This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr F & family from Belgium

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

5

My Jan 2019 trip

Rwanda and 1 other country between 31 Jan 2019 and 13 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Magical trip, especially Rwanda was a gem.

We loved the rolling hills, the beautiful birds, the ever smiling people and of course the gorillas (but Rwanda is much more than the gorillas, let's be clear)
The trip was perfectly prepared by EA again, thanks to Lyndsey.

Sula, our Primate safari guide deserves a special mention!"

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Kigali Marriott Hotel

Kigali Marriott Hotel

"High standard international chain hotel"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2019
"Kigali Marriot is a large brand new international hotel. It is excellent for a night after or before flying. The rooms are high standard but have the typical impersonal feel of an international chain hotel.

The outside buffet breakfast bar is a nice start of the day.

We dined at the Cucina restaurant, which was excellent service and good food.

The Go Kigali Boutique in the hotel is a must go and one of the best places for souvenirs in Rwanda, they also support local artists and cooperatives."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nyungwe House

Nyungwe House

"This reopened lodge is top quality!"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2019
"Beautiful lodge in a stunning environment. The view of the misty forest on the edge of the property is exciting and mysterious, the surrounding tea plantage lovely and relaxing. They upgraded us to a villa, which was very luxurious. In the afternoon, a troop of Colobus and Grey Mangabey monkeys past by our balcony! Excellent facilities and very well managed by Jacques and his team.

The food is more than excellent, we especially loved the light lunches. Service is excellent and still with the typical natural and very friendly Rwandan feel, keep it that way!

Highly recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

1 Feb 2019 • All-day excursion

Must go when you travel to Rwanda. Very moving and impressive.

Gives good background on the issue, with enough nuance on a very delicate and complicated matter.
Excellent
Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest

"Chimpanzee Trekking in Nyungwe Forest review"

2 Feb 2019 • All-day excursion

Nice hike in the rainforest, but be aware that the pathways can be rather slippery and steep. At least you need some basic condition, not for the less agile.

We were lucky to find some chimpanzees rather fast, but when they started moving we had to stop the chase. Sights are not always easy because of the thick vegetation.

No success guaranteed, one should realize this before the start!

Excellent
Cormoran Lodge

Cormoran Lodge

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"Cormoran Lodge is one of the only options halfway Kivu, but one should temper the expectations. The location is excellent and idyllic but the rooms are rather dated and worn out. Someone should invest in this property before the downturn really starts.

The food in the restaurant was good and the service ok."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe

Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe

"Colobus Trekking in Nyungwe review"

3 Feb 2019 • All-day excursion

The Colobus Trekking is more a walk on the edge of the neighbouring fields than a trekking. The monkeys are always present in a rather small forest, away from the chimps that sometimes chase them.

Good for some nice pictures of these beautiful primates.

No need to go for an early rise this time, make it a stroll in the morning after a quiet breakfast.
Good
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

"Beautiful designed luxury retreat"

3 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2019
"Beautifully designed lodge, individual villas are stylish, big and with great views. Located rather close to the headquarter of the park, which is a bonus. Top service, very detail oriented and always with a smile. Restaurant with great and healthy food, we loved the evening with Rwandan food.

The focus on community and conservation project is admirable, one should definitely take the community walk to the nearby village with Aline, a highlight of our trip!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

5 Feb 2019 • Morning excursion

Rather easy trekking to these very beautiful primates. We found them digging potatoes in the fields next to the forest, they were not shy at all and you approach them very close, sometimes a bit strange that they are (already) so used to humans...

One big photo opportunity, no need to bring your telephoto!
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Magical encounters"

6 Feb 2019 • Morning excursion

This wildlife experience is completely worth it. Meeting 'our cousins' is a magical moment.

The hike through the forest can be challenging and tough-going (your guides will often have to machete a path through the ferns and nettles), but it’s within reach for anyone with a reasonable level of fitness.One should definitely hire a local porter, if only it were to support the local community.

Guides and rangers prepare you for what to expect, and you get very close to the animals (the gorillas don't respect the 7m distance...)

It's a cliché, but you'll never forget this experience...

Excellent
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"Sayari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2019
"Wonderful camp in an amazing setting. There was a lot of resident game in February, and being the quiet season it felt you had the entire area to yourself.
Ebenezer was an excellent guide with great knowledge and great feeling what your interests are.

The camp is very well run and the staff was very helpful and welcoming.

Great food with a lot of salads and vegetables.

Maybe the (beautiful) tents are in need of some refreshments..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great game viewing in southern tanzania

Tanzania between 5 Oct 2015 and 15 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Southern Tanzania was perfect. Ruaha and Selous are beautiful, wild and not crowdy at all. Let's hope it can stay this way.

As usual the EA level of information was of a very high standard. Thanks to James Denny for the little extras that made us feel special."

Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"A perfect safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2015
"Mwagusi is a fantastic safari camp. It is very authentic, relaxed and has a great athmosphere. Very comfortable tents which blend perfectly in the environment. Very good beds with all types of cushions.

The food is excellent, a lot of vegetables and salads. The buffet way of presenting is a great surplus value. The communal dining at different outdoor locations (the riverbed f.e.) is one of our best memories. Breakfast with the legendary cinnamon rolls is also excellent.

But the best in Mwagusi are the activities. Ruaha is a hidden gem, with it's dramatic scenery and a lot of game which isn't shy at all. We even saw leopard twice. The guiding was very informative, Isaac pointed out animals we would have easily missed.

We did the walking safari along the Ruaha river, which I would highly recommend."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2015
"There has already been written in a lot of superlatives about Beho Beho. We can only agree on that, our stay even exceeded our expectations. Very high quality banda's, excellent food, stunning location.

Excellent guiding, not only very informative and attentive, but also great and amusing company!

There is a lot of wildlife around the camp, keep an eye on the drinking pool. Don't hesitate to go on the walking safari, it's a whole different and exciting approach of the bush. Beho Beho is perfectly managed by Phil and Trisha, very professional and friendly.

It is the merit of the management and the staff that this luxurious camp never becomes pretentious. We felt part of the Beho Beho family for those days.

As soon as you leave Beho beho you start thinking of going back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Ras Kutani review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2015
"Great place to relax after a safari. Lovely and spacious lagoon cottage, with very wide beds. Excellent food, especially the breakfasts and lunches.

There are not that much activities going on at Ras Kutani, great for long and deserted beach walks and taking pictures of the monkeys. Learn to play the bao game as soon you get there (the staff is very willing to teach you), it is fun and adds to the laid-back atmosphere.

It was a good advice of EA to drive to Ras, it gives you a glimpse of the daily struggle that life is for most of the Tanzanians. Ok, it's a bit bumpy and there are some traffic jams, but you are heading for the beach and a cocktail, most of the people you'll see aren't..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Jul 2013 trip

Namibia between 17 Jul 2013 and 4 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Namibia was marvellous.

We travelled as a family with two kids (12 and 13 year old).

Self driving was easy enough, although some roads can be bad (Sesriem to Swakopmund f.e) . Take an extra spare tyre! One should never underestimate the distances. With kids you need several stops of more than one night, otherwise driving will be to much for them.

Although July is a busy month, it never felt crowdy. During the day and on the road you're almost always alone!

Accomodations and food are more than excellent, at least you get much more value for money then in Europe.

Namibia is a very varied country with stunning landscape. Getting close to the animals is very impressive and an experience we (and certainly the kids) will always remember.

And finally, the support and advice of Expert Africa (Sabina Hekandjo) is more then perfect. I wished everyone would answer mails that quick and informative!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Good place to start your trip"

1 night Arrived 17 Jul 2013
"A good place to start your trip. Spacious and clean rooms (family room). Easy to find, the gated parking is a plus.

Gisela is very welcoming and gave us some good tips where to buy supplies.

The kids loved racing with the dogs."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Good first stop"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"Easy to reach from Windhoek. Good to get to know your car on the tarred roads, before the challenge of the gravel roads. Green oasis at the edge of the Kalahari Desert.

Clean and comfortable rooms (two connecting rooms make a family room) Staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Nice walks in the surroundings, we saw a lot of antelopes, including a large herd of eland!

Four course dinner is excellent, although the atmosphere is a bit that of a school excursion (group dinner with rather fast service) Singing and dancing by the staff after dinner is lovely!

A good stop over on your trip to the south or the Namib desert"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Marvellous stay in a stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2013
"This a clearly a top accommodation. Beautiful tented bungalows in a stunning setting, with both indoor and outdoor bathrooms. The surroundings are jaw-dropping, try to find the lion shaped mountain!

Food is excellent, with home made bread and undoubtly the best desserts in Namibia! Thomas and Herenza are perfect hosts, with special attention for the kids. Thanks for the culinary advice on Swakopmund, these guys have good taste!

We did the Sossusvlei tour, which I would highly recommend and is worth every penny. Angula is an excellent guide and driver. He points out the little desert creatures one would never find and drives you up to the vleis, which avoids taking the touristic 4x4 cars at the end.

Don't think driving yourself up there, even with a 4x4 you get stuck if you don't know the roads. Climbing and descending the dunes is an experience!

The picnic lunch is amazing, a restaurant in the desert. It felt like 'Out of Africa'!
Wonderful stay!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Classic hotel with excellent service"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"Although this hotel was not our first choice (we had to change accommodation in the week before leaving because of a misunderstanding with Wilderness Safaris) it turned out to be a good alternative of EA. A historic hotel with a very helpful staff and a friendly manager. Excellent location in Swakopmund.

Rooms are clean with good beds (two connected rooms make a family room), style is a bit dated. Good parking and laundry service, they even cleaned our car. Breakfast buffet with a lot of choice, we didn't had dinner over there.

We did the Mola Mola boat trip, which was good value. We had a speedboat catamaran (the Flipper) so you are close to the water and really have the feeling to be out on the sea. Good and attentive guide, we saw fur seals, dolphins, pelicans and other seabirds. Nice lunch, but only for those who weren't seasick...
A trip to remember!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Attractive lodge in Damaraland"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2013
"Attractive and imaginative lodge in the fascinating Damaraland. Nice and comfortable rooms, with lovely outside bathrooms. The boulders provide all the privacy you want. Childeren stayed in a comfortable tent nearby the room.

Superb sundowner high up the rocks! Food was very good, we also had an excellent lunch before we left (chicken and game wraps).

We took the desert elephant safari, with Taffy, an excellent and entertaining guide. It can take a while before you see the elephants but then it is an overwhelming experience to come so close to these beautiful animals. A highlight of our trip to Namibia!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"The real bush camp experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2013
"Etendeka is the real wilderness, not to compare with other luxury safari camps. Accomodation is simple but very comfortable, the bucket showers are a real experience. At night you hear the hyena cry in the distance...

Dinner is together with the other guests, which can be very interactive. Food is excellent, certainly if you realise that the closest shop is more than 100 km away!

The morning walk gets you as close as can be to the stunning scenery, Bonnie must be one of the most experienced guides in the country. It is not only about the wildlife, but also about geology, plants and the people of Namibia. Very informative with special attention for the kids.

In the evening, Dennis gets you gazing at the stars through his telescope. We never got closer to the real Namibian wilderness than in Etendeka."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Amazing location"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"Camp with a amazing location. Watching the wildlife moving around from our balcony was superb. Rooms are clean and lovely.

The children stayed in a separate chalet next to us, the fact they could reach us with an internal phone made it comfortable for them.

The infinity pool and its area is beautiful. Indeed the climbs are steep, but this is part of the picture. Don't go there if you have mobility problems!. The golf cart service works quite fast, but we preferred walking ourself in daytime.

Restaurant is good, the staff is very friendly, the service is varying but nothing to complain about.

The game around Dolomite is excellent and absolute not shy (anymore). The best waterholes are the closest to the camp, so you don't have to drive long distances. A good place to take a day off!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Have the right expectations!"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2013
"A lot is already written about 'the government run' Okuakuejo We had some reservations but it turned out a lot better than expected.

The family chalet was very spacious and clean, and distant enough from the other chalets to guarantee privacy.

The restaurant is buffet style, not to compare with what you get at private camps or at Dolomite, but if you don't expect this the food is alright. Service was good and friendly!

Maybe we had too much expectations on the waterhole on the other hand, because this was a slight disappointment! We saw black rhino hanging around the whole evening but except for some impala and zebra not that much more! It's all about the expectations!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Relaxed camp just outside of Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"Nice and relaxed tented camp just outside of Etosha. Beautiful main area. Tents are comfortable and clean, children stay in the same tent in additional sleeper couches.

Only minus was that our tent was pretty noisy because of the wind that got under part of the roof.

Friendly and helpful atmosphere. Food was excellent, the singing and dancing of the staff (they do it every other night) was marvellous!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Okonjima is a place that gave us mixed feelings.

It gives the opportunity to get close to cheetah and leopards, big cats you won't see at Etosha except when you're lucky. The Africat Project is very informative and does a good job it seems. On the other hand it sometimes gives the impression of a commercial fenced in safari park.

The accomodation is good but not so impressive as the glossy brochures and website show. The bungalows are concrete buildings with less attention to style than other lodges in Namibia. The food is good but nothing more than that, we got much better food in most other places. Maybe travelling in Namibia got us spoiled an bit?

The tracking of cheetah and leopard is obvious less exciting than finding animals in the wild. They only track a few leopards they know they can find rather easy, although this still is not a guarantee. Tracking cheetah seems to be easier.

It was clear that at least our guide only wanted to track the animal you payed the activity for. Finding the other cat was for the next activity to pay, although he sometimes mentioned 'to stay in the car because there was a leopard close by'.

The visiting of the evening hide is a joke. In fact the guides only empty a bucket and then the waiting porcupine chases every other animal away (I saw a flash of a genet cat). There is no chance to stay there waiting for other animals, because the (noisy) guides want to return as soon as possible to the lodge! This gave us a very uncomfortable feeling..."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team