This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge

Reviews of Cormoran Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cormoran Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jul 2022
"Disappointing. From a distance the lodge looks very appealing on the hillside. The room was ok but the service was slow, surly and poor.

Possibly the worst boat trip we have ever had - around the lake and to the bat roost. Life jackets were not offered. The fuel line kept failing. We booked direct with reception and it was not value for money.

Fish for dinner was ok but the vegetable accompaniment was poor. Breakfast was extremely limited with omelette the only real option." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Liz C
Sussex

"Cormoran Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2022
"The location is incredible - views amazing.

Food below average and staff kept asking us to go on a boat trip - annoying.... especially as got the hump when we refused!!!

However, the location is so incredible that we would definitely recommend" See all these reviews: 10n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"I am glad that I decided to visit lake Kivu. Very interesting area, but more important to my view the fact that I had to drive through a large part of this beautiful country; indeed Rwanda is very beautiful.
The lodge itself is nothing memorable about other than the view from your balcony.

My kayaking trip with Kingfisher was at another location ( Rizwa). I enjoyed very much this excursion, I recommend it." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"Cormoran Lodge is one of the only options halfway Kivu, but one should temper the expectations. The location is excellent and idyllic but the rooms are rather dated and worn out. Someone should invest in this property before the downturn really starts.

The food in the restaurant was good and the service ok." See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2019
"a very lovely place to break our journey.

not luxurious but friendly" See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Typical "

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2019
"We had there the impression to be in a place where local people would also go.

We ha a big room with a view on the water. We spend time on our balcony it was great but you had not a view on the all lake but on a kind of fiord

On the balcony of the restaurant where you were sitting the view was obstruct by a too thick balustrade.

The food was simple and good" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Cormoran Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"The only issue was that it took an hour before the meal arrived.

We solved that by ordering in advance." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr H
Lancs

"Good lake side lodgings"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"Nice accommodation, a little way out of town overlooking Lake Kivu with great views from the room's balcony and public rooms.

I arrived in an extended downpour [umbrellas available] and the narrow slippery paths between the cabin and reception/restaurant might be tricky for someone with mobility problems.

I was the only guest staying there [ I spent 2 nights] and that felt slightly weird but I was well looked after by considerate staff and after the initial rain, the next day was clear.

I had a trip to the local museum which dealt with ecological matters, natural history, geology and a roof garden where there were plants growing that are used in traditional Rwandan remedies. also had about trip on the lake which was enjoyable too." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
BJ
Minnesota

"Very relaxing lodge on the lake."

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"Very relaxing lodge on the lake.

More activities would have been exciting and it would be nice if guide could make it clear which items on menu are included." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P and V
UK

"Cormoran Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2018
"Exceeded expectations.

Idyllic location with a reasonable range of activities including the Bisesero Genocide site which we visited from here (there are other closer sites in Kibuye too).

We had planned a full day Kayak trip which turned out to be disappointing but our guide sorted out a boat trip to the island we had been aiming for with the kayaks which made up for it." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 28
85%
28 reviews of Cormoran Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Kivu

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill is a rather dated budget hotel, outside the town of Kibuye on the shores of Lake Kivu.


71% (9 reviews)
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is a larger, international-style resort hotel on the lakeside, well placed for a relaxing stay.


70% (8 reviews)
Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge, sister lodge of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, is located on a remote peninsula on the shores of Lake Kivu.


80% (2 reviews)
Paradise Malahide

Paradise Malahide

A small and simple guesthouse on the shores of Lake Kivu, Paradise Malahide has rustic charm, a friendly atmosphere and some great views.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa