This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge
Cormoran Lodge

Reviews of Cormoran Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Cormoran Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Dr P
Netherlands

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"I am glad that I decided to visit lake Kivu. Very interesting area, but more important to my view the fact that I had to drive through a large part of this beautiful country; indeed Rwanda is very beautiful.
The lodge itself is nothing memorable about other than the view from your balcony.

My kayaking trip with Kingfisher was at another location ( Rizwa). I enjoyed very much this excursion, I recommend it." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2019
"Cormoran Lodge is one of the only options halfway Kivu, but one should temper the expectations. The location is excellent and idyllic but the rooms are rather dated and worn out. Someone should invest in this property before the downturn really starts.

The food in the restaurant was good and the service ok." See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr P.
Stanmore

"Cormoran Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jan 2019
"a very lovely place to break our journey.

not luxurious but friendly" See all these reviews: 7n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs Winnie
Geneva

"Typical "

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2019
"We had there the impression to be in a place where local people would also go.

We ha a big room with a view on the water. We spend time on our balcony it was great but you had not a view on the all lake but on a kind of fiord

On the balcony of the restaurant where you were sitting the view was obstruct by a too thick balustrade.

The food was simple and good" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Cormoran Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"The only issue was that it took an hour before the meal arrived.

We solved that by ordering in advance." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr H
Lancs

"Good lake side lodgings"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"Nice accommodation, a little way out of town overlooking Lake Kivu with great views from the room's balcony and public rooms.

I arrived in an extended downpour [umbrellas available] and the narrow slippery paths between the cabin and reception/restaurant might be tricky for someone with mobility problems.

I was the only guest staying there [ I spent 2 nights] and that felt slightly weird but I was well looked after by considerate staff and after the initial rain, the next day was clear.

I had a trip to the local museum which dealt with ecological matters, natural history, geology and a roof garden where there were plants growing that are used in traditional Rwandan remedies. also had about trip on the lake which was enjoyable too." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
BJ
Minnesota

"Very relaxing lodge on the lake."

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"Very relaxing lodge on the lake.

More activities would have been exciting and it would be nice if guide could make it clear which items on menu are included." See all these reviews: 12n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
H family
Seven Oaks

"Cormoran Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2018
"Exceeded expectations.

Idyllic location with a reasonable range of activities including the Bisesero Genocide site which we visited from here (there are other closer sites in Kibuye too).

We had planned a full day Kayak trip which turned out to be disappointing but our guide sorted out a boat trip to the island we had been aiming for with the kayaks which made up for it." See all these reviews: 9n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Beautiful lakeside location, stunning views.."

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2018
"We stayed two nights at Cormoran Lodge en-route to Kigali.

The cabins are located on a hillside and we were allocated one of the higher view ones. The setting is beautiful with peaceful views across the lake and a large balcony from which to enjoy them.

When we visited there seemed to be quite a lot of construction of new hotels and guest houses ongoing, one of which was almost opposite (around the lakeside) to Cormoran Lodge. This slightly spoilt our idyllic view and there was building noise, but this I suppose is the price of progress and increased visitors and demand.

Personally we found our cabin very comfortable and spacious. Granted there were a few things that might be helpful additions like bedside tables, but this is just an observation and far from a criticism.

Housekeeping I think was so-so, nothing fundamentally wrong, just things like no soap, toilet tissue & water not replaced but these simply required a mention at reception and they were quickly rectified.
The safe in our room did not work and when we brought this to the managers attention he can gave us a manual key to use.

Bed had a mosquito net, room had a kettle, tea & coffee, working fridge, television with a few channels (one I think in English), wi-fi was available and one of the better connections we experienced on our trip.

The gardens and bird life are stunning, but the property is very steep and care has to be taken especially either after rain or when the gardener has been watering as the pathway tiles can be slippery.
If mobility is a concern perhaps a request for one of the lower closer cabins to the main building can be suggested.
We actually went via the car park to the main building as this was easier walking.

I don't recall if there were touches available in the room or if the path was sufficiently lit as we had our own head torches.

The small lakeside beach area with a few loungers was a nice spot for relaxing and enjoying the birds and gardens. I am not sure if a beverage service is offered there but it might be nice for a waiter to wander occasionally if that is not the case.

It was our experience that the Manager that was on duty during our stay and the restaurant staff spoke primarily French and there was a need at times to speak very slowly and carefully to be understood correctly.
When we checked in the Manager seemed quite unclear as to what our package consisted of in terms of fully explaining the concept of full board and the extensive menu. Initially it was not immediately clear to us if we could choose from the entire menu or just partial.

We had to sign for drinks and food at the end of each evening and wise to double check the bill when checking out as they had got some things that were included in the bill to be charged for. I don't think intentional, but suggest people double check to avoid this.

Other reviews have mentioned not the best food and time it takes to be served. Our experience was the opposite in that we thought all the food served to us was excellent and some of the best we ate on our trip especially the fish soup.
Granted it did take a while to be served but we were not in any hurry.
They did ask at lunch for our dinner order but we declined that and simply ordered when we sat down in the evening.
The dining room was especially nice with the central fire lit in the cooler evening temperatures.
Breakfast was a small but adequate selection of cold cereal, cheese, bread and toast with the option of hot eggs and accompaniments.

We were asked by a waiter if we were interested in renting a boat which we politely declined and instead opted for a lovely walk along the lakeside from the lodge.

The night before we were checking out we were asked by the manager if we would like a packed lunch to take with us which we accepted, however apparently a waiter was then supposed to come and ask us what we would like which nobody ever did and so our packed lunch did not appear.
For us it did not really matter as we has not expected to be offered this, if however you have a long journey ahead and might appreciate a packed lunch then better to be specific. Likewise the restaurant staff may want to be reminded about this option for guests checking out.

There is apparently a new Environmental museum in Kibuye which had we had a little more time we understand is worth a visit.

Overall a two night stay was sufficient for us and our expectations were met and we enjoyed the peace and quiet (apart from a bit of construction noise..)

If you happened to live in Kigali Cormoran Lodge would certainly be a nice option for a long weekend." See all these reviews: 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr E
Pennsylvania

"Good to average"

1 night Arrived 7 Mar 2018
"Nice location on the lake.

Average room and food. Limited dinner menu.

Average service.

One night stay here was enough." See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 26
87%
26 reviews of Cormoran Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
11
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Rwanda

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Rwanda.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lake Kivu

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill Resort

Moriah Hill is a rather dated budget hotel, outside the town of Kibuye on the shores of Lake Kivu.


74% (10 reviews)
Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel

Lake Kivu Serena Hotel is a larger, international-style resort hotel on the lakeside, well placed for a relaxing stay.


74% (7 reviews)
Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge

Kivu Lodge, sister lodge of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, is located on a remote peninsula on the shores of Lake Kivu.


80% (2 reviews)
Paradise Malahide

Paradise Malahide

A small and simple guesthouse on the shores of Lake Kivu, Paradise Malahide has rustic charm, a friendly atmosphere and some great views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa