baobabs, with beautiful views of the surrounding area.


100% (1 review)
Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House

Jabali Private House in Ruaha National Park provides luxurious accommodation for private groups booked on an exclusive basis.


100% (1 review)
Asanja Ruaha Ndembo

Asanja Ruaha

Asanja Ruaha Ndembo is a smart new safari lodge in a picturesque setting overlooking the Great Ruaha River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa